We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel, Perfect Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baudelaire Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baudelaire Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Baudelaire Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 rue Ste.-Anne | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,081 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel, Perfect Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in the end of November, 2012, in a room with 2 floor. For Paris standards, it is a normal size room and good for 3 people. The bathroom is small but organized. The location is very good, near the Opera, 2 metro stations and full of good restaurants (specially Japanese).
The breakfast is typical (very good croissant), but I dont think they have any other meals in the hotel.
The really good surprise was the service: every day we got recommendations on what to do and how to reach the place, including some phone calls to book us restaurants and events or just to confirm time and schedules. And beyond that: we had some trouble with our taxi cab to the airport and all the ladies in the hotel helped (and are still helping) to solve our problem, that had no relation to the hotel. Without that help the end of our visit would be a disaster.
Thank you again and I wish you all the best!

Room Tip: The elevator is small and slow, so try to get a room in the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    60
    27
    10
    10
See reviews for
35
47
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We came here with my in laws for a birthday present, and were accosted by the lady at the front desk ( she seemed like the mother of the other people working there, and English) who refused to let us check in till she had sorted out booking issues with the online site that we booked with. After two hours during which no one in the hotel offered to take our bags and told us to wait at a cafe nearby, it was finally sorted where we ended up paying double what we initially booked at online. Nice location, do not expect any service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had a great time in Paris and everyone at the front desk were so helpful to me. The family owned hotel is very friendly, helpful and speak and understand english enough to help. They phoned for taxi service for me, phoned to make reservations for me, just excellent customer service. I loved staying at this hotel and will stay there again if I ever go back to Paris which I hope too. The location is really great and shopping, restaurants, and attractions are very close by. I did alot of walking. My room was great, I had the room with the loft, bedroom upstairs, old spiral staircase, everything was clean. No complaints at all. I purchased the breakfast and the coffee was excellent for what you get for the price in Paris was reasonable. Orange Juice, bagel, croissant with butter and jam plus amazing coffee with steamed milk. I fell in love with Paris and wish to be back and will stay at this hotel again. I only give the restaurant an average score because it really isn't a restaurant just a place to have a Parisian breakfast. Don't expect an American or Canadian breakfast you are in Paris expect a Parisian one.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a loft, it's fun you have a spiral staircase, and a couch downstairs to watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel offered us just what we wanted in Paris - charming and most friendly staff, very nice accommodation, nice quiet breakfast, miracles with restaurants when we had got lost on our way back and were late booking anything. Brilliant location - all the things we wanted in easy walking distance. A family hotel - and we quickly felt part of the family. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

For the price, you can do much better. This is no frills, no amenities. The rooms are decent, although the shower was impossible to work with. We had to leave a bit early and they were not at all flexible. The tiny twin beds are incredibly small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nothing is a problem for this hotel. Excellent, friendly owner and staff who are always willing to assist. Great location with nearby access to the Metro. Brilliant local restaurants. Shopping is close by and so are a lot of the Paris attractions. I walked everywhere from this location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Gérant at Hotel Baudelaire Opera, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Google Translation
Bonjour
Merci pour vos commentaires, nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour au Baudelaire et profité au maximum de son emplacement en plein cœur de Paris.
Rien de tel qu'un bon repos après une longue journée de shopping et de découvertes, aussi nos clients apprécient beaucoup les chambres Duplex sur deux étages, avec un coin salon en bas, avec télévision et internet.
Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt à l'Hôtel Baudelaire***

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baudelaire Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baudelaire Opera

Address: 61 rue Ste.-Anne | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,081 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baudelaire Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Opera district, the Hotel Baudelaire Opera provides guests with a peaceful haven. This ancient 17th century building has a magnificent staircase with a wrought iron railing – the perfect spot for your Parisian stay! This lively area includes a business district, excellent shopping (both major department stores and small boutiques), entertainment venues (cinemas, opera, theatres and museums) and restaurants. The author Baudelaire lived in the hotel, as well as Allan Kardec.Our quiet, inviting and centrally-located hotel offers outstanding service. At the Hotel Baudelaire Opera, we know that good advice requires detailed knowledge of the area. Our team is always available to help with your plans during your stay in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baudelaire Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baudelaire Opera Hotel
Baudelaire Opera Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baudelaire Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.