We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally Found It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Athenee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Athenee to your Saves list
Maison Athenee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Finally Found It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Each time I stay in Paris I look for a new hotel that just fits the bill. I have stayed at many of the bigger "chains' and while they are very comfortable and reliable I always wanted to find a small one that was reasonably priced, clean, comfortable and well located. This is it!!!

Room Tip: The rooms were smaller but this is Paris after all! Usually with a small hotel you hear ever pin dro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    56
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
141
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful little boutique hotel in the (8th arrondissement?)

Sharp little rooms and a great staff... especially Thibau and Paulina!

Didn't have breakfast there but drinks were intimate and fun!

We'll be back again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved the Maison Athenee. It's in a great location - close to the Opera House, and within walking distance to Rue St. Honore, Rue de Rivoli, the Louvre etc. The rooms are beautifully appointed and there's great attention to detail. The concierge was incredibly helpful (Tibau!), and made spot on recommendations for all of our meals. The hotel also has a beautiful bar, and the most incredible hot chocolate I have ever had. I would stay here every time I visit Paris.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.

Location is great as it is close to the shopping, restaurants, as operas / theatres.

Only downer is that the rooms are quite small, but this is in-line with all the hotels in Paris Nord district.

The service level at this hotel is top notch.

Highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed at Maison Athenee and had a wonderful stay. First the staff was incredibly helpful. I emailed with them a couple weeks in advance and they helped us to make some dinner reservations, arranged a car to and from the airport, made recommendations, etc... I was very impressed by the level of service.

Our room was cozy (just as other reviewers said) but very romantic. We had a king size bed which took up most of the room but it was perfect for our needs. The bathroom was clean and gorgeous and our room was made up twice a day. It was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

The bedrooms have character and all are different but all are small and none have a desk suitable for business work. The double bed I was allocated on arrival was in fact twin single beds with a ridge down the middle; I didn’t find that out until I went to sleep - my room was swapped within minutes the following morning. All personnel are extremely helpful; breakfast is sufficient. Wi-Fi works OK and mobile phones work OK in the bedrooms but mobile phone reception is poor in the hotel lounge; having already checked-out I had to stand on the pavement during a business conference call. If you have come for romance, shopping and the opera then this hotel is great.

Room Tip: I believe the best bedroom is 503, failing that any X03 - however if it is not to your taste then as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The Maison Athenee is everything about Paris that my wife and I had dreamed about. As soon as you walk in you feel at home, comfortable, relaxed.
The décor is exactly as the pictures show, deep reds, material on the walls and beautiful furniture. The staff are very friendly and helpful and will do anything to help. We stayed with friends and both couples had a superior room. The room is grandly decorated and comes with a king size bed and a good size bathroom that comes equipped with Hermes products.
The breakfast and the bar prices are the same as a lot of hotels in Paris and if you don't want to pay you can get cheaper from cafes and restaurants nearby but I certainly wont mark them down for that (Its a capital city after all and the drinks were lovely and well prepared)
This will now be our go to hotel in Paris from now on!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Athenee

Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#119 Business Hotel in Paris
#150 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#232 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Athenee 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the Place Vendome and the Opera Garnier, encircled by the most exquisite quarters of Paris, the four-star Maison Athenee offers an intimate, luxurious interlude, making any stay in Paris truly extraordinary. Everywhere, from the minutest detail of the petit salon to the sleek elegance of the smoking room, the creativity of Jacques Garcia finds full expression. The 20 rooms of Maison Athenee are romantic cocoons. Each boasts a spacious bathroom and, in a touch of French chic, exclusive toiletries from Hermes. Beyond the elegance of the establishment, it is the hushed atmosphere that is, at once, the most striking. Set in the beating heart of a vibrant capital, Maison Athenee is a peaceful sanctuary, a space of contemplation and reverie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Maison Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Athenee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.