We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stay, rooms too small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Athenee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Athenee to your Saves list
Maison Athenee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Convenient stay, rooms too small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We spent two nights at this 20-room boutique Hotel.

Location is their best asset, being close to Opera and Madeleine, and conveniently next to the Roissy Airport bus stop. The staff was friendly and helpful, doing their best to please customers.

In spite of this, we found our room really small, even by Paris standards, and poorly lightened. They do offer quality products, such as towels and bedding, but still were disappointed by the size and faint lights everywhere.

They have three different kinds of rooms, but even the Deluxe was on the small side. As for rates, not cheap, but similar to other hotels in this same category.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your complimentary comments on the helpful team and the location of the hotel.

We were deeply sorry to hear that your experience at the hotel did not meet your expectations and thank you for having informed us. This will allow us to identify the faults which you observed and which, quite clearly, require our fullest attention.

We have duly noted your impression concerning the size and the darkness of the room and will not fail to take your remarks into account.
Unfortunately the size of the rooms is the main problem for hotels like us in the center of Paris, close to pretty every most importants spots.
Regarding the lack of brightness of our rooms, you are not the only one who told it to us, and we are working on it.

Reiterating our sincere apologies, we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hôtel Athénée. In the meantime, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon and the entire team of Hôtel Athénée.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    45
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
124
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Finding a good hotel in a good location with great service is not always easy in the Paris hotel jungle - but the Athenée provided all this and more. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and within walking distance of many great sights and shopping. I highly recommend this boutique hotel for a cosy stay. Great rain shower and nice soaps etc from Hermés. We had a front facing room (202) that was in tones of grey and beige and while some feel the rooms are a little dark this did not bother us - but it may be less well suited for business travellers if you need to work a lot in your room. We did not try the bar or breakfast; all suggestions for lunch and dinner places were spot on and tasty. We would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Customer,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team and I thank you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.

We enjoy you had a great time in our hotel, which is, it's true, really well located.
Concerning the room, we are glad to hear you felt good in it, and we hope next time you'll try our breakfast served everyday as a buffet in the Red Bar or in your room.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon and the Hotel Athénée's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I brought my daughter to Paris for her birthday and this was about as perfect as something could be. Their room layout is extra long as to make a very comfortable home away from home. The seating area, desk and sleeping areas are all ample and plenty of closet space, even for a long term stay. The bathroom and bath tubs are devine! Gaze through fragrant bubbles to a perfectly chilled silver bucket containing something to toast you being in the city of light paired with a small vase of pink rose buds. Could hardly be a better end to a long day of art, walking & shopping... except for the perfectly appointed bed. Must enjoy the tea room while you're here... at least once. Service here is very special, they make a point of knowing their guests names and treating you like you'd expect in a fine hotel. No request is too difficult. Last minute dining at an acclaimed restaurant, a little surprise that you'd like to arrange, business needs... staff was very attentive to all needs! The only thing that would've made it better was accommodation for a mommy/ daughter (jr spa/nail services) spa day or service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Madam,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team and I thank you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to my colleagues who helped make this stay an unforgettable experience and a truly "unique moment", being at your service at all time.

We are really glad you appreciated your room, your bedding and our bar where you could enjoy a cup of tea.
Concerning the nail service and the spa, we unfortunately don't have any in our boutique hotel but we will find something in the area for you next trip in Paris.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Madam, yours faithfully,

Manon and the team of Hôtel Athénée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is Paris, so expect the rooms to be small. We paid extra for a deluxe room and were generally happy with the price. The toilet is small and it will get wet most definitely, Water pressure was a bit of an issue, it was trickling for 3 days out of the 5 days we were there. Bed was very comfortable so sleeping was not an issue. We had no issues with lighting in the room. Yes its a little dim, but its Paris, do you really want to be working on your laptop? Location wise, its perfect. 5-10min walk from the Roissy bus which is great for getting to n fro airport. We basically walked everywhere. I will stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Madam,

we first would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Hotel rooms are usually not that large in Paris and the Athénée does meet this " Parisian standard". Our 3 different room types offer however some alternatives to our guests, based on their lenght of stay, expectations and preferences.

We are actually working on the low light problem so I can assure when you will come back at the Hotel, you will not have the same problem.

we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon at the Athénée.

Sylviane Sanz & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I loved this superb true 20 room boutique hotel situated in the 9eme. The décor is superb, the service excellent, and the standards of the room excellent. A true Parisian small jem, with a true French atmosphere.

Room Tip: I had a deluxe room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for recommending our property.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to the hotel Athénée.

Sylviane Sanz & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hotel Athenee is a relatively small hotel over all but rooms were more then big enough for us, they were beautifully decorated, walls covered with a lovely textured material (never seen that before), extremely romantic and cozy. Bed was very comfortable and shower excellent.

Staff were more then helpful and polite, breakfast was simple but I gather french breakfast is.

We found the location was perfect for us and when traveling further afield or back to the station calling a taxi or printing and drawing us a map with directions was no hassle at all.

Overall I was very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: We only stayed in one room and it was on the 5th floor, very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Mr S.,

Thank you very much for your nice comment, we will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to our team who helped make this stay an unforgettable experience and a truly "unique moment".

We look forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée very soon.

Sylviane Sanz & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puglia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I surely recommend this little romantic hotel, just a few minutes walk far from the Opéra Garnier. The saff is always very kind and helpful. Interiors have been carefully designed with nice furnitures and rich fabrics. I can only complain about the lights which are everywhere too low in power, the poor breakfast and the rooms which are as small as you can expect in Paris. Anyway the fare is cheap if you consider how expensive an hotel in that city can be, that's because I thik I will come back in Athenée whenever I travel again to Paris.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear guest, first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time for writing to us as all comments are valuable to us. I was sorry to read that your last stay with us hadn't met your expectations. Regarding the low light, we are actually working on changing our system to get more light in the all hotel. Hotel rooms are usually not that large in Paris and the Athénée does meet this " Parisian standard". Our 3 different room types offer however some alternatives to our guests, based on their lenght of stay, expectations and preferences. Keeping a high standard of quality is a key priority for us and every member of the team is dedicated to the service to our guests. we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at the Hotel. Sylviane Sanz & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Athenee

Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#77 Business Hotel in Paris
#135 Family Hotel in Paris
#139 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Athenee 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the Place Vendome and the Opera Garnier, encircled by the most exquisite quarters of Paris, the four-star Maison Athenee offers an intimate, luxurious interlude, making any stay in Paris truly extraordinary. Everywhere, from the minutest detail of the petit salon to the sleek elegance of the smoking room, the creativity of Jacques Garcia finds full expression. The 20 rooms of Maison Athenee are romantic cocoons. Each boasts a spacious bathroom and, in a touch of French chic, exclusive toiletries from Hermes. Beyond the elegance of the establishment, it is the hushed atmosphere that is, at once, the most striking. Set in the beating heart of a vibrant capital, Maison Athenee is a peaceful sanctuary, a space of contemplation and reverie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Maison Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Athenee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.