We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Trois Colleges

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Trois Colleges to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Trois Colleges
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 rue Cujas | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #894 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small room but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Like most hotels on a smallish budget in Paris during July, the room was tiny and pretty expensive, but it was clean, had air conditioning, the bed was comfortable and the staff were friendly: it did the trick. Add to that the location right next to the Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter with plenty of bars, restaurants and creperies around, this proved a perfect base for a conference trip (and sightseeing) in Paris. After five nights in this room it felt a little cramped but since I was more interested in what was outside the hotel I didn't mind so much, and couldn't really have hoped for a better location. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    88
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
88
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

stayed at this hotel with other family in a separate room. The rooms are tiny and ours smelt terrible however, the prices were affordable for Paris so we put up with it. I would not be writing this review if it were not for being accused of splashing liquid on the wall paper and receiving a letter by email after checkout stating that the credit card would be charged to replace the wall paper.. A false accusation that we are unable to defend and are powerless to do anything about. The hotel itself only has location and price going for it but to be ripped off in this way is disturbing and has left us with the worst memory of a holiday in Paris. .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Colleges_Manager, Manager at Hotel des Trois Colleges, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Madam,
The "terrible smell" you complain about was the smell of a brand new carpet!
You were the first to stay in that newly refurbished room. As you know, little red spots appeared during your stay just above the desk.
It really looked like red wine stains, but it appeared it was patches coming from the plastering behind the new wallpaper.
You were not charged anything for that, and even offered a compensation for the mistake.
It seems this feedback has been written prior to the resolution of the situation...
Our staff is very scrupulous with cleanliness, and the general policy of the hotel is that any damage caused in rooms by guests has to be paid by them.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The location of this hotel is very convenient - you can take the RER direct from the airport and you are right in the heart of the city, within walking distance of many sights. The room and bathroom were very small, even for Paris standards. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Nice hotel, recently redone.... ( our room was being finished as we arrived). Very pleasant. Helpful staff. No mandatory breakfast. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Clean. Close to transport. Easy to get to from CDG.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Excellent location. From Gare du Nord to Luxembourg in about 10 minutes with the rerB and then a two minute walk to the hotel.

The hotel it self features very small rooms and a nice bathroom. We asked for a bath, and we got a bath, maybe because I asked it while booking it with Booking.com in highschool French.

The receptions / porters were very friendly. Except the night porter, little bit cranky.

Only thing which we would try not to do next time: get a room on the first floor, because the streets are quite busy, even at night and early in the morning so a lot of noise. I did not have the best sleep. For reference: I live above a bar in the Netherlands, and I do sometimes go to bed early on a saturday.

Also you can store you bagage.

Room Tip: Try for a batch, try for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Have stayed here before, was not disappointed. Great location, pleasant and helpful staff. Typical small Paris hotel room but had everything required.Clean and comfortable,only neg.point was cost of breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmwoods
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here last May .. fantastic location ... clean, comfortable room and VERY clean and good bathroom ... has free WiFi and is close to so many things and to a metro station ... would definitely go there again.. We were on the sixth floor ,(yes, there is a lift!), my 2 daughters and myself, so an extra bed had to be put in the room, which made it a bit cramped but it was fine and we were out all day anyway. Without the extra bed, there would have been plenty of room and we had a fantastic view from the window.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Trois Colleges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Trois Colleges

Address: 16 rue Cujas | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #894 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Trois Colleges 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel des Trois Colleges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Colleges Paris
Des Trois Colleges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Trois Colleges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.