We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXcellant Staff and lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Athenee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Athenee to your Saves list
Maison Athenee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“EXcellant Staff and lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've stayed many times in Paris in smaller rooms with a 24x24 inch shower by those standards this room and bath were very spacious a little more space around the bed would be grand but bath was perfect. The staff made the trip. All there recommendations for lunch and dinner were spot on our desire. Location was very good for shopping and exploring with the Christmas market in town was great fun.

Room Tip: Just ask staff some rooms are a little larger we could have switched part way through but choose to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    45
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
123
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a weekend here in November. The location was great, close to the typical french boulevards and walking distance (for us at least) to the major attractions.

The rooms were kind of small so I would not go there if you plan to spend time in the rooms, but if you are just looking for a nice romantic place to sleep while you are doing other things I would definitely recommend it.

The staff was very friendly, my only complaint is that the staff was very busy during breakfast, it would appear more efficient to allow more self-service. But overall it was very good and i would recommend this hotel to couples looking to spend a nice weekend in Paris.

Also wifi was free which is of course always great.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed in a few "boutique" hotels in Paris all which tend to be small, Maison Athenee is still small but the room was not cramped at all and felt quite comfortable.
Booking was handled very efficiently and no problems at all on arrival or departure. There is a very small lift in the hotel which is typical but I was on the first floor so this was not a problem. I was lucky enough to have a room with a very small balcony, perhaps the only one in the hotel, this was a nice bonus but it was cool outside at the time.
The room was very clean and comfortable, although the bed was two singles joined to make a King size, it did sag in the middle which suggests perhaps time to renew. The bathroom was fine, not large and no curtain for the shower over the bath but didn't cause any great concerns.
Upon arrival someone had smoked a cigar in the salon, this tended to waft up the stairs a bit, didn't impact on the room but certainly penetrated the reception area.
Didn't take the breakfast but the salon where served is quite small so may be tight if all were eating at once.
Location is excellent and rooms were quiet at night.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor has a small balcony, well worth requesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Surprisingly good hotel. Great location and very helpful personnel. Within a 10 minute walk from the Louvre. Galeries lafayette around the corner. And a wonderful bistro next door. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Paris so I'm sure the small size of the rooms is normal. It was quiet and very comfortable. We especially liked the little reading lights on the bed and the towel warmer in the bathroom. the best part of the hotel was Thibaut, the concierge. He went out of his way to help us navigate the city, find restaurants, directions and give us sight seeing advice. The room was a little dark, it would be nice to use brighter bulbs or another light but the bathroom was well lit. We also appreciated the lift when going up!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonAtheneeP, Responsable relations clients at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Customer,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your recent stay at Maison Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to our employees who helped to make this stay an unforgettable experience and a truly "unique moment".

The satisfaction of our customers is our primary concern. Please be assured that your comments have been reviewed by the teams in order to focus our efforts on the various points you mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Maison Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Thibaut
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for one night with a friend. Very centraly located - minutes to Gallerie la Fayette and Printemps if shopping is your thing ! Staff were extremely polite and so helpful - every request was met. Thank you again to Thibault X

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonAtheneeP, Responsable relations clients at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre récent séjour à la Maison Athénée.

Nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos chaleureux compliments avec nos collaborateurs qui ont contribué à faire de ce séjour une expérience inoubliable et « un moment unique ».

Dans l’attente d'avoir de nouveau le plaisir de vous accueillir à la Maison Athénée, nous vous prions d’agréer, cher Client, l’expression de nos salutations les meilleures.

Thibaut
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay for two nights. The staff go out if their way to attend to all of our needs. The rooms are small but elegant. The bed was quite comfortable. The hotel is on a quiet street but very close to everything. Only recommended change is the addition of a shower curtain.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonAtheneeP, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Maison Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to our employees who helped to make this stay an unforgettable experience and a truly "unique moment".

We have duly noted your impression concerning to the shower and will not fail to take your remark into account.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Maison Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Sylviane Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Athenee

Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#71 Business Hotel in Paris
#134 Family Hotel in Paris
#138 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Athenee 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the Place Vendome and the Opera Garnier, encircled by the most exquisite quarters of Paris, the four-star Maison Athenee offers an intimate, luxurious interlude, making any stay in Paris truly extraordinary. Everywhere, from the minutest detail of the petit salon to the sleek elegance of the smoking room, the creativity of Jacques Garcia finds full expression. The 20 rooms of Maison Athenee are romantic cocoons. Each boasts a spacious bathroom and, in a touch of French chic, exclusive toiletries from Hermes. Beyond the elegance of the establishment, it is the hushed atmosphere that is, at once, the most striking. Set in the beating heart of a vibrant capital, Maison Athenee is a peaceful sanctuary, a space of contemplation and reverie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Maison Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Athenee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.