We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Price, Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baudelaire Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baudelaire Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Baudelaire Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 rue Ste.-Anne | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,083 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
St. Helena, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Reasonable Price, Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Hotels in Paris are typically expensive. Finding a clean, reasonable hotel in a desirable area is a discovery. The Baudelaire Opera is centrally located in the 1st. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable for its class. Linda and her daughter on the front desk are charming, informative and helpful. The hotel is a very good value and recommended.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before selecting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Directeur général at Hotel Baudelaire Opera, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for your feed back. We are glad you had a nice time at the Hotel Baudelaire Opéra. We are located near the Louvre, the Opera, for culture, the Grands Magasins for shopping, and there is so much to see around us that we like to help our guests make the best of their time in Paris ! We hope to see you soon at the Baudelaire Opéra for some more adventures and new restaurants to discover.
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    60
    27
    10
    10
See reviews for
35
47
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed only one night as the usual business hotels were fully booked.

Not much to look at from the outside, but was given a room on the top floor with a decent view.

It was mainly clean, ok for me but don't think it would suit a hygiene freak.

Spoke to (who I suspect is) the owner and (who I suspect are) members of her family - quite interesting conversations.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed here over New Year with my husband and 9 year old son and had a whale of a time! Location is great, a few streets away from the Louvre and easy walking to most attractions. Made to feel very welcome and the advice of the owner's son, David, was worth it's weight in gold - a defintite asset to the business. We stayed in the famous room 22 and I can see how it would be hot in the summer. There are huge windows to assist and a large fan in the room. The staircase was quirky but my son thought it was fab! The area around is known as 'little Japan' and is reasonably quiet and we felt safe. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on that. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 22 has a wooded spiral staircase connecting bedspace upstairs to bathroom and sitting area lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Directeur général at Hotel Baudelaire Opera, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Hello
Thank you for your feed back, we are very happy to hear you had a nice time.
Our duplex room are very popular, there is a sitting area and a bathroom on the bottom floor and the double bed on the top floor... a perfect way to relax after a days' exploration in exciting Paris - especially since all our rooms are now equiped with flat screens and international TV !
We hope to see you again soon at the Baudelaire Opéra in Paris !
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetravellerswife2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We were very pleased with our choice of hotel.
The hotel was ideally situated for the short stay we had, it being in the centre of the opera district. Shopping, eating,and sightseeing all walkable distance. Metro station 5 min walk.
All staff we spoke to at the hotel had very good English and were extremely helpful and polite. The rooms where adequate for a short stay. If you want shiny sparkly modern this is not for you. It has the feel of a 'well loved and well used establishment which is maybe due for a freshen up with a lick of paint!!. I felt the price was good value given the location of the hotel.
the rooms make good use of limited space. we were in a triple which has a mezzinine level with double bed and a sturdy sofa bed on the lower level. As most of our stay we were 'out and about' the room was ideal for our purposes.
We found the hotel via the taxi from train station. 12euros. the return trip was more expensive as booked through reception incurred an additional 5 euro booking fee and further 3 euros for luggage(3 small overnight bags, that we removed from the boot of taxi ourselves!!) It was raining at the time so I suppose that's how it goes!
We were pleased to see a great 'cityscape' from the 9th floor restraunt of 'printemps' department store (15 min walk form hotel) We were there just as dusk fell and were fortunate to see the Eiffel Tower start twinkling with its Christmas bling!! very pretty. it was light enough to pick put other landmarks too.I liked this as we wern't there longer enough to get around everything during our stay at least we saw it albeit from 9 floors up!
This was my first visit to Paris and I loved it, contrary to 'stereotype' anecdotes i have heard thoughout my life I found the people I encountered to be friendly, appreciative and patient at our attempts to speak french (poorly on my part!) and generally good fun.
I will return to the 'Baudelaire Opera Hotel' in the future. A calm,comfortable, friendly oaisis in the middle of the mad, bustling, vibrant heart of Paris.

Room Tip: triple ok for 3 adults on a short stay. (have to know each other well as it is very compact.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The receptionist is quite helpful but the hotel is the CRAPPIEST hotel that I have ever stayed in. The rooms are small, old and musty, smelly etc..... And it's not cheap either. The correct rates for this hotel should be between EUR40-EUR80. It has the ambience of a motel that charges it's guests on an hourly basis...(if you know what I mean)

I really don't know who are the ones who were satisfied with the rooms but listen people, if you do not want to be disappointed, please do not patronize this crappy piece of property. Take it from me!!!!!

