We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Athenee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Athenee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Athenee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice and little hotel nearby Opèra. Perfect location, near subway and very closed to the main monuments. As I read in many reviews, room was indeed small (though I had chosen a superior one), but anyway in the average for Paris. Room was noiseless, quite and clean. I didn't like the bed: it was not comfortable, because it was not flat but slope just like a roof, so wasn't good for two persons. I neither liked the bathroom: it was indeed very closed to the bed with not a real door, but something like two wardrobe shutters, with a little open space among them ( thus no privacy). Staff was very very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    32
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
102
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garforth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is located very close to Opera. We got the Roissybus from CDG airport, which stopped less than a 5 minute walk away.

The room we stayed in was very small. Barely enough room to stand round the edge of the bed, although I believe this is fairly normal for Paris.

The staff were very pleasant, and spoke excellent English. There was someone on, or close to reception at all times. Handy for when our key-card stopped working due to being in my wallet all day.

The hotel is slap bang in the middle of Paris, so its perfect for getting out to all the attractions. I would however recommend not eating or drinking in this area. Its very expensive. Its much cheaper if you venture North around the Sacré Cœur.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located in one of Paris's shopping and shows golden triangles : the main department stores (Galeries Lafayette and Printemps), the Opera, the Olympia, the Madeleine church are steps away, as are some fashion flagship stores (Chanel, rue Cambon), the rue Royale, the Tuileries gardens... The hotel is also very near to the Auber station of the RER and not far from gare St Lazare. Despite this, it is very quiet and we had a very good rest.
The reception is small, we are in a boutique hotel, and opens up to a cosy bar (Red Bar), decorated by Jacques Garcia as are most parts of the hotel. Reception staff is very nice, quiet and helpful.
Coming to the room, come the mixed feelings. Yes the decoration is beautiful, yes the Hermes bath products are lovely, but some basic room practicalities are not there (we had the standard room)? Little space to hang clothes, three narrow drawers for more clothes - and that's it for space. Coming with luggage for 2 makes the room occupied by your travel items. Also the table was very narrow and once you had empties your pocjets, not much room left for work equipment - anyway there was no proper chair to sit on. The terrace is not easy to access and anyway it is very small.
Another problem that we faced : our SFR/Vodafone phones did not get any connection in the room - and the phone fixed line had no access to external network ! Very annoying and not corrected despite alerting the reception.
The bathroom is of adequate size. You will have to hang your towels above the toilet...
In short, this hotel is very nice for a short stay due to its perfect location and charm, but not adequate to travellers with bulky luggage or needing to work in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have just enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Hotel Athenee, Paris. Staff are attentive and friendly and always interested in you and your stay and were always happy to answer questions and provide advice.

When you walk through the front door you are struck by the beautiful décor, which is as far removed from the typical hotel chain décor as it is possible to be. The bar area has a couple of super sofas set back in their own space which is ideal for a quiet (romantic) moment as you sip a cocktail or glass of champagne.

We had the deluxe room and no it is not huge, but it was well appointed with all the usual features you would expect. A very comfortable bed, good air conditioning, lovely shower and bathroom, free wifi, etc. etc.

The hotel is well located and just a short walk from the Louvre, Place De La Opera and some great shops. For a city centre hotel, the cost was reasonable, particularly when you factor in the service and quality of the room.

This really is a great place to discover. We will definitely be back to enjoy the hotel again and I would urge you to give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Paris for our wedding anniversary. The people at the hotel spoke English very well and were able to direct us where to visit during our short, 2 day stay in Paris. We were surprised to see how close the hotel was to everything, especially shopping (5 min walk) and the Louvre (10 min walk). I read some reviews prior to my stay about the rooms being small but they were bigger than I expected being in a big city like Paris as the rooms in New York are much smaller.The beds were comfortable and the showers are amazing complete with robes and slippers. Hands down the hotel is what made our stay in Paris so great and we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sorry for the delay in posting this review.
We visited for three nights in April 2014 for our 30th wedding anniversary.
The hotel is in a perfect, in an excellent location.
It is very close to Louvre, Avenue des Champs Elysees, Place de la Concorde, Galeries Lafayette, Orsay Museum, L’Opéra Garnier. All within easy walking distance.
The Hotel's staff are very helpful and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean.
A superb location and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I had a really nice stay at this boutique hotel. We came to Paris for a girls weekend and really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful and attentive with everything, from arranging the car service to the airport to making reservations at restaurants for us. The hotel was centrally located, pretty much a 10-15 min walk to major attractions. The hotel offers free wi-fi and the connection was consistent. The rooms were clean and kept very cool with the air conditioner. This was important during the summer heat.

We had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athenee

Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#51 Business Hotel in Paris
#87 Family Hotel in Paris
#108 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athenee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional boutique hotel, the Athenee recaptures the romantic charm of 19th century. With its noble materials and luxurious fabrics, it is a showroom of elegance, an exquisite demonstration of refinement and ultra-modern comfort combined. Friendly, attentive staff, top quality services, and a delightfully relaxed atmosphere are the trademarks of this beautiful boutique hotel.Decorated by the famous Jacques Garcia as "the largest of the small luxury hotels", it stands in the heart of one of Paris' most beautiful neighborhoods, making it the perfect destination for an unforgettable stay in the French capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Athenee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.