We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, big heart!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Athenee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Athenee to your Saves list
Maison Athenee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 1,773 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Small rooms, big heart!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived at the hotel, my first impressions were a little disturbing, my daughter and her friend asked what time the vampires would be out! The hotel is very decorative with low lighting, wood panelling, lots of fabrics!
After check-in we headed to our rooms on the top floor, the lift could just fit the four of us in, our room 502 was very small, the wardrobe and mini bar and safe were hidden in the walls and were extremely small, the bathroom was well equipped with everything we needed, I really was not sure if I liked the hotel or not?
Our daughters and her friends room was very red and a little larger than ours, being two teenage girls they needed the larger room! Room 504.
We headed out and arrived back late, tired and ready for sleep, we climbed into a comfotable bed and slept really well!
The next morning I showered in a more than adequate shower. This little room was growing on me!
The girls both slept well and seemed to like their room too!
After two good nights sleep in this small little room, I can honestly say it had everything we needed...but if was in Paris for longer I don't think the wardrobe would have been big enough! Ok for a weekend get away!
We did have a little laugh between us about being in a padded room as the walls are all covered in fabric, this was a good thing as the rooms ceilings were sloped!
The only real negative is the first night we had complementary water, the second night nothing? When paying the same rate for both nights I am sure the water should be provided both nights?
As stated earlier this hotel grew on me but I don't think I would stay here again, I really do like the extra space you would get from a higher class hotel.
If you go down to the basement toilets be careful the handrail is very loose and the stone staircase is steep! It's also a little creepy down there? The staff are very friendly too which makes this hotel a little more special!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    59
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
145
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately no twin bedded rooms were available when we arrived so we were upgraded to a really excellent room with a queen bed and a bathroom with both a bath and a shower.
The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble from booking tickets to helping us check in for our flight home.
The hotel is ideally situated. The Roissy bus which goes to Charles de Gaulle airport is close by as is local buses and the hop on and off tourist bus.
We will definitely stay in this hotel on our return to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Each time I stay in Paris I look for a new hotel that just fits the bill. I have stayed at many of the bigger "chains' and while they are very comfortable and reliable I always wanted to find a small one that was reasonably priced, clean, comfortable and well located. This is it!!!

Room Tip: The rooms were smaller but this is Paris after all! Usually with a small hotel you hear ever pin dro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful little boutique hotel in the (8th arrondissement?)

Sharp little rooms and a great staff... especially Thibau and Paulina!

Didn't have breakfast there but drinks were intimate and fun!

We'll be back again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

We loved the Maison Athenee. It's in a great location - close to the Opera House, and within walking distance to Rue St. Honore, Rue de Rivoli, the Louvre etc. The rooms are beautifully appointed and there's great attention to detail. The concierge was incredibly helpful (Tibau!), and made spot on recommendations for all of our meals. The hotel also has a beautiful bar, and the most incredible hot chocolate I have ever had. I would stay here every time I visit Paris.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.

Location is great as it is close to the shopping, restaurants, as operas / theatres.

Only downer is that the rooms are quite small, but this is in-line with all the hotels in Paris Nord district.

The service level at this hotel is top notch.

Highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed at Maison Athenee and had a wonderful stay. First the staff was incredibly helpful. I emailed with them a couple weeks in advance and they helped us to make some dinner reservations, arranged a car to and from the airport, made recommendations, etc... I was very impressed by the level of service.

Our room was cozy (just as other reviewers said) but very romantic. We had a king size bed which took up most of the room but it was perfect for our needs. The bathroom was clean and gorgeous and our room was made up twice a day. It was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maison Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Athenee

Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#126 Business Hotel in Paris
#143 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#300 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Athenee 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the Place Vendome and the Opera Garnier, encircled by the most exquisite quarters of Paris, the four-star Maison Athenee offers an intimate, luxurious interlude, making any stay in Paris truly extraordinary. Everywhere, from the minutest detail of the petit salon to the sleek elegance of the smoking room, the creativity of Jacques Garcia finds full expression. The 20 rooms of Maison Athenee are romantic cocoons. Each boasts a spacious bathroom and, in a touch of French chic, exclusive toiletries from Hermes. Beyond the elegance of the establishment, it is the hushed atmosphere that is, at once, the most striking. Set in the beating heart of a vibrant capital, Maison Athenee is a peaceful sanctuary, a space of contemplation and reverie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Maison Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Athenee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.