We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect spot to relax and people watch in the Marais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jardin du Marais

Le Jardin du Marais
35, rue du Roi de Sicile, 75004 Paris, France
+33 (0) 142788098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7,828 of 13,456 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Stanthorpe, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A perfect spot to relax and people watch in the Marais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you like Italian food, this is a great place to eat and people watch. You can sit outside or inside if you choose, but still see on the street. The table places were set artistically with pink linen table clothes, giving it a more expensive look than it is. The meals were mostly Italian, with great pizzas (which proved to be very popular) and the Bolognese was absolutely delice. Other dishes were available also, such as poultry, steaks and fish.
the meals were really very cheap, around the 15 euro mark. I had wine, coffee and liqueur to finish off with, for about 30 euro.
The service could have been better, as the waitress tended to run away before you could finish giving your order, but all in all, I would definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place in the Marais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After a full day of walking and sightseeing in the Marias, my husband and I needed a good meal. We decided to try this Italian restaurant just to see what Italian food in France was like. And it was good. We started out by sharing an avocado and shrimp appetizer, and it was delicious. For our main dish, we both ordered a version of the veal -- i had veal Normandy while my husband had veal Florentine. We both ordered desert. Mine was a very unusual dish -- sorbet frozen inside a hollowed our orange. Turned out to be really good. We did not have wine, instead ordered a couple of bottles of sparkling water. The service was friendly and attentive, with the waitress seeming to know a number of guests who appeared to be regulars. This was a good meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township, NJ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful change of pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

After a long day of sightseeing at Versailles, and braving a hard rain on the way back, my friend and I ducked in here for a late Sunday night dinner since it was across the street from our hotel. We were not disappointed. Loved the tomato mozzarella salad with creamy Dijon, capers and anchovies. Great spaghetti and a nice bottle of wine. The waitstaff couldn't have been nicer. And they brought us Amaretto on the house at the end. Wonderful experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service, prime location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We ate here the last night we were in Paris and loved the food. Great salads and pizzas were delicious. The service was wonderful and gracious and very helpful. Sat outside and watched all the people head downtown to the Nuit Blanche celebrations. Ordered the pizza with ham, mushrooms and creme. It was so good I forced myself well beyond capacity. Plenty of food we could have gotten one pizza for both of us. For Italian food in Le Marais, this is an excellent place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Tasty, basic, excellent value food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great to have a 14 Euro evening meal. We went for one 14 and one 18 Euro menu, and the 14 Euro one was better! Pate was fine, but could have done with some garnish. Avocado starter was sadly bruised. Turkey was tasty; steak was lacking any sauce and a bit dry. Puddings good and wine was great value. It's a great place for people watching in the Marais and we would certainly recommend it for no frills, good value but pretty tasty food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jardin du Marais also viewed

 

Been to Le Jardin du Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jardin du Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.