We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Andre des Arts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Andre des Arts to your Saves list
Hotel St. Andre des Arts
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   66 rue St-Andre-des-Arts, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 132 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great location; basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location is great - close to so many attractions that are easily walked and close to 2 Metros - Odeon and St Michel. If you are travelling by train with suitcases, I suggest St Michel as there are less steps to cllimb!! Staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The desk is manned 24 hours a day and if they don't recognise you, they check your name before handing out the key - this is a good security check.
Breakfast is basic but good - baguette, jam and tea/coffee. Served from 7.30am.
Rooms received a basic clean. We stayed 4 days - had no linen on beds changed and towels only changed once. Glasses used were left where we left them! The fan didn't work but fortunately it wasn't too hot while we were there.
Yes, it is noisy outside, but if you close the window quite firmly, it does block out 95% of the noise, so we had no trouble sleeping. Beds were comfortable.
If we return to Paris, would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    126
    36
    16
    5
See reviews for
54
76
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This little gem is in the heart of st germain, and has the basic amenities you need to get you up and running in Paris. Nothing flashy but it is clean and friendly for a great price.

Room Tip: No elevator so choose level 1 or 2 if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Spent 6 nights in Hotel Saint Andre des Arts. Fantastic location, walking distance to St Chapelle, Notre Dame cathedral and Louvre. Happening street, Saint Andre des Arts, with plenty of restaurants. The popular ice cream outlets, Amorino and Grom, are also within the vicinity. We found a supermarket, Carrefour, just minutes away, which we visited almost everyday to replenish our food supplies. It took us 5 - 10 minutes to walk from the metro station, Odeon, to the hotel.

Found the room spacious with a double bed, small sofa, closet and table. It also had a clean bathroom with a bathtub. Quirky design in the room, very old school. Excellent bed, we slept very well throughout the 6 nights. Breakfast was simple but adequate, if you are not a fussy eater- unlimited bagette with jam, butter and honey cream (loved it!), accompanied with coffee/ tea/ hot chocolate.

Staff was friendly throughout our stay. We made it by without being able to converse in french, other than the usual bonjours and mercis.

A great find, especially if you are on budget.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here last summer during the Bastille Day Celebration.
The location is amazing!! Very central to lots of things, we walked almost everywhere. The hotel is clean, they serve a very simple breakfast every morning which consists of fresh bread and toping of jam or butter. Coffee was very good, juice and milk. No bells or whistles but it was perfect for getting you started on your day.
The staff are very nice and helpful. We took our children of 7 and 5 to the Catacombs and we loved it! My youngest was a bit nervous but was ok once he realized nothing was going to jump out at him.
My only complaint (and it’s not much of one) is that there are a couple bars on the street and it was a bit noisy in the evenings but that is not the hotels fault, a set of ear plugs took care of that problem.
All in all a great trip, the hotel is ideal located and is clean, no bells and whistles as stated but a great stay for seeing Paris.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Basic but characterful hotel in the centre of St Germain. Rooms at the front are noisy at night as you'd expect in this location but they offer great people watching as a consolation! Breakfast is served in the lobby on antique tables. Nice, friendly reception staff help the ambience.
This must be the best value hotel in this part of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We've stayed here a few times, with the same experiences every time.

The hotel is amazing value, and it's basic but quirky, with breakfast (tea/coffee/hot chocolate and all the baguette with butter/honey/jam you can eat) included.

The staff are always friendly and helpful too

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

My wife come to Paris 2 times a year for the last 5 years and are definitely coming back here. They are upgrading to a ** status but just neat people wonderful music in lobby which the owner "a Jazz devote" made a copy of the compilation of CD's he had for me. As I said if you want to be in the center of dist 6 5 minutes for Odeon this is it.

Room Tip: get room 10 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Andre des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Andre des Arts

Address: 66 rue St-Andre-des-Arts, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel St. Andre des Arts 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel St. Andre des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andre Des Arts Hotel
Hotel St Andre Des Arts
Hotel Saint Andre Des Arts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Andre des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.