We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, only.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera

Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera
12, rue Geoffroy Marie | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,692 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location, only.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Did not have a good experience. Maybe I was just unlucky. Got there at Check-in time and when opened the door of our room it was all a mess: clearly they did not have cleaned yet. When I informed the reception, the guy gave me the key of another room without even apologising: the second room was also a mess with a strong smell of cigarettes. In the meantime I was told that the original room was ready but had a problem with the mattress which was too soft and had no support for my back. Luckily they agreed to change it. The room has the basic things you need: a television, a table and a chair, while the toilet has a soap dispenser the same type you would find in a public toilet, only with an old looking soap inside. The walls of the bathroom were all flaky and the toilet itself did not seem to be cleaned properly. If you are looking for a cleaner, better looking hotel then look somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    9
    15
See reviews for
8
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The boss of the otel is a very rude man. No cleaning at all. Even no soap for cleaning. No stay in the street is better than to stay in this hotel. I hope I will never face o hetol like this in my life, Paris is excellent but o hotel like this can effect even the idea about Paris. Hope you not select this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Pros first
Reasonably central, cheap, with shops all around
cons
i spent over 200 euros on coffee because there are no coffee making facilities
the rooms are shabby and can get very noisy
the owner is abrupt at best
It was too expensive for the service it provides.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Please do not stay in this hotel. The boss of the hotel, Mr Isaac, is the rudest man I EVER met. He shouted at me multiple times for mostly no reason at all. The light in my bathroom was broken for one week, only after this time someone came to fix it (I asked it more than once during that week). The rooms were clean but that's really it, the furniture was old and often even partly broken. The breakfast was very basic, no fresh bread. The location was good, but you can find many other (cheap) alternatives in that neighbourhood. I can only recommand you to NEVER stay in this hotel. Please avoid a very unpleasant stay. It is totally not a 3 star hotel, it's even one star unworthy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

The manager of this hotel was very kind, helpful and friendly. He gave us a discount off the posted rates which we later discovered was at par which means we might have found a better hotel for the price. This hotel is not a 3 star hotel. We would rate it a 2 star. We were told we could not eat in our room or we would be charged extra. The reason was to keep cock roaches away. We never saw any because staff does keep the rooms clean. Of course we did not eat in the room even though it was hard to not have a snack later at night. The decor needs upgrading to be a 3 star hotel. New paint, upgraded pictures on the walls, hardwood flooring refinished and better bed spreads other than old navy blue covers would make this hotel room look better. The beds are narrower than those in the US. The room was clean though! It just appeared dingy and in dire need of upgrading. The in-room bathroom was small but included a nice deep tub with shower. We understood we would have high speed internet in our room. Internet was not working nor had it been for a while and there were no plans for getting it going again. We had to use a local internet location one block over. The light at the end of the hall where our room was located never was replaced, making it hard to see to open our room door late at night. The elevator is small, but we managed OK. Noise in the morning due to construction in the immediate area outside, did not begin until around 8:30 or 9 AM which for us was not a problem. We were in very short walking distance of at least 4 local bakeries which we tried each day of our stay. The Follies entrance could be seen from our hotel window. There were no events at the Follies the week we were there, so evenings were quiet. If you want to see and experience an area where the locals live and work, this is a great location for that. It is only a few blocks walk (maybe 5-10 minutes) to transportation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

How i wish i had checked trip advisor before booking this hotel. The only reason it has a rating of one is that you cant have none!!!
We were promissed 'secure parking' and a good size quad room for myself, wife and 2 boys (5 & 6).
When we arrived there was no parking and the room was smaller than any single i have ever stayed in but with 4 single beds squashed into it. There wasn't even room for our suitcase!!
The manager was the rudest person i have ever had the missfortune to deal with and swore at me and my wife and told my 5 & 6 year old that we should all [--] off back to our own country as we were all ignorant [--].
He also insisted that we paid in cash again before we were allowed to check in, even though we had a receipt proving it had been booked through EasyToBook (do not use this company either as they have been no help and dissinterested in trying to get my money back)
Not wanting to be abused any further or pay twice for an appaling hotel and room we chose not stay in this hotel. However we did then book into the Novotel Novotel Paris Rueil Malmaison which ended up costing much less and is highly recomended, a very nice hotel and staff.
If i have learnt anything from my trip to Paris it is that they can be as rude as their perceived to be but there are also a lot of very nice people there as well. Also that i will always read reviews on hotels before I book and never stay in the Geoffroy Marie Opera ever again and inform as many people as possible of this.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Arrived pre-booked with family, we did not even stay in the hotel, we decided it was better to lose the money paid for the 5 nights and stay somewhere else. It is not 3 star, but more a low level hostel, we stayed in far neater, cleaner, more friendly single star hotels during our trip though France. The rooms are cramped, even by European standards, but more over they are dirty, we thought the bathroom had shag pile carpet until we realised it was a mat of pubic hair. The gym equipment stored on the stairs is down right dangerous, the shower head lay in the bath and not mounted to the wall, the guy at reception said it was meant to be this way despite the remnants of the broken bracket still hanging from the wall. Bottom line is don't stay here, even though it's cheap, it's not worth it, would not recommend to enemy let alone friend. Another reviewer said it's not the worst, they are right, there was a homeless guy living in a cardboard box around the corner, that might be slightly worse, although I reckon he's have less pubic hairs from other people lying on his floor

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera

Address: 12, rue Geoffroy Marie | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre , Opéra
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,692 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geoffroy Maria Opera Paris
Geoffroy Maria Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.