We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything in walking distance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Saint Germain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central Saint Germain to your Saves list
Hotel Central Saint Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 rue Champollion, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #855 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Everything in walking distance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Small, reasonable, comfy and great breakfast at a good price. What more could you ask for? And if you are travelling alone, you're most likely to face out back where it is quiet. It's not the Maurice, but it is certainly a place to think about if you want to save some money and be comfortable.

Room Tip: Facing out front are larger rooms, the single small ones face the courtyard in the back. The ones up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

All our staff thank you for time you took to give your opinion of our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you were satisfied of your stay and of our service in our hotel. We will be glad to see you again in our hotel very soon.

Best regards,
Kristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    108
    44
    13
    11
See reviews for
47
77
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was a first family trip to Paris! The receptionists were very unwelcoming. I had a family room which was really tiny, stuffy and smelly from the old carpets. During our stay in Paris it was very cold with 1 spare blanket in the room and there three beds in the room(1 double bed and 2 single beds) the blanket smelt like a dumpster. The next day I requested more blankets which never came, I had to put the single beds together so my kids could share it. would never recommend this hotel to any1.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tappityjones
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I chose this hotel at the last minute coming through Paris on my home from working in France. The size and cleanliness of the hotel is about average for Paris. The location is fantastic and it's easy to get everywhere you want to go in Paris. The linens are good and the beds comfortable. However, and it's a big however, the management seems a little nuts and to not really talk to their staff at all. So whatever you have arranged with the staff, the management doesn't seem to know about.

On the day of my arrival I asked for two specific things, a car service to the airport and if I could have a late checkout the next day. At some point later in the evening the desk attendant tells me the car is booked and the late checkout (2pm) is not a problem. Great.

The next morning at noon I asked the owner to move the service to 1:30 instead of 2pm. She could not do that she said and in addition to that I had no car service booked at all. After yelling at me a bit she realized I did have a car service booked, she called the service and it was no problem. Fine pick up at 1:30. I go out for a bit and return. The owner starts yelling angrily that I was supposed to checkout at noon, she was going to charge me for an extra day. I tell her, no, I spoke with your desk staff yesterday, he said it was no problem. She then starts screaming that I am lying, that I have caused a problem in the hotel, refusing to call the clerk to check, etc. This goes on and on, features me telling her that she is being very rude and rushing to my room to pack.

Finally, the hotel & car service did not agree what the cost of the car was and I was charged 10 extra euros at the airport.

So yeah, the hotel is in a lovely area. The street facing rooms are a bit loud but fine. The rooms are decent and not insanely expensive but arranging and expecting services is a bit of a nightmare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at how close this hotel was to everything. Right next to St. Michel Blvd and St. Germain. Within walking distance of Notre Dame, The Seine, The Panthenon, a couple of metro stops, shopping, churches and tonnes of restaurants.

The room we had was a fair size for a European Hotel, not overly big or small, with a good sized bathroom with a bathtub and shower. The room faced the small street the hotel fronts and is definitely the better view since the rooms in the back face a small unattractive courtyard. The hotel itself is sandwiched between two vintage cinemas and has an air of being in a different era. The room and bathroom were clean and didn't have any smoke smells, indicating that people are likely opening the window to smoke. The only thing I missed was not having any drawer space, but a large closet with a free safe was included. Free wifi is also included (they give you as many id's and passwords as you need for all your gadgets for three days, which is extended with your stay).

There was renovation going on of the smallish reception area and will look very nice when finished shortly. We had breakfast included in our plan, and the food was plentiful and varied, and worth the extra so that you don't have to go looking for breakfast each morning, but be sure you have it at check-in, because some people didn't and were surprised with the extra $$ at check out.

The staff were helpful and friendly, calling for taxis and provided guidance on how to navigate the city.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room, nicer view. The whole hotel is pretty quiet as it's on a quiet st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

All our staff thank you for time you took to give your opinion of our hotel.

We were pleased to know that our service satisfied you and that the location of the hotel was ideal for you.

We were glad to know that you stayed satisfied by our breakfast service and by help of reception. Our staff does the best to offer to each client the best welcome and we hope that your next time in our hotel will be even better than this time.

We took notes of your wish of a drawer space and the main manager was informed. Thank you for this good idea. It's only thanked to our clients that we can make our service even better.

We would like to inform you that the renovation works' were finished in begin of September 2012 so know our reception and breakfast room look very nice and modern.

We will be very pleased to meet you again in our hotel ! We are sure that your next stay in our hotel will be even better than last time.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good hotel close to Latin Quarters. Metro station is nearby so all attraction are easy achieve. And if you like to walk and see the town, it's not that far away.
free wlan, tv, A/C, big bathroom and balcony (at least in 5th floor where we stayed).

Room Tip: WW werein 5th floor facing the street. No problem with noise or anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

All our staff thank you for time you took to give your opinion of our hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we will be pleased to see you again very soon.
Thank you for your tricks that you gave to our futur clients. Thank to you the new client will prepare his stay in advance to enjoy it in maximum.

Thank you again and see you soon !

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Located in the central 5th arr. and easily accessed from airport ChdGaulle via RER B; take to Notre Dame St.Michel-Cluny La Sorbonne station (connected underground). Hotel is located on small street off blvd St Michel, rue Champollion, with cinema Champ on the corner (landmark to find hotel). Lovely personnel , front desk + all staff . Rooms are quite large for Paris, clean, and for summer, central air conditioning works. Elevator works well. An enjoyable and well-priced stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We're glad you're happy with our facility and look forward to seeing you in Paris.

Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.

Best Regards,

Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at Central Saint Germain for two nights in early July. It is in a great location close to a Metro Station, the Latin Quarter, some wonderful restaurants and walking distance to Notre Dame Cathedral. Service at the front desk was friendly and helpful. We checked out after breakfast but left our luggage at reception while we explored the city prior to our departure later in the afternoon. I was pleasantly surprised when we returned to collect our luggage to find that a coat that I had accidently left in our room had been placed with our bags. Room access cards had to be left with reception when leaving the Hotel which may concern some guests. I would stay at Central Saint Germian again however room size is very small. We booked a tripe share room (for three adults) which only contained a double bed and a fold out single bed. This was adequate because we were only staying for two nights and were in fact a family who could share a bed. This may not suit other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

We're glad you're happy with our facility.
Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Paris.

Best Regards,

Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Saint Germain

Address: 3 rue Champollion, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #855 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Saint Germain combines the grace and typically Parisian comfort.Centrally located in the Latin quarter and Saint Germain des Prés, near the Seine, Notre-Dame, the Sorbonne and the Pantheon, near the Jardin du Luxembourg.Building with a charming new decor since 2009 with 5 levels in various environments, it offers luxury and tranquility of a beautiful house in the heart of an historic district in a setting designed in harmony for all your well-being.Its central location allows you easy access to tourist areas and business.Our 35 rooms are all equipped with bathroom, hairdryer, satellite TV, air conditoning, personal safe, modem and wifi access.A great welcome awaits you for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Central Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Saint Germain Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Saint Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.