We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un petit gem of a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Athenee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Athenee to your Saves list
Hotel Athenee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Tampa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Un petit gem of a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Think small but cozy, think red velvet, think extremely friendly and helpful staff, think small but well designed rooms and you've got the Hotel Plaza Athenée. Perfect Paris location close to the Metro and therefore everything else that's not within walking distance.

Room Tip: The few rooms with a balcony would be the best (I didn't luck out!) My front facing room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Dennis,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team thanks you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.

Nevertheless, we just want to say that Plaza Athénée is a five star hotel located a few steps from the Champs Elysées and Eiffel tower and we don't have any connexion with it.

Anyway, we really appreciate reading you enjoyed your stay in Paris with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    35
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
114
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Room 201--was spacious by European standards (was Deluxe w/ King, 23 sq m). Had a nice balcony view onto the street below. Loved the Red Bar--perfect for unwinding in the evenings. Very quiet, nice appointments as well. Give this a 4/5 since it wasn't top-tier luxury, and for 450 euros a night, you're paying somewhat for location. Overall, a lovely stay at a very nice boutique in Paris.

Room Tip: Room 201 was spacious by European standards--big closet, nice bathroom, not much walking room around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Sir,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team thanks you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.


We are opening a new boutique hotel a few steps from the Moulin Rouge in the next few days, we'll be really glad to welcome you for your next stay in Paris.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée or Maison Souquet, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

first, the good news...this is not the Plaza Athenee owned by the Sultan of Bruni....it is a charming small hotel of only 20 rooms. The lobby bar, the Red Bar, is postcard perfect, red velvet, satin, tassels, and Frank Sinatra softly, softly crooning. The rooms are very, very small in typical European fashion. You won't be able to keep your suitcase open. The bathroom is larger than the bedroom with a fine shower and great, large towels. You will find an attentive, young staff...all attractive in their black suits and shirts. A reasonable continental breakfast is available at a charge. Rooms have mini bars and flat screen tvs. Centrally located to major department stores and close to the metro. Wonderfully quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to the team who helped you during your stay In Paris.

We are glad to read you enjoyed our hotel, especially the Red Bar and the atmosphere.
For your next stay with us, don't hesitate to book a Deluxe room which is the biggest one we have in the hotel, especially if you have big suitcases.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Madam, yours faithfully,

Manon - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved this quaint little hotel with its red velvet lounge and spiral staircase, lovely. I booked it on expedia and got what I got.. Room 102, up front on the bottom floor. Some sort of show let out and the noise with it..not too bothered by that but the cigarette smoke that waft up into our room was horrible. The morning garbage pick up is another noisy experience from this room..I know its a city and the noises are more acceptable to me then the cigarette smoke. The bed was a queen, requested a king, but it was comfy just the same. The bathroom is tiny, we have been travelling for 5 weeks and this is the smallest room we have been it...very comfy but tiny. Front desk were very friendly and we were offered a warm towel in the evening from the maid, nice touch.

Room Tip: 102 is not advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Customer,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team thanks you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.

We apologize regarding the room you had. It's true that being on the 1st floor, facing the street, when there is a show at the Olympia is not always pleasant.
But for next time, don't hesitate to ask a room on the fifth floor or facing the backyard.
We have really quiet rooms that I'm sure you could enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came to Paris on a long weekend and we enjoyed or stay at the Hotel Athenee. This was our first time in Paris so we can't compare to other Paris hotels. The hotel is small and conveniently tucked away from the bustle of the main road but still very close to the Opera district.
We stayed on the 5th floor and the room was appointed in rich fabrics and decorated wonderfully.
Two windows allowed you to view the roof tops of the surrounding neighborhood and have a nice breeze sweep through the room at night.
The breakfast that they serve in the morning was just perfect too. Coffee, croissants, some meat and cheese and fresh fruit were enough to get us started for our day. They also offered us eggs but we were happy with what was set out.

Pros
Centrally located near the metro
Great staff, helpful and polite and speaks English very well.
The décor of the lobby and the rooms gives off a very romantic Paris vibe.

Cons
Our room shape was unique because of the roof line. Watch your head when you jump out of bed. This also meant that there was very little room for storage in the room. No dresser.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Customer,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team wants to thank you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.

We hope you were able to do everything you wanted to during your first time in Paris.
We thank you for your kind compliments regarding the decoration of the room and the breakfast.

Next time if you wish we can show you another type of superior room, or we invite you to try the Deluxe room which is bigger, in order for you to feel more at ease.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just spent three nights at this hotel and loved it. It's in a great location, very central, about 5 minutes walk from Opera Garnier and Madeleine and to at least two different metro stations. It's also only about 10 - 15 minutes walk to the Louvre. Even though the hotel is in a very central location it is well sound proofed and very quiet. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and nicely decorated.

The staff were wonderful, so polite, friendly and attentive. There was also a real attention to detail.

There were plenty of places to eat within a short walking distance. Also if you are a shopper this is a dream location as it was only about 5 mins walk to Galleries Lafayette & Printemps and many other shops both high street and designer.

I would recommend this hotel and we are looking forward to going back again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to the entire team who helped to make this stay an unforgettable experience and a truly "unique moment" for your stay in Paris.

We're really to glad to read you found in the area what you were looking for.
We are opening an new hotel in the next month close to the Moulin Rouge, it will be a pleasure to welcome you.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée or Maison Souquet, we remain, Dear Amanda, yours faithfully,

Manon - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my husband's and my first stay at this hotel, and we shall definitely be returning. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms and bathroom are clean and charming. I was concerned about noise, given my experience of other hotel rooms in Paris, but the rooms here were extremely quiet and comfortable. We extended our stay by an extra night, so sampled two rooms on the fourth floor - both great rooms. The street itself has some excellent food options. Bar Roma across the road serves terrific food and has friendly staff. We had breakfast a few blocks away but you can grab a coffee from a small deli across the road if you do not want the hotel breakfast. Overall, a perfect hotel for a Paris visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to our colleagues who helped to make this stay an unforgettable experience for your first stay in Paris.

We hope you were able to see and to do everything you planned to.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Best regards,

Manon - Guest Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athenee

Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#72 Business Hotel in Paris
#97 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#111 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athenee 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional boutique hotel, the Athenee recaptures the romantic charm of 19th century. With its noble materials and luxurious fabrics, it is a showroom of elegance, an exquisite demonstration of refinement and ultra-modern comfort combined. Friendly, attentive staff, top quality services, and a delightfully relaxed atmosphere are the trademarks of this beautiful boutique hotel.Decorated by the famous Jacques Garcia as "the largest of the small luxury hotels", it stands in the heart of one of Paris' most beautiful neighborhoods, making it the perfect destination for an unforgettable stay in the French capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Athenee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.