We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, not the worst” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera

Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera
12, rue Geoffroy Marie | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,695 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not the best, not the worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

I must say it's not the best hotel but not the worst one either. Those people who say it's the worst place in the world are wrong. Yes, the rooms are tiny and not so modern, but they're quite clean and comfortable. You're not going to stay at the hotel all day long, right?
We stayed there in april and the weather wasn't that great. At night it was veeery cold in the room, but i asked for an extra blanket and the staff gave it immediately. The staff was quite polite and friendly. The area is GREAT! it's well-situated and in general quite good.
We spend there 5 nights and it was ok for the price.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    9
    15
See reviews for
8
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC, USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Great location, metro closeby, multiple restaurants, bakeries, in the heart of Montmarte. Rooms small, doesnot seem to be 3 star hotel as reported, but nicely cleaned each day. Price reasonable, but not cheap compared to the size and luxury (lack of luxury)of the room. May be really hot in summar as no AC. Smell from all nearby bakeries inside the room, may not be able to keep the windows open. Staff extremely rude, they insist answering in French, although they do know and speak English. Last day, we were almost late for our flight as on call hotel manager refused to make more phone calls to find us a taxi claiming there was no available taxi in Paris at that time! He literally left the reception area not to deal with our taxi problem! Luckily, next door hotel manager I asked for help recommended us to walk to the nearest Taxi stop, where we were able to find one. I would recommend this hotel only for location if you don't care for anything else.

  • Liked — Great location, metro, taxi, bussto, restaurants, night life all closeby. You can go anywhere in Paris in 15 min.
  • Disliked — Staff rude, not helpful at all, internet not working as staff cannot find the right password!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Worst place in Paris!!!! I would never advise anyone to stay there even my worst enemy!!!! The rooms are a mess and the place is run by the owner who is not a customer friendly.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

It must be the most terrible place in Paris.
We booked the hotel by phone. Was waiting for confirmation for a week!
When we arrived, it was night already, but even though we found out that bed sheets were dirty, unchanged, stinky and wet! Towels at bathroom at least a week old. Room dirty, no cleaning, really stinky and nosy.
We decided to stay for a night as had no idea where to go and tired after a flight. We had to sleep dressed and with no cover. Next morning at 7 a.m. we came down to the reception to get money back (as paid for a week) and check-out. No breakfast was proposed, even we paid for. Nothing of the sort! The owner refused to return money, he was rude, said no apologies, didn't even try to fix problems. We was shocked and couldn't contadict and ask for any service as he "forgot" English. We had to invite police!!! But as we were foreigners, police guys gave an advise us not to get into official conflict. They were kind and helped with check out. We had to move to another hotel, having lost half of the day, money and nerves.
So, if you are going to Paris, stay away from that hotel.

  • Liked — N/a
  • Disliked — N/a
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

The first night the hotel was booked out, so they put us in a 2 star hotel, Jeff hotel. For the understanding they gave us free breakfast, which was nice. The owner (I guess) is really nice, funny and friendly but now to the hotel, it is dirty and old (not only the building also the blankets and the furniture).

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

I took my husband for his 34th birthday and the cost worked out per night to that of a Premier Travel Inn. Whilst the hotel was no way on par to that of a Travel Inn, considering we were in a main city it was suitable for us for two nights. It was basic but generally clean.

On arrival we were greeted rather strangely but a middle aged gentlemen who just sat and looked at us and then when I handed him the reservation paper just laughed. When he eventually spoke it was apparant that this was his sense of humour. He was very dry and we had some very funny conversations with him during the two days we were there. On the other hand, the other "day time" male receptionist failed to ever crack a smile and would not let my husband use the toilet in the reception area and told him to go to his room!!! The night time receptionist was very polite.

The location of this hotel made it perfect for us as we were in the Opera distrcit and were within walking distance of the Louvre (10-15 minutes walk) and two of the Metro stops.

All in all, although not the nicest hotel we have stayed in, it was ok for us.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

Quad room reserved in advance was not available on arrival. Was offered 2 twin rooms instead. The rooms were very small, very dirty and very noisy. The hotel staff were rude and unhelpful. Advice to readers - stay well away from this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay well away
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera

Address: 12, rue Geoffroy Marie | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre , Opéra
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,695 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geoffroy Maria Opera Paris
Geoffroy Maria Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.