Room Tip: What good room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Directeur général at Hotel Baudelaire Opera, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear PrincessZan,
Your message has been received by the direction here at the hotel. For information, our hotel has a very strong regular client base who comes year after year to enjoy the central location and the warm service of our reception team (none of these clients pay an 'hourly rate' for these services) We apologize that your experience was not up to Baudelaire standards and would like to suggest you the possibility of sending more specific/constructive criticism directly to our management at resa@hotel-baudelaire.com and we would be happy to address these problems as quickly as possible. Wishing you pleasant future visits in Paris.
La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had booked for two double rooms for 4 adults (2 couples) and a child for total of 2 nights at this hotel. We know we have a child and we should book for triple room , however the website mentioned 2 rooms left and no triple avail. We booked these two double rooms anyway as we were desperate to get a hotel in Paris since our last hotel say they only have rooms for one night and we need to move tomorrow. Since the guest reviews was good plus the location (opera), and the website (third party hotels booking engine), also says something about extra cot chges or extra bed chges may apply. So we thought we can negotiate to pay for an extra bed for our son upon arrival. We didnt think it would pose a problem , so we went ahead and paid for these 2 rooms by internet by credit card.
However, upon arrival, the hotel staff (english woman) refused to accept us in two double rooms, citing no extra beds avail. and we need to pay extra EUR150/night for a triple which she can offer, but we need to cancel the existing booking which has already been paid.
Later on , the conversatn continued and she now says she has no triple room avail. We believe she could do something for us but she just dont want to. She mentioned she cant keep any of us there. And we were very shocked and disappointed at how can we be treated this way , when we have already paid for these 2 rooms. It now seems we have no choice but to go ahead with a refund.To be honest, we were very doubtful whether we can even get back a refund (total cost for 2 rooms X 2 nights) as this was the first time we encounter such a difficult situation. And how can they be so inflexible with a little boy who is small sized for 5 yrs old. Luckily , we managed to get rooms elsewhere by the end of the day which was very stressful as it was our first trip in Paris which we did mentioned to her. However, our trip was quite spoiled becos of this as we have fly more than 15 hrs to get to Paris, expecting warm hospitality. From this disappointment, i will never go back to this hotel again even if it is the only hotel avail. in Paris and i will not recommend any of my friends and family to go there. It is a hotel that definitely has no empathy for children, which was definitely out of our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Directeur général at Hotel Baudelaire Opera, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and our team does remember this unfortunate experience. As mentioned in your message, it can sometimes be unclear while booking via a third party booking engine to fully determine the capacity of each room type. You also mentioned that you had booked 2 double rooms which my nature have a maximum occupancy of 2 people and a 5 year old does not fit in a baby crib. We highly respect our security obligations which mandate us to not over-occupy our roomtypes - this is for your safety. Our team did our best to propose you options for your stay however these options were not satisfactory - we in no way sought compensation for these rooms as we fully understand your precarious situation. We did our very best to accomodate your needs and went even further to contact the third party service to ensure your reimbursement. In the future, for reservations that fall within a gray-zone, I would suggest calling the hotel directly to confirm as to avoid any future inconveniences. Our heart-felt apologies and we hope that your future travels to Paris will be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

quiet, clean and in wonderful area near many things

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baudelaire Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baudelaire Opera

Address: 61 rue Ste.-Anne | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,083 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baudelaire Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Opera district, the Hotel Baudelaire Opera provides guests with a peaceful haven. This ancient 17th century building has a magnificent staircase with a wrought iron railing – the perfect spot for your Parisian stay! This lively area includes a business district, excellent shopping (both major department stores and small boutiques), entertainment venues (cinemas, opera, theatres and museums) and restaurants. The author Baudelaire lived in the hotel, as well as Allan Kardec.Our quiet, inviting and centrally-located hotel offers outstanding service. At the Hotel Baudelaire Opera, we know that good advice requires detailed knowledge of the area. Our team is always available to help with your plans during your stay in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baudelaire Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baudelaire Opera Hotel
Baudelaire Opera Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baudelaire Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.