We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Select Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Select Hotel to your Saves list
Select Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Place Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #447 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Skanderborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very nice and clean rooms. Very friendly staff EXCEPT the guy in the reception WHO was on duty Saturday night the 13th of July and Sunday night the 14th of July. We really don't know why he has got this kind of job - he couldn't care less about the guest!!! What a shame as all his collegues where doing such a good job - unfortunately we remember him and his terrible attitude! The breakfast expensive for what it is - don't have breakfast at the hotel but go next door to one of the cafés.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    389
    118
    26
    20
See reviews for
143
446
61
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I knew that hotel rooms in Paris are supposed to be small, but the size of my room still shocked me. It was really small! Elevators are tiny too, 1 full capacity 3 ppl, another 4. The hotel looks elegant and chic from outside tho.
Most staff are friendly and helpfu.
It's close to RER and metro stations, and in walking distance to Cathédrale Notre Damede. Cafe and shops are around. But quite far to Triumphal Arch and La Tour Eiffel etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely hotel in a good location on the left bank. Note that the RER train from the airport stops near the hotel. The same RER train takes you to the Gare du Nord, so this hotel was very convenient for my arrival and departure. Note that our room had a tub, not a stand-up shower. If you are travelling with a light sleeper be advised that there is no way you can use the toilet without moving a sliding door several times, and it makes some sound when you move it. It's a bit odd, but it works.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the square in front of the hotel are very romantic. The size of my room, over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights.

Pros:
Great location, nearby metro stations, notre dame, pantheon and latin squarter
Next door to some nice cafe/restaurants which are good for breakfast (7.50 Euro pp)
Room was clean and neat and the bed was comfy
Safe was in the room wardrobe
Big TV and built in radio in the wall
Separate W/C and bathroom

Cons:
Like all Paris hotels the rooms are small. We had a superior room and yet it was still not massive - however the location makes up for it
Wi-Fi did not work in rooms higher up

In conclusion, we did enjoy our stay in Paris and at Select Hotel. Staff were friendly and we would stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square and eat breakfast outside of the hotel in local cafes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A pleasant hotel situated in a very quiet location on the Left Bank near the Sorbonne and close to Notre Dame and all the bars and restaurants in the Latin Quarter.

The room was small but had all the necessary amenities. Unfortunately on one morning there was a problem with hot water for the shower, but this was an isolated incident. Could be better organised regarding room allocation as the room I had been originally given was already occupied as I found when opening the bedroom door. During the Paris Air Show it would be advisable to serve breakfast a little earlier for the convenience of the guests, say from 6.30am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

And then think even smaller. I take it from other reviews that we had probably one of the worst rooms at the hotel (#73), perhaps because we arrived really late. The room was so small, two people could barely stand at the same time. It is, however, a marveling design, as they managed to have a build-in cupboard, TV and radio, and a chair in the same room. The bathroom was about the size of an airplane bathroom. I didn't think you could fit all of that into a room of that size! Great lobby, though! And great location, right next to the Sorbonne. Parking is an issue, should you come by car. The closest public parking charges 35 Euro per day, so be prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The room is very proper and clean. The bed is good. Breakfast is simple but good.
A good price/quality relation. The location is excellent. Metrostation nearby. 5-10 minutes walk from the Notre Dame, many restaurants in the area (Saint Germain and nearby the Notre Dame)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel

Address: 1 Place Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in Paris
#232 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#376 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#388 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Select Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.