We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Avre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Avre to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Avre
21, rue de l'Avre | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #390 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just what we expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

First trip to Europe and now concluding our 6th day here in Paris. We knew this *** hotel would be small based on what we had read here. But room was clean and bathroom was very nice with tub and great shower with ample hot water always. Staff, Sebastien and Anca were always pleasant and accommodating with good English. Our room was on 4th floor and facing the back, quiet courtyard. Yes it is warm without A/C but the fan and open windows kept it comfortable to sleep. The queen/king bed was very comfortable with a memory foam type mattress. 6 night of excellent sleep. Metro is steps away and 20 minute walk to Eiffel Tower makes this an excellent location. Felt very safe and secure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    162
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
136
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during July (very hot days). Hotel doesn't have air conditioner so it was bad experience for us. It did not cool down at night. I was miserable. I was told those days was unusual hot for Paris. We were there during Tour de France. Hotel is a small but nice for the location. If you go to Paris other than summer months it is a good one. Room size was ok. We were coming to hotel just to sleep anyway. Breakfast was small for American standards but big for Parisians. We liked having breakfast at back yard. Bed was nice. Close to subway. We walk to Eiffel Tower at night. Everybody was sitting on the grass and drinking wine, watching the light show. Hotel was in a little street but it was loud for us because we had to leave our window open. Hotel stuff were very nice people. Shower was kind of small. I you don't move a lot you don't have problem. If you are going to Paris on a budget and wanting to be close to touris areas this is a nice hotel. If you are looking for a comfortable hotel and you are going to spend a lot of time at the hotel this is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were excited to stay at this hotel, having selected other small charming hotels in Paris in various other stays. This one is small, but hardly charming. The two positives were the hotel is mostly clean and the location is pretty nice - but then there are hardly any locations in Paris I don't love. After a single night, we paid and departed from this place. I would never stay here again. I find the photos on the websites quite misleading. The place is decorated with mostly made-in-china pseudo shabby-chic pieces made to look like vintage French. Mostly its super cheap light items scattered and in the case of our room, not even a functional lamp. Certainly no outlets for use of electronics. The single outlet had the nonfunctional lamp, and was not easily accessible. That was the first of our problems but hardly important in the context of the other issue. The beds in this hotel are about 30 inches wide, the slimmest twin beds, with horrible mattresses that slide right off the beds. In all the years in Paris and traveling in Europe, I have never been in a more uncomfortable bed. Camp dormitories are more comfortable than this. The toilet in our room had a wall constructed in front of it, such that your legs would not fit, and you had to use it sideways. Another reviewer posted an image. The hallways had linens knee deep, due to lack of space, for a good 4-5 hours each day, such that wade through the linens to find your way out and sometimes step over them. No attempt is made to keep the pathways clear. While I understand that European hotels are tight and hard to navigate, at least an attempt should be made to allow guests to navigate hallways. The worst part of our experience was the unfriendly staff, and the bag pilfering just prior to checkout. On our last day (our second day), our bags were left for two hours in our room prior to checkout, when we told the desk we would be gone 2 hours in the morning. We had a luggage alert system, and we were alerted to the zippers being opened in our handbag. This was the most upsetting point of all, and the hotel desk was fully accepting that this had occurred once we described the system and there was no avoiding the truth. I did not find this hotel quaint or charming. For just a little more, you can have a true Paris experience at other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is located close to a medium-sized underground station, so location is perfect for a city trip. The rooms are small, but clean and nicely decorated. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is decent free Wi-Fi, which is not yet a given in hotels around the world.

Room Tip: We had a room on the garden side on the third floor. Very quiet nights. We sometimes heard a neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a four night stay at the Hotel de l'Avre, and upon arrival we were met in a friendly and smiling manner by the owner and the receptionist. We decided to stay in this hotel because of relatively good prices, and the proximity to the Eiffel Tower. It's a 10 minute walk to the tower, and we paid 92 euros per night. At first we were put in a room on the first floor, which seemed nice enough, until I discovered that the room was more or less an ant nest. As the evening came, the ants emerged in big numbers, and were to be found in every part of the room. I went down to speak with the night receptionist about this, he did not speak english so with a translator on my cellphone I managed to explain the problem. At first he did not seem to believe me, so he came up with me to the room and saw for himself. The next morning the receptionist changed our rooms to a room on the second floor which was fine. There is a nice garden at the back of the hotel, but this area should have some form of lighting at night (very dark after sundown). We did not go for the breakfast option since the hotel does not have a kitchen, only a closed bar with a small fridge. The rooms were nice, cozy with french details, but very warm since there is no air condition, only a floor fan. We also missed having a small fridge or a minibar to store cold drinks. The rooms are small but this is to be expected in downtown Paris. Another irritating point is that they always keep the front door locked (24h) so you have to buzz a doorbell and wait for someone to open, even during the day. The surrounding area is nice and does not seem crime ridden for this to be necessary. There is also a nice shopping street nearby, and well stocked supermarkets in the area. The subway is just 2 minutes up the street, where you can also find nice bars and bistros to sit down for a drink and a meal. The hotels staff and service is fine, and the manager was very friendly. Room was cleaned and tidied every day.

Room Tip: Upper floors to be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydenville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Charming, homey, gracious and so, so pretty. This hotel has lovely details that are treats for the sensibilities. It is a perfect retreat in a bustling city. We are tucked away safely on a quiet street, in a sweet and cozy room. I particularly love opening our window to the courtyard and listening to the sounds of birds and occasionally people's singing that wafts our way.

Yes, it is close to the action but, there is not way that one feels that! So, it is the perfect combination of advantageous characteristics. The staff here are also extremely helpful. My son and I wanted to keep costs down so, we purchased food at the Monoprix nearby for a couple of meals and sat in the dining area and had a private meal. The front desk clerk supplied us with dishes and refrigerated our leftovers. How nice!

Just a few short blocks and you are near that magnificent tower and that wonderful river and all of those stunning bridges. One block away is the Metro. Don't hesitate to call this your home for several days. You will not regret it for one minute.

Room Tip: choose a room on the garden side! Serene and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel. The staff were friendly. Its about a ten minute walk to the Eiffel tower from the hotel and there's a metro station nearby so its in a good location.It was a nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Avre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Avre

Address: 21, rue de l'Avre | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#389 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#458 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de l'Avre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Avre
De l Avre Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Avre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.