We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon to your Saves list
TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 bis 3 rue d'Austerlitz, 75012 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,266 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
EUROPE
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

great location as close to the station and cafes, although i wouldnt stay there when travelling solo only because the hotel is off the main road so it may feel a bit uncomfortable going back to the hotel at night (but maybe it is just me)... the room we stayed in was very simple, clean and had a good size- it was perfect for us since we stayed for 3 days there so did not need more than that. the bathroom wasn't really modern but it was clean. all in all, the hotel seems good for friends staying in Paris for a couple of days

Room Tip: we had the room with roof windows on the left hand side when you walk in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timhotel92, Directeur général at TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Sir ,

We would like to thank you for your stay at TIMHOTEL PARIS GARE DE LYON.

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours

Eric NIVELLE
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    57
    88
    26
    18
See reviews for
31
75
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was booked as a last minute girly holiday. We requested a twin room, which we got, but it was impossible to move in as it was so small. It was also very hot and noisy and we didn't get a good night's sleep. The next morning the helpful staff moved us to a bigger double room which was quieter as it faced the courtyard. The layout of the bathroom was better and you didn't have to sit on the toliet sidways to avoid bumping your knees! Even though it was a bigger room, all the rooms are small and basic compared to others I have stayed in- but you don't go to Paris to spend time in your hotel room!

Paris in August is hot and the hotel didn't have any aircon. However, the staff did managed to give us a fan which made it easier.

I would have like tea/coffe making facilities and a minibar. I don't usually use hotel minibars, but I do use the fridge to store food items.

There were a few staff on the front desk and all of them were helpful.

The room was always cleaned well and the beds were comfy. Wifi was ok but strongest in the lobby.

We didn't have breakfast, but there are some nice bakeries and cafes around and a supermarket.

The location is great and you can get to other parts of Paris easily.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the courtyard if you like peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phgdl, Directeur général at TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Je voulais vous remercier pour votre commentaire, Nous essayons toujours de satisfaire au mieux notre clientèle.Vos remarques et suggestions nous permettent d’améliorer nos prestations ; par conséquent, votre avis est très précieux.

J'espère vous revoir prochainement parmis nous.

Eric NIVELLE
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otterystmary
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The receptionist was efficient and friendly. The room -3- was on the ground floor and noisy from the restaurant opposite. We had to sleep with the windows open because it was so hot and no fan or air-con. We paid £50/night for a triple which was amazing value but really cramped. Basically a double room plus a camp bed. I would only stay here again for easy access to the Gare de Lyon. Clean room. Tiny shower.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Thank God for just staying one unpleasant night in this disgusting place.
The wallpaper in our room was scraping off and the wall was mould infested.
We told the man at the desk and he said, we were the first to notice. You could see by his face, that`s definitely not been the truth.
Both men at the desk we had to deal with during our stay have been unfriendly and brisk.
Never again! Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for my husband's birthday earlier this month. I was after a simple low cost hotel near a station and that's exactly what this hotel was. Three nights cost £177 for a double room excluding breakfast, breakfast was €13 each which we didn't bother with as lots of places to eat out near by.
The hotel was easy to find, helpful staff, clean and tidy, our room was compact but fully functional. Great location for sightseeing etc. I would happily stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phgdl, Directeur général at TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear sir or madam,
Thank you very much for your comment.
As always we were proud to welcome and serve you.
We hope to see you once more in the near future.
Very best regards.
Louis RIFAI
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night before travelling on from Gare De Lyon train station the following day. Hotel is quite easy to find, literally is 5 mins walk (if that) to the main entrance of the station which looks quite impressive at night when all lit up and a good station to base a few days exploring in Paris. The hotel itself was fine for me. I have stayed in one of these before in northern Paris with my partner and know all too well about the very small rooms, however, I thought this would be fine for just me, it turned out to be very fine because I had a triple room all to myself - typical. The room and bathroom were spotless with all new towels and bedding etc and not one sign of the previous occupants. I was in a back room so my view was a wall of the next building, but there again I was in Paris so didn't spend much time in the room so this did not matter. Overall, for the cost and location it was a really nice stay. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel, 13 euros for a buffet but there are plenty of other places if you just want a coffee and bun, let's face it the French eat buns for breakfast.

Room Tip: I was in room 410 which was next to the lift, not a problem for me because I can sleep through anyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Overall, good. However, the room seems that it was built around the bed, with the ability to take 2 steps and be in the restrooms. The restroom was so small, had to leave the door open when taking clothes off to shower. Location is good, but it's Paris, just about anyplace is a good location. 13 euros for all you can eat breakfast. Giving it a try tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon

Address: 1 bis 3 rue d'Austerlitz, 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,266 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paris Hotel Gare de Lyon is a very nice hotel located just 400 meters away from the Gare de Lyon Train stop. The staff is friendly and helpfull. Daily luggage storage available for early arrivals or late departures. From the hotel guests can reach any famous place of Paris within a few minutes of public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timhotel Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Gare De Lyon Paris
Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.