We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mere Michele

La Mere Michele
26 Rue Surcouf, 75007 Paris, France
+33144189775
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Mere Michele is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 13,456 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $28 - $55
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thank you, thank you Michelle for a memorable and romantic dinner in Paris! My husband and I along with my sister and her husband enjoyed our dinner date immensely. The ambiance of her little restaurant is warm, inviting and cozy. Michelle is a very gracious hostess and quietly attentive to all our needs. Her dinner menu selections are small and unpretentious, classic dishes prepared with elegance and attention to maximum flavour! I encourage diners to have a sampling from her entree menu, down to the dessert and espresso. We came away very satisfied without feeling uncomfortably full. The French really know how to respect their ingredients and use each to its full potential. La Mere Michelle gave us very special memories of our time in Paris. Most assuredly, we will return. Merci beaucoup Michelle!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    48
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English Creek, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A meal worthy of the glowing reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We found Mere Michele through the glowing Tripadvisor reviews, and dined there Nov. 5. The meal met - and exceeded - all expectations. We had a fabulous three-course dinner, including a homemade pate to die for. The duck breast (pictured) could not have been better. This tiny restaurant is a real find, and Michele is a gracious hostess who goes out of her way to explain dishes and make guests feel at home. It is small, so reservations are probably a good idea.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

During our recent visit to Paris we were staying in a hotel in the 7th arrondissement. One evening as we were walking around we came upon Le Mere Michele. We have always preferred small intimate restaurants. Le Mere is exactly the type of restaurant we look for. Small maybe ten tables, low lighting, exposed brick walls and a kitchen that is open to the dinning room. That night when we walked in the place was fairly full, but there was a table available, so we had the good fortune to eat there. The hostess/owner sat us and explained the menu options 2 course entrée/main or main/dessert or 3 courses. The prices were so reasonable we both decided on the 3 course option. My wife had a piece of fish she raved about and I had risotto with shrimp that was perfectly executed. I had the dessert sampler which was probably more than one person should order, but it was great. The service was attentive and friendly without being over bearing. Although she had her hands full with the dining room the hostess/owner/server found time to stop by our table and socialize. Our meal was wonderful, the pace of service was just right. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and time at Le Mere Michele. As I mentioned this is a small space with an open kitchen consequently, as the night progressed it did get a bit warm in the dining area. Regardless, we’ll go back to Le Mere Michele whenever we are in Paris.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This delightful small restaurant is one of those "finds" that we return to whenever we are in Paris. The owner is warm and gracious, paying attention to detail. The menu changes monthly and provides a short list of truly wonderful choices that are delicious and presented beautifully. It is easy to find, near rue Cler, and whenever we visit, Michele makes us feel as though we've returned home--truly it should not be missed. She sets and high standard and always meets it with grace and a genuine level of caring for her guests.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Glorious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to this restaurant after reading the reviews. I emailed and received confirmation for Friday night. The restaurant is tiny, and the kitchen is minuscule. Not sure how the chef manages to create such tasty meals in a confined space. Mdm Michele is a very friendly and warm hostess. Never intrusive, but always available. We had a 3 course meal, and by the end of it, we were bursting at the seams! The menu changes monthly. There's a fair choice of starters/mains/desserts. I had the pumpkin soup - divine..... the prawn risotto...so creamy and naughty, and a meze of desserts. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Michele also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Mere Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mere Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.