We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Fromentin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Fromentin to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Fromentin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, rue Fromentin, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,072 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It was a good hotel built in a deco style. It's well located in a quiet street in Monmartre about a block from the Moulin Rouge and within easy walking distance of the Sacre Coeur. We had a balcony room and could see the Sacre Coeur. Motorcycle parking is available in the street outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    101
    63
    24
    12
See reviews for
45
87
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were booked for 6 nights for a family of 4. We moved out after 2 nights having had little sleep because of the noise i.e blaring music from the nightclubs 30 -40 metres away until 5:00am (It is the red light area of Paris). The amenities are basic - no air-conditioning, no safe in the rooms (nor in reception), no laundry facilities despite what the website says, the beds are very old and tiny and the bathroom consisted of droopy hand held shower. On the plus side, it is a cute hotel with a fascinating history; while tired looking, the hotel is clean, the staff helpful and attentive and a reasonable breakfast is provided. However don't stay here during the summer nor with children.

Room Tip: the rooms on the street side are larger but you have to put up with the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My boyfriend took me and his mother to Paris in July 2013 and it was hot and noisy! The hotel itself was lovely, the staff was good, the breakfast was probably the best I've ever had! After two nights with almost no sleep (because of the heat and the noises outside) it was so great waking up and be served good food :). I don't understand why some people don't check up on hotels they book, we knew about the setting (1920's feel) and it was adorable, I've never been to such a place :). If you expect a 5 star hotel, then search for one, don't pick just anyone or then you probably will get a few surprises..

Room Tip: We had a room outwards to the street and it was no good in July, because of the heat we wanted to ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've been staying at that hotel for 3 nights. As there was a special trade show or exhibition in Paris in this week the prices per night for any hotel were extraordinary high. At the Royal Formentin I paid nearly 300€ pN. The hotel pretty much reminded me to a frensh vintage movie. It is completly old and shabby furnished and just embarressing what they offer to their guests. The rooms have 0 Star standard and on the first morning I further had no hot water(!) At the reception they told me something about electricity problems... unbelievable! Don't waste money staying at this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I took my Aussie friends for a night in Paris and wanted a cheap typical French hotel. This hotel ticked all the boxes. It was clean with a 1920s feel. Although our welcome wasn't the best the rest of the staff were helpful. We had 2 rooms. The first was very large and comfortable however the 2nd was much smaller and we all paid the same price. Breakfast was continental basic but plently. I think it was excellent value for money but families need to note it is in the red light district.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Royal Fromentin. I would recommend it to everyone. The breakfast is good, the hotel has character and I just love the neighbourhood! The hotel staff was also really nice and helpful. We were lucky enough to be given the triple room with views of the Sacre Coeur and the Eiffel tower, as well as the well known and beautiful Paris roofs.

Room Tip: The top floor offers the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Fromentin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Fromentin

Address: 11, rue Fromentin, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#137 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Fromentin 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Fromentin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Fromentin Hotel
Royal Fromentin Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Fromentin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.