We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Towers of Notre-Dame Cathedral

Towers of Notre-Dame Cathedral
Rue du Cloitre Notre-Dame, 75004 Paris, France (Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis)
(33) 01 44 54 19 33
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$40*
and up
Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and...
Ranked #17 of 617 Attractions in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Architectural buildings, Historic sites, Churches & cathedrals, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visit of the Towers of Notre Dame de Paris, built from 1160 in the Flamboyant Gothic style, gives visitors a close-up view of the Cathedral's flying buttresses, spires and roofs. Gargoyles and chimeras adorn the outer gallery of the North Tower with its ribbed vaulting and spiral staircase, while the South Tower houses the belfry and Emmanuel, the great bourdon bell. The upper gallery provides magnificent views of Paris, the Seine and the succession of bridges across the river. Designated world heritage site by UNESCO.Open:> 1st April to 30th September: from 10 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.> From July to August on Saturday and Sunday: until 11 p.m. (evenings).> 1st October to 31st March: from 10 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Last admission 45 minutes before closing time.Closed:> 1st January, 1st May and 25th December.Admission fees: Adults : 8,5€; Concessions (18 to 25) = 5,50 €; Free admission: minors under 18*; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Wonderful building, so beautiful close up, very busy when we arrived mid afternoon very long queues, some nice shops in the area too

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,567
    606
    132
    28
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We waited in line for the towers for about an hour and fifteen minutes after we toured the cathedral. My daughter left to get us a chicken sandwich and a fresh chocolate crepe right across the street and we enjoyed our lunch while we waited in line. That helped pass the time. You do need to be in fairly good physical condition to make the climb because you move pretty quickly up the staircase. Once up top, the view is incredible! The gargoyles are fantastic! I never knew that they were all different (an eagle, elephant, penguin, lion, etc., as well as the ones that are typically pictured). You are so close you can touch some of them which is really cool! There's a pretty large section fenced off for visitors to walk around and take in the view. It can be a "tight squeeze" at some of the corners and the line stops at times, so depending on where you are, it may get uncomfortable for a few minutes. My favorite pictures of my trip to Paris are from the towers and this was my favorite activity of my trip there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“400 Steps to an Amazing View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Worth everyone of the 400 steps up to enjoy the amazing views of Paris. If we'd had the museum pass prior we could have skipped the hour long queue.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baja California, Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

It was Easter sunday so there were a lot of people walking around out front and some break dancers on the sidewalk. Once we got past all of that we get closer to the entrance and see a small 12x9 sign that read "<--- Tours, Mass ----->" . Wait a minute, Easter sunday mass at the Notre-Dame? Yes please!! We walked in and could not believe how beautiful it was inside. They started mass and we didnt understand a word that they said but it was incredibly moving. That was one of the highlights of my trip. They were doing construction on the outside but the inside was absolutely beautiful. If you are in Paris it is a must see.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

So much better than in photos,beautiful and atmospheric,first time had visited and despite the rain,so glad we did

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Towers of Notre-Dame Cathedral also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Towers of Notre-Dame Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towers of Notre-Dame Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.