We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean rooms but strict rules!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MIJE - Fourcy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MIJE - Fourcy
6 rue de Fourcy, 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 117 Specialty lodging in Paris
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms but strict rules!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed in MIJE for two nights with two friends in August 2011. We were looking to do a lot of sight seeing but hoping to go out in the evenings to some bars/clubs as we were 18-21. Unfortunately, the hotel is very strict about noise after 10pm and the curfew is 1pm - there is a security guard who roams the hotel making sure everyone is quiet! It didn't affect our time in Paris hugely but it meant we couldn't stay out as late as we wanted to as the hotel would be shut. Other than that the location was fantastic, really close to the Notre-Dame and the area surrounding the hotel has lots of buzzing cafes, restaurants and bars. Also close to two very good metro stations. The room was clean and we had our own shower - the loos were on the corridor and they were also well kept. If you're looking for a clean, quiet hostel to use as a base for a lot of sight-seeing then MIJE is perfect but if you're looking to explore the Parisian night-life then maybe look elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    14
    5
    20
See reviews for
7
12
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Overall a wonderful stay. Amazing staff, especially Edouard who was my new best friend instantly. Rooms are cleaned every day, clean sheets, free breakfast. Could use a paint job in the rooms, and as a solo traveler, at least in the Maubisson location, I wish there had been more opportunity for meeting other people. Perhaps a central bar area? Still, a great stay. And, as always, Paris is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Belgium
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Beautiful building with nice location but after one night I had bites from bed bugs all over my body....Don't stay there!

Room Tip: Not room 220
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Stayed with a friend in dorm beds for 7 nights.

Pre-arrival:
As advised, we were to phone them on the day itself if we were arriving after noon so our beds would not be taken up. I called them in Bath on our departure using international roaming, and was directed to at least 4 other people for unknown reasons but was eventually reassured of this. I didn't really understand the confusion until we arrived.

Due to some mix-up with reading the metro map (we thought St Paul station was closed, but it wasn't) we walked all the way from Bastile station in the rain (yes it's cold!). We were then scheduled for check-in at MIJE Maubuisson, only to find out that we have been transferred to Fourcy. Wish they had told us on the phone so you might want to get a confirmation prior.

Location:
Good! There are supermarkets and restaurants (and a nice bakery) just around the corner, and a post office just a 5-minute stroll in the opposite direction across the river Seine. It is less than a minute walk from St Paul metro station, and a 3-minute walk from Pont Marie in the opposite direction (on way to post office). A bit troublesome travelling around from this line as main attractions are on other lines, but it can't really be helped. Distance from metro worthy of a mention for the price of this hostel. Also only 2 stops from Châtelet - smelly station but it serves many RER and metro lines that would connect you to other stations.

Service:
The receptionist lady at Maubuisson was really nice and apologetic about the mix-up, while the guy (Laurent) at Fourcy whom we see most of was incredibly helpful and friendly. Oh, the people at MIJE understand and speak enough English, and we are really grateful for that! In general, the service staff in Paris are not too friendly even at major attraction sites even if you smile and make an attempt to speak in (distorted) French, so this was really a treat.

Security:
They use a swipe-card system for access to the rooms, which is a little troublesome. I much prefer flash-card systems, but that's just me being really fussy! The main door of the hostel is manned by the reception desk, just buzz and be let in. Same with the luggage storage room which kept it secure if you're leaving yours behind for a few hours.

Room:
We had 3 rooms in our entire stay, which was a slight inconvenience but definitely good for checking out other rooms in different wings. We were backpacking so it's all part of the experience anyway! All the rooms have showers and basins in them, but not the toilets which are located just outside the room or along the corridors. Take note that the walls and floors are thin, so noise transmit easily, even echoes.

Our first room was on the 4th floor in wing B which was good for keeping out noise, but not so much for daily climbing, for 3 nights. It was a 2-storey dorm with a spiral stairs within and a total of 3 bedrooms for about 9 people. There is a shower-room just adjacent to the dorm main door (toilets outside) and a single bedroom of 3 beds which we got, and another shower-room upstairs with a toilet shared among the 2 bedrooms.

Our second room was a private room with an attached shower (not enough dorms with huge number of big groups) on the first floor of wing A, I believe. It was incredibly noisy because the dorms for student groups was upstairs and the window overlooks the main courtyard, and I overheard some of our neighbours complaining about the noise. Fortunately for one night only.

