We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming hotel. Relaxing, quiet and comfortable room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Athenee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Athenee to your Saves list
Maison Athenee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
1 review
“Warm and welcoming hotel. Relaxing, quiet and comfortable room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I stayed for one night with a friend. Very centraly located - minutes to Gallerie la Fayette and Printemps if shopping is your thing ! Staff were extremely polite and so helpful - every request was met. Thank you again to Thibault X

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    38
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
118
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had a wonderful stay for two nights. The staff go out if their way to attend to all of our needs. The rooms are small but elegant. The bed was quite comfortable. The hotel is on a quiet street but very close to everything. Only recommended change is the addition of a shower curtain.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a few days stay in Paris with my partner, where we stayed at Hotel Athenee. The hotel itself was a great find. It is beautifully decorated, perfect for a romantic getaway. The room was very clean, everything from curtains to towels seemed to be brand new. The bathroom is spotless, with a big bathtub. The room itself is quite small, which is not unusual for hotels in Paris, but it is beautiful and cozy. We had one of the two rooms with a terrace and were lucky enough to have warm, sunny days throughout our stay, so having a croissant and a coffee on the terrace in the morning was pure bliss.

The staff was extremely friendly, offering advice and help without being overbearing.

As for the location, the hotel is not only close to main attractions in Paris, but also to three metro station: Aubert, Havre-Caumartin and Madeleine. During our first evening in Paris, we took a pleasant stroll from the hotel to the Eiffel Tower and saw on our way Place de la Concorde, Alexandre III bridge, Quai Branly Museum. Galleries Lafayette are also 5 minutes away, as is another big department store, Printemps Haussman.

I cannot comment on the quality of the breakfast, since we chose to have all our meals outside.

All in all, we absolutely loved this hotel and we're already planning for our next getaway, in spring, when we will stay at Hotel Athenee again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our two-night stay here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was tiny but very well-designed and very quiet. Location is great, near the Opera. There was a Jambox mini in every room, which is great!

I can't see any downsides here - great hotel for all occasions.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this hotel for 4 nights after seeing some good reviews on trip advisor. We certainly weren't disappointed. The hotel is small and very intimate, almost like an exclusive large house. Staff on reception were very helpful (except the last day on checking out they had called at 2 minutes past the check out time to tell us we had to be downstairs - however, they did apologise for rushing us).

The room was small but expected size in Europe but very well decorated if not a little dark as there seemed to be a lack of lights. The bathroom was stylish and the bed was comfortable. The location of the hotel is a big selling point - everywhere is walking distance and the area felt relaxed and safe at night.

Would highly recommend this hotel - it has its minor faults but ultimately nothing that would put me off coming back.

Room Tip: Ask to be higher up as it can get quite noisy on the street where we sometimes heard the bin men col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Think small but cozy, think red velvet, think extremely friendly and helpful staff, think small but well designed rooms and you've got the Hotel Plaza Athenée. Perfect Paris location close to the Metro and therefore everything else that's not within walking distance.

Room Tip: The few rooms with a balcony would be the best (I didn't luck out!) My front facing room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Dennis,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team thanks you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.

Nevertheless, we just want to say that Plaza Athénée is a five star hotel located a few steps from the Champs Elysées and Eiffel tower and we don't have any connexion with it.

Anyway, we really appreciate reading you enjoyed your stay in Paris with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We were in Room 201--was spacious by European standards (was Deluxe w/ King, 23 sq m). Had a nice balcony view onto the street below. Loved the Red Bar--perfect for unwinding in the evenings. Very quiet, nice appointments as well. Give this a 4/5 since it wasn't top-tier luxury, and for 450 euros a night, you're paying somewhat for location. Overall, a lovely stay at a very nice boutique in Paris.

Room Tip: Room 201 was spacious by European standards--big closet, nice bathroom, not much walking room around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Sir,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team thanks you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.


We are opening a new boutique hotel a few steps from the Moulin Rouge in the next few days, we'll be really glad to welcome you for your next stay in Paris.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée or Maison Souquet, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Athenee

Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#65 Business Hotel in Paris
#102 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#124 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Athenee 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the Place Vendome and the Opera Garnier, encircled by the most exquisite quarters of Paris, the four-star Maison Athenee offers an intimate, luxurious interlude, making any stay in Paris truly extraordinary. Everywhere, from the minutest detail of the petit salon to the sleek elegance of the smoking room, the creativity of Jacques Garcia finds full expression. The 20 rooms of Maison Athenee are romantic cocoons. Each boasts a spacious bathroom and, in a touch of French chic, exclusive toiletries from Hermes. Beyond the elegance of the establishment, it is the hushed atmosphere that is, at once, the most striking. Set in the beating heart of a vibrant capital, Maison Athenee is a peaceful sanctuary, a space of contemplation and reverie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Maison Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Athenee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.