We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertisement at its best!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Select Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Select Hotel to your Saves list
Select Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Place Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #450 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“False Advertisement at its best!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The room was tiny with the bathroom literally right in my face. The staff was not helpful. They advertised a bathtub/shower combination, which was just a bathtub with a handshower. Management was rude, there were no services consistent with a four star hotel, as the hotel advertised. I would consider this hostel quality at its best. The mattres on the single beds was equivalent to sleeping on layered sheets.

Room Tip: Make sure you never go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    389
    118
    26
    20
See reviews for
143
446
61
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

hi!
Me and my girlfriend stayed at your hotel for 4 nights, and we loved it. The staff was very helpful when we asked questions about where to go and how to get there!

The location of the Hotel is perfect if you wanna go see Paris from its best! Its close to the Notre Dame and Pantheôn and within walking distance to The Louvre, the Eiffel tower and Avenue des Champs-Élysées! Or if you like the Latina quarter and Garden of Luxemburg its only a 5 min walk away! I highly recommend a walk to downtown Paris if you have the time.

Our room was small, but very nice.. it was a charming and wonderful hotell to stay at.

Hope we will be able to come back some day :)

Thank you for a wonderfull stay and experience

Merry Christmas to all of the staff from Espen and Lisa at room 44 :):)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

No complaints at all, ok the rooms are small but they are in most Parisian hotels. This is well made up for in the quality of the finishings. Breakfast not cheep but good quality in a nice setting.
There are restaurants in the immediate area which makes things easy after a long day

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in November 2012 for three nights. Although the room was very small, it was also very clean and had a comfortable bed (if you like medium-hard mattresses). The location is great - right in the Latin Quarter. It is close by the Luxembourg Gardens, public transport and UNBELIEVABLY good cafes and restaurants. The wifi in the rooms could have been better, but the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in November 2012 and I really cannot find anything negative to say about this hotel. It's in a great location - right next to the Sorbonne, a few minutes walk from the Jardins du Luxembourg and the RER station there that links directly to Charles de Gaulle airport and Gare du Nord and easily to Orly airport. The hotel is very modern, the room was lovely, everything was clean and breakfast was great. There's free Wifi and we found the staff very helpful. I'll definitely be back as I liked the hotel and loved the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great hotel with a very good location if you love the left bank and St Germain. Just five minutes away from the train station Luxembourg where the train for Orly departures. Stayed here for four nights and had a really great experience. The staff was friendly and room was much bigger then I had expected. Overall a nice hotel for a few days in Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I booked 4 rooms for a week for a special birthday. The reception staff were so welcoming and friendly it made our stay even better. The rooms were renovated and clean.The breakfast although not fantastic started the day in a most satisfactory way. The staff were also so helpful with recommending restaurants,transportation and even fixing my computer.
The lift broke down during our day of leaving (from 5th floor), but that did not deter from the occasion.
Great memories of our stay at Select Hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a shower and not a bath request rooms that end in 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel

Address: 1 Place Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in Paris
#232 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#376 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#387 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Select Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.