Our third dorm was for 3 nights on the second floor of what I believe is wing C (top floor of the block) and has a slightly different configuration from our first room. It is 2-storey high with a staircase within, a shower-room in the first floor and a toilet just outside the main door. All 3 bedrooms that can hold 10 people (4-2-4) are upstairs. We got the smaller room for only 2 people (not bunk), and nobody actually occupied the other beds so we were lucky. Really quiet up here.

The rooms are cleaned daily, so leave the room during those times. The only negative is that the toilets can get really smelly.

Environment:
If you're a light sleeper, be prepared to be woken up by children running and slamming the doors as they leave their rooms for breakfast at 7.30am daily (not so bad on weekends). As mentioned, the walls were really thin. Such that we could hear the vibration of a phone from another room in ours! Bring earplugs if you need.

Not a very hosteling vibe, and the lounge they have has a stale musty smell.

Wifi:
Not free but you can buy the internet card, though the connection was rubbish from the lounge (best connection according to reception). We had to log in multiple times within a 5-minute surfing range, which was really frustrating. Managed to get better reception in our third room.

Food:
Free breakfast was filling. Food is REALLY expensive in Paris so if you're unable to finish the breakfast, pack it in a bag for a snack later.

We had dinner at the hostel a few times because we are not fans of French cuisine (not at all) and it is only €3! Their beef stew on one of the days was quite good, but otherwise lacklustre. We ate only to fill up our stomachs (which was what we did in Paris the entire time). Purchase the dinner ticket at reception and show it to the servers for your food.

If you're lucky, you might be able to avoid the student groups at both breakfast and dinner. The lines can get quite long, and I'd recommend you sit down and wait for them to finish before getting your food.

Overall:
I enjoyed this hostel and would come back because I'm a deep sleeper. It is rather expensive though, but can't really find somewhere cheaper that's basically in the middle of Paris.

Tip:
It's expensive, but if you're getting any of the travel passes (5-day is the maximum), make sure you understand it beforehand and that you get a brochure with a list of the updated attractions at which you can get discounted tickets with the pass. We managed to get into Musee de'Larmee for €2 cheaper. The person manning the counter at Gare du Nord was surly and unhelpful, at which I was slightly taken aback as I thought that a little more friendliness would exist at one of Paris' international port of departure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Hi.

Group of Irish lads. We stayed at MIJE Fourcy from Sept 6th to 10th, and had a good experience of the place. Rooms were clean, if a little small. Bathroom down the corridor from our room, but that wasn't too much of an inconvenience. Showers were excellent. Piping hot water, all day, which helps after long days walking the streets of Paris.

Breakfast was minimal, but fine. Kept us going for a few hours in the morning.

The staff were very friendly. Location was perfect. Literally a stone's throw from the St Paul Metro. Also a great little shop called Aux Désirs de Manon, which is lovely for takeaway lunch, and little treats. Also, The Auld Alliance Scottish Bar around the corner is fantastic for a good pub atmosphere, with some sports on tv for those looking to catch matches.

Finally, may I recommend Casa Del Pablo, a tapas bar a few blocks away from Rue De Fourcy for a nice evening meal.

Hope this was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I almost hate to write this review as I think these hostels are Paris' best kept secret. I was in charge of a small group of teenagers and thrillled at the location, comfort and value provided by the hostel. Our location (of the 3) was quiet, clean, very hospitable and the other guests seemed equally pleased with the amenities. I just wish there was easier internet access, even though online work detracts from strolling time along the Seine. I can't wait to return and experience this neighborhood charm again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My daughter was forced to stay here by EF, while on language camp.
She got back late from a day of sightseeing and went to bed. She explains that was kept awake by something but wasn't sure what it was. It felt like pinpricks.. She got up after about 20 minutes as it was getting more and more painful and realized that there were bugs in her bed. She saw 4 beetle like things just on her pillow.

So she woke the other 9 girls up and they pulled of the covers on all the beds. In my daughters bed there was 4 different kinds of infestation - flees, ticks, bedbugs and a spider like thing. They woke the EF staff and they got hotel staff. They moved rooms. This room had ticks in one of the beds and so they asked for a new room. They got moved again, this time into a room with dirty sheets. New sheets were provided after a discusion with the camp leader and hotel staff. By this time it was 5 am and two hours later they were supposed to get up to walk around a museum. Some girls were then taken to hospital, and one even required surgery as a result of the bites they recieved while staying in this hotel.

Do not stay here, and do not use EF!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MIJE - Fourcy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MIJE - Fourcy

Address: 6 rue de Fourcy, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 117 Specialty lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Mije - Fourcy Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MIJE - Fourcy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added MIJE - Fourcy to your Saves list