We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Athenee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Athenee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Athenee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Sorry for the delay in posting this review.
We visited for three nights in April 2014 for our 30th wedding anniversary.
The hotel is in a perfect, in an excellent location.
It is very close to Louvre, Avenue des Champs Elysees, Place de la Concorde, Galeries Lafayette, Orsay Museum, L’Opéra Garnier. All within easy walking distance.
The Hotel's staff are very helpful and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean.
A superb location and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    30
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
98
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My friend and I had a really nice stay at this boutique hotel. We came to Paris for a girls weekend and really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful and attentive with everything, from arranging the car service to the airport to making reservations at restaurants for us. The hotel was centrally located, pretty much a 10-15 min walk to major attractions. The hotel offers free wi-fi and the connection was consistent. The rooms were clean and kept very cool with the air conditioner. This was important during the summer heat.

We had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Words cannot express my profound gratitude to the amazing staff at Hotel Athenee who went above and beyond to make our stay in Paris unforgettable. We have been to Paris three times and now we will make it apart of our annual vacation stop because of the dear friendships we developed. Special mention to Thibaut, Vinnla, Nonon,Narie and the owner Sylviane who has handpicked a wonderful staff. I however have to highlight Guillaume who worked tirelessly and offered us 6 star service. Guillaume has become a friend and to him I owe a debt of gratitude for making our vacation in Paris so special.
To those who are thinking of staying in Paris, don't hesitate to book your stay at this authentic French hotel. You will be treated to a true French breakfast every morning and the location is perfect for those with a desire to shop. The tour facilities and museums are all in walking distance.
All members of staff speak perfect English and together they make this hotel my NUMBER 1 choice to stay in Paris.
See you all next year summer... this time for two weeks!!
Thanks,

Dr. Chris

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our two-night stay here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was tiny (about three feel between the bed and the surrounding walls) but well-designed and very quiet. Very good sound insulation; air conditioning and bathroom all seemed new and very well designed. The location, near the Opera, was convenient.

The only downside for us was that the bed was an American-style "double", rather than a queen, which made for slightly tight sleeping. As I look back at the hotel's web site right now, I rather wonder whether we weren't given what they refer to as a "single" room.

Room Tip: I suggest confirming bed size when you make the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a small, quiet hotel in a one-way street (you may have to carry luggage to the end of the road, as we did when the taxi couldn't reverse up to us). Inside is small, there's an entrance desk with a very nice, bright-eyed and helpful receptionist/concierge/waiter. Ours checked us in, whilst answering the phone, taking orders for food and booking tickets for another couple, very smoothly; but was still on duty that night and early the next day too! All the reception staff we met were similar: young, very helpful and polite, multilingual, eager to please and extremely busy; even serving in the bar too. The entrance leads directly into the long, narrow bar area, with lots of dark red upholstery: swishy curtains around large mirrors and small squashy stools around low tables (we were reminded of a mini Hotel Coste). It seemed to be orientated to appeal to the 20 something, slightly bohemian guest. The room was small (and I think we were in the largest one there), but it was clean, had good strong, well designed cupboards, and the bathroom was also good quality. There is just a saloon-style door between the bedroom and the bathroom and no loo door, so it's intimate - you can wave from the loo to the bed! It was quiet during the night and the bed was comfortable with good, fresh bed-linen and pillows (no feather or down, it's all man-made fibres, possibly anti-allergy). Two gripes: the Hoovering started, loudly at 8.30 on Saturday morning and every door on the landing was bashed several times - absolutely no chance of sleeping through it. On Sunday it didn't start until after 10, but the cleaner had already walked in unannounced at around 9 (we hand't put out the 'do not disturb" notice). Hammering woke us early on Monday - so maybe we were just unlucky. But the cleaners did seem very keen to get us up and out (and yet were still cleaning the room each time we returned mid-afternoon and each time asked us to go downstairs and wait for 15-20 mins.) The second gripe was the breakfast. It was all good quality, but for the cost, it was meagre, (photo below of what came for 36 Euros): a single cup of coffee each - no pot for top-ups(!), one fruit juice, a small dish of chopped fruit, two semi-thawed apricots, two slices of toast, two pieces of baguette, but just one croissant to fight over! There was a plate of meat, but we're vegetarian. We had asked for a full continental for two. (We ordered tea for three in the bar another day, and again, it was a single cup of tea each (served in 3 very small teapots!). A jug of milk and another of hot water would have made all the difference and felt much more generous. Overall, it's a good hotel, mostly because the really sweet and charming reception staff work so hard at making it run smoothly, (but I fear they will be worn out fast unless they get some back-up!).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a small hotel, but it is cozy, relatively quiet and with a superb location close to many Paris attractions and excellent connections to public transportation. The rooms are somewhat small, but the service is very attentive and speak English well. We travel to Paris every now and then, mainly for relatively short stays for fine dining and that special atmosphere. In particular with the excellent location and the helpfull service, we found that this hotel was very suited to our tastes and needs.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are charming, but you would have to be able to live with the roof beams being very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a pleasant stay at this boutique hotel, located near the Opera stop. Situated on a pretty side street in the 9e, it's well positioned in the centre of town (Printemps just up the street) - everything we needed was within a 20 or so minute walk, and anything further afield was just a hop on the Metro or RER.

At a glance:
* Do not mix this hotel up with the $$$$ Hotel Plaza Athenee, a 10 min drive away in the 8e
* Small hotel that has been revamped in recent year or so
* Very dark (mysterious even?) boudoir-esque theme throughout the hotel - be forewarned that this hotel is better suited for single travelers or couples eg not recommended for families (but I wouldn't see any issue if you did decide to bring your family here)
* Front desk folks were always there to greet with a smile, and handled everything professionally.
* Rooms are typical size for Paris, so don't expect a large 1000sq ft room. We are light travelers (1 roll on each), so the room was adequate for us.. but if you have several full size luggage, you may have to Tetris some furniture around to make it fit
* As mentioned above, the general feel of the hotel is very dark and atmospheric. Rooms don't have blaring spotlights, so be prepared for dimly lit rooms (not an issue for us, since we only return to the room to freshen up or to retire for the night)

We are frequent travelers to Paris, and love trying different hotels. Our stay at Hotel Athenee was pleasant and I would recommend to others looking for a centrally located hotel with quiet rooms.

Room Tip: Windows are dbl paned, so no street noise entered the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athenee

Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#49 Business Hotel in Paris
#75 Family Hotel in Paris
#108 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athenee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional boutique hotel, the Athenee recaptures the romantic charm of 19th century. With its noble materials and luxurious fabrics, it is a showroom of elegance, an exquisite demonstration of refinement and ultra-modern comfort combined. Friendly, attentive staff, top quality services, and a delightfully relaxed atmosphere are the trademarks of this beautiful boutique hotel.Decorated by the famous Jacques Garcia as "the largest of the small luxury hotels", it stands in the heart of one of Paris' most beautiful neighborhoods, making it the perfect destination for an unforgettable stay in the French capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Athenee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.