We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enter if you are desperate” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo

Monte Carlo
9 Avenue Wagram, 75017 Paris, France (Champs-Elysees)
+33 1 43 80 02 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,228 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enter if you are desperate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is basically a cafeteria. On first glance, a self served place near Arc de Triomphe and the food looks okay at a good price. The seating area is clean and bright and the place was busy at 5:00 p.m. After getting our food, the first bite was disappointing. The beef was overlooked and tasteless. My husband paid extra 3€ for the salmon which was overlooked and tasteless as well. The food was at room temperature which explains the presence of a microwave oven in the dining area.
If you are desperate and any food will do, then go there. I saw a group of students left their food unfinished too. Not worth the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    48
    20
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Undercooked food and poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is not worth the "cheap" food reputation. You will do better going to McDonalds next door. This is a cafeteria style restaurant where you choose an entree, drink, and salad and/or desert for one low price. It is NOT all you can eat.

Not a bad deal. Except my wife's meal was seriously undercooked. And those that were not undercooked was cold as entrees are not kept warm on a steam table but just left out on plates.

When my wife asked for a different dish, she was rejected. No spologies. They put the meal back on the grill but it still came out undercooked on the 2nd try. No pride in their cooking. Just a factory churning out food.

What saved the meal was we noticed customers using a microwave in the restsurant. What Paris restaurant has a microwave for customers to fix their food? This does!!

Don't believe the 4 star Tripadvisor sticker on the door. Must be old and place is not up to par.

One thing: my peach cobbler was tasty. And people bussing tables were polite. But that is just as helpful as the captain being very calm when the Titanic is sinking.

My meal was edible but nothing

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After seeing the Eiffel Tower and the Arc de Triomphe, we chose this restaurant based on recommendations by Frommers. This was the worst meal we had on our vacation (and my husband says one of the worst meals he's had in his life). While it is very reasonably priced and includes an entrée, drink and dessert, it is like a cafeteria. We did not go to Paris to eat cafeteria food. When we went, there was a long line and no where to sit (for dinner around 5 PM) which we took as a good sign. As we were eating it became deserted and then a tour bus showed up to discharge a bunch of other diners which explained its "popularity". The chicken was blah and the meat dish was even worse. The desserts were like they were out of a box that is not baked that day My son actually wanted to eat at Pizza Vesuvio at the tip of the Champs Elysee which we passed on the way here but were worried it would be overpriced and touristy. Well we ended up eating at Pizza Vesuvio's other branch in St. Germain 3 times, it was 10 times better than this and not much more in cost, and wishes we had eaten at the Champs Elysees Pizza Vesuvio than this restaurant. It may have been a bit more, but worth it for the ambience and location. This was our one and only restaurant regret for the whole trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cheap eats in an expensive part of town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

There's nothing fancy about this place. It is a cafeteria style restaurant. The food is decent and the portions pretty large. The value is great for this part of town and provides a good way to have a decent dinner after a long day of sighseeing. It was very close to our hotel and when we wanted to eat wtihout waiting a long time, this is where we went. The best part is that they have individual servings of wine to go with your meal. I

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Overcooked, bland food after subpar service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The guide from our bus tour got us misleadingly excited about this self-service restaurant after he had repeatedly mentioned it's name and praised it as the best of its kind in Paris: when we arrived, we were all crowded by the entrance. The staff looked like they had no experience with bus groups, even though groups like this enter this restaurant almost everyday. Getting trays and utensils was an absolute disaster. The hallway was meant to be divided into two lines with two food stations so serving us would be easier, but then for some reason we had to keep switching sides. It was unclear what was included and what was not included in the meal, so it was frustrating to pick our desserts. At the food stations, they kept on running out of food and each time it took ages before new kettles came in. When were finally at our tables, we only had less than half an hour before we had to get back to our bus (the guide somehow was able to get his meal quicker than all of us). Apart from having to rush with the food, the meals itself weren't enjoyable. My steak haché lacked seasoning and was undercooked, and the green beans, on the other hand, were mushy and overcooked. I was highly disappointed...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Carlo also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.