We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More cons than pros..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera

Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12, rue Geoffroy Marie | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,685 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“More cons than pros..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Pros first
Reasonably central, cheap, with shops all around
cons
i spent over 200 euros on coffee because there are no coffee making facilities
the rooms are shabby and can get very noisy
the owner is abrupt at best
It was too expensive for the service it provides.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    9
    15
See reviews for
8
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Please do not stay in this hotel. The boss of the hotel, Mr Isaac, is the rudest man I EVER met. He shouted at me multiple times for mostly no reason at all. The light in my bathroom was broken for one week, only after this time someone came to fix it (I asked it more than once during that week). The rooms were clean but that's really it, the furniture was old and often even partly broken. The breakfast was very basic, no fresh bread. The location was good, but you can find many other (cheap) alternatives in that neighbourhood. I can only recommand you to NEVER stay in this hotel. Please avoid a very unpleasant stay. It is totally not a 3 star hotel, it's even one star unworthy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

The manager of this hotel was very kind, helpful and friendly. He gave us a discount off the posted rates which we later discovered was at par which means we might have found a better hotel for the price. This hotel is not a 3 star hotel. We would rate it a 2 star. We were told we could not eat in our room or we would be charged extra. The reason was to keep cock roaches away. We never saw any because staff does keep the rooms clean. Of course we did not eat in the room even though it was hard to not have a snack later at night. The decor needs upgrading to be a 3 star hotel. New paint, upgraded pictures on the walls, hardwood flooring refinished and better bed spreads other than old navy blue covers would make this hotel room look better. The beds are narrower than those in the US. The room was clean though! It just appeared dingy and in dire need of upgrading. The in-room bathroom was small but included a nice deep tub with shower. We understood we would have high speed internet in our room. Internet was not working nor had it been for a while and there were no plans for getting it going again. We had to use a local internet location one block over. The light at the end of the hall where our room was located never was replaced, making it hard to see to open our room door late at night. The elevator is small, but we managed OK. Noise in the morning due to construction in the immediate area outside, did not begin until around 8:30 or 9 AM which for us was not a problem. We were in very short walking distance of at least 4 local bakeries which we tried each day of our stay. The Follies entrance could be seen from our hotel window. There were no events at the Follies the week we were there, so evenings were quiet. If you want to see and experience an area where the locals live and work, this is a great location for that. It is only a few blocks walk (maybe 5-10 minutes) to transportation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

How i wish i had checked trip advisor before booking this hotel. The only reason it has a rating of one is that you cant have none!!!
We were promissed 'secure parking' and a good size quad room for myself, wife and 2 boys (5 & 6).
When we arrived there was no parking and the room was smaller than any single i have ever stayed in but with 4 single beds squashed into it. There wasn't even room for our suitcase!!
The manager was the rudest person i have ever had the missfortune to deal with and swore at me and my wife and told my 5 & 6 year old that we should all [--] off back to our own country as we were all ignorant [--].
He also insisted that we paid in cash again before we were allowed to check in, even though we had a receipt proving it had been booked through EasyToBook (do not use this company either as they have been no help and dissinterested in trying to get my money back)
Not wanting to be abused any further or pay twice for an appaling hotel and room we chose not stay in this hotel. However we did then book into the Novotel Novotel Paris Rueil Malmaison which ended up costing much less and is highly recomended, a very nice hotel and staff.
If i have learnt anything from my trip to Paris it is that they can be as rude as their perceived to be but there are also a lot of very nice people there as well. Also that i will always read reviews on hotels before I book and never stay in the Geoffroy Marie Opera ever again and inform as many people as possible of this.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Arrived pre-booked with family, we did not even stay in the hotel, we decided it was better to lose the money paid for the 5 nights and stay somewhere else. It is not 3 star, but more a low level hostel, we stayed in far neater, cleaner, more friendly single star hotels during our trip though France. The rooms are cramped, even by European standards, but more over they are dirty, we thought the bathroom had shag pile carpet until we realised it was a mat of pubic hair. The gym equipment stored on the stairs is down right dangerous, the shower head lay in the bath and not mounted to the wall, the guy at reception said it was meant to be this way despite the remnants of the broken bracket still hanging from the wall. Bottom line is don't stay here, even though it's cheap, it's not worth it, would not recommend to enemy let alone friend. Another reviewer said it's not the worst, they are right, there was a homeless guy living in a cardboard box around the corner, that might be slightly worse, although I reckon he's have less pubic hairs from other people lying on his floor

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Brabant
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

The website of the hotel promisses things you don't get. It says there is a private parking, a breakfast and no pets alowed. The first two things are absolute nonsense. There was no parking space whatsoever, and there was also no breakfast.
Then in the small reception there is a cat walking around. He fortunately doesn't come in any of the hotel rooms, but still, I think if you don't allow pets in your hotel you shouldn't have a cat walking around yourself.
Then one of the staff members was very unfriendly. This was not only our experience but from more of the guests we spoke to. He is unfriendly to everyone and not helpful at all.
The rest of the staff we spoke to were nicer, but this man makes the stay much less pleasant.
The rooms were clean and we even had a balcony (this is only on the top floor, the rest of the rooms has a french balcony you can't stand on). The only thing you could say is that they aren't very big, and tall people cant stand underneath the shower because it's not high enough. The last doesn't bother me though, because you don't spend a lot of time in the hotel. It's just a place to sleep and shower.
The location of the hotel is good. The metro is within a 5 minute walking distance, and there are shops and cafés within this area as well.
I recommend having breakfast in a place I don't remember the name of, it's on the corner of rue de montholon and rue de lafayette. It's really good and not expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Ness, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Seemed to cheap to be true .... and it was, relatively good location. Looks okay from the outside but inside you can't help feeling its a bit dingy and hostel like. There is a computer with internet access, but it wasn't working when we were there. The room was meant to be a quad, but it was a triple with an extra bed, this meant that three of the beds were pushed right up next to each other. The mattresses were rock solid, we'd have been just as well of f sleeping on the floor. To make things worse, the room was an extremely weird shape, and there was nowhere to put things (e.g shelves, cupboards), although overall cleanliness was good. There is no mini bar, it is simply a fridge. The bathroom was tired and dated, and yet even it didn't serve it's purpose well, there was no shelve above the sink, only the brackets, and the shower was in the bath, but you couldn't have a bath because there was no plug or tap, all you could do was have a shower, with a loose hose (not fixed to the wall), but it wouldn't stretch far enough up to use standing. The street was very noisy outside, lots of scooters (although you do get that everywhere) and there was loud building works going on. There was a very good cafe/restraunt at the end of the street which is worth mentioning. The staff initially seemed a bit frosty but were always there to help, they did help and in the end were very friendly indeed. If you are looking for a boutique hotel this is not one, or the one for you, but if you are looking for something on a budget, that is clean and simple, this should do you fine. But I still wouldn't go back though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Bergere
Hotel Royal Bergere
#1,562 of 1,791 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel
Hotel Acadia Opera - Astotel
#244 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#730 of 1,791 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Maxim Folies
Maxim Folies
#915 of 1,791 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Madrid Opera Hotel
Madrid Opera Hotel
#1,348 of 1,791 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Aida Opera
Hotel Aida Opera
#701 of 1,791 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera

Address: 12, rue Geoffroy Marie | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,685 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geoffroy Maria Opera Paris
Geoffroy Maria Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.