We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grenelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grenelle to your Saves list
Hotel Grenelle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140, Boulevard De Grenelle | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,158 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location, especially if you are about to visit Eiffel Tower, Versailles or attend French Open. Moreover, there are many restaurants and shops nearby. The hotel faces La Motte-Picquet-Grenelle metro station and although one of the metro lines runs on the street level, I heard no traffic noise during my two-night stay at the hotel.
My room (#505) was on the 5th floor with a view to the Eiffel tower. The room and especially the bathroom were much bigger than those in other 3 star hotels where I have stayed in Paris. The only negative thing about the room was that water was not running away properly from the sink in the bathroom.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Upon my arrival the lady at the reception checked immediately whether the room was ready even if I had arrived some 3 hours before the check-in time. She also gave me helpful suggestion on how to reach Versailles.
I did not have breakfast at the hotel as there are plenty of cafés in the area (even Starbucks), thus cannot comment on this point.
Two minor comments on things I did not appreciate that much at this hotel: (i) I had to settle the total amount of bill already at check-in. (ii) The luggage storage room is not locked and guests leave their bags there by themselves and go freely to pick them up – I thought security on this point could be increased.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    67
    46
    23
    23
See reviews for
27
68
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Right across the subway station and very comfortable. very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very nice but the air conditioning has to be in our control. It got very warm and unbearable and I had to turn it off rather than turning it onto cool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very noisy at night. Very bad breakfast. When you book, they "reserve" 99 euro on your credit card, and after settement of your bill, they decline responsibility to unlock this "reservation". Our advise: go a little further to the Ibis Paris Tour Eiffel Cambronne. Same price but much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Location of the hotel is the only plus point. right opposite to station( La motte-picquet grenelle station).. walk-able distance to Eiffel tower. Room was OK. nothing gr8. But thankfully bathroom was clean. i wish people( @ reception) were a bit polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hotel Grenelle has a great location which make this hotel a business I would say. Other than that, the rest is ordinary. But of course, we were in Paris to see the city and not the sheets on the bed... We stayed at that hotel three times already over the years and going back to the exact hotel in two weeks. Why? Because Hotel Grenelle is walking distance from anything you will ever need to see, to do, and to eat in Paris. Simple! Stay there, sleep and up you go early in the morning. As a room in Paris, you do not need anything else. There are great cafés near by, a McDonald just at the corner of the street (if you need it). There is a supermarket facing the McDonald, on the second floor for you, if you want to buy something and walk to the Tour Eiffel to have a bite on the benches over there. Train station, underground metros, taxi both, etc... all surrounding you. And be sure not to miss the Saturday market almost below your hotel window, every Saturday, saling local products, books, etc... You will also find in your room a small binder of tours organized with the hotel, full of ideas. The hotel staff will be more than happy to help you. 'Bonjour Paris'!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Yup,
I paid one night, in fact, I was charged for one night but didn't get to go there.
Why am I glad? Because of the treatment I got from their customer service.
I called and admitted my mistake at not reading the booking.com policy of cancellation. I told them that still, in terms of Paris time, I still called more than 48 hrs earlier. The person who answered was very rude and when I told him that I would want to stay there regardless of my mistake he said that there is no availability! All this happened with 30 min of my cancellation!!!
Anyways, we passed by the hotel again later just to see what we had missed and as PJCDublin said, everything is overpriced and staff were are clueless as rude as their customer service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a typical Parisian hotel located right opposite a metro station near the Eiffel Tower. Whilst the location is great and the rooms clean, the price I was charged was way over the odds for the type of hotel this is. There is free WiFi and a tiny bar/lounge in the reception area but you would not want to spend a great deal of time here. If the price was right, I would give this a "good" rating so I suppose it depends upon what deal you can get. I did not try the breakfast which was not included in the room rate. There are plenty of cafes around and even a McDonalds....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grenelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grenelle

Address: 140, Boulevard De Grenelle | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,158 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grenelle 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grenelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grenelle Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grenelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.