We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel de l'Avre is a cute nice Parisian hotel. It made my first visit in Paris perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Avre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Avre to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Avre
21, rue de l'Avre | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #388 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Hotel de l'Avre is a cute nice Parisian hotel. It made my first visit in Paris perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed there for 7 days (after Xmas to new year 2012). Place was chosen based on recommendation of a travel guide. It was a good decision; it's well located (near to metro station Le Motte Picquet Grenelle), many brasseries & convenient stores around the place, clean room (we stayed at 1st floor facing the street with a window), staff is helpful & some speaks English. I landed in Paris at 5.30am & arrived at the hotel before 7am. We forgot to ask for early check in, however after waiting for awhile, the staff was happy enough to provide a temporary room for us to shower & change clothes. ps.: the small cute garden at the backyard makes this hotel really European style. Nice for breakfast place in shiny days. Hotel experience really makes "my first trip to Paris" perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms with the windows facing Rue de l'Avre is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    162
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
136
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Hotel de l'Avre is in a great location—steps away from a metro and the Eiffel Tower. We arrived into Orly and I wasn't sure how to get to the hotel. I emailed them and received a very prompt reply with great directions. Our room (number 32) was cute, chic, and very comfortable! For the price, it was fantastic and I was shocked at how large our room was—something you don't see often in Paris. We didn't have their breakfast (went to one of the many cafes around the hotel), but I'm glad they offered it. The hotel has an elevator (a definite plus) and hotel staff is on duty 24/7, although fair warning: the night shift doesn't always speak English! We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Just rehashing what's already been said. Location is one block away from a major metro subway stop. About 10-15 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower (great if you like walking after dinner). Safe neighborhood but away from the tourist zones. Rooms and washrooms are small but go in with that expectation. Great value for the price!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The hotel is situated close to the Tour Eiffel with the metro just around the corner. In the area there is also a Monoprix open 6 days a week. The hotel is clean, the room we got was very cosy, the staff so nice and very service minded. Very good French breakfast. I would definately like to stay there another time. The only thing that did not work at the time of our stay was the WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Absolutely charming little hotel. Darling rooms, well equipped and comfortable. Quiet yet central location. Friendly, helpful staff and delicious breakfast. Excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed there for a week in September. Very nice, clean hotel with a charm. Rooms are small but nicely decorated (2*+ or even 3*). The hotel is located in a quiet street, 2 minutes walk from Motte Piquet Grenelle Metro station (line 10, 8 and 8) and only 15 min walk to the Eiffel tower. There are a lot of nice restaurants and cafes by the metro so no need to take breakfast at the hotel. Highly recommended for a relatively budget (89 euro for dbl with shower) but still very comfortable stay in Paris!

Room Tip: Rooms at the garden side are more quiet and picturesque (probably worth paying an extra price). Do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with a friend for 4 nights.
We had a twin room with a bathroom.

The hotel is literally 1 minutes walk from La Motte-Piquet Grenelle metro station (3 lines pass through it)!!
The area is fab and a walk to the Eiffel Tower takes about 5-10 minutes I would always recommend staying in this area of Paris as it's a great price with great connections to rest of city.

The hotel was good, clean and very easy to find - my only problems were that the shower cubicle was a bit of a tight fit to get into (I think double rooms might have baths as well as showers?)
The twin room had a view of the street (as opposed to the double which mainly have view of the hotels pretty courtyard) but I did not mind as I liked watching the goings on of the street.
The street the hotel was on is very quiet as it is just off the main road.

The rooms were nicely decorated with French style and had enough space to easily walk around beds/desk - only real problem with the bedroom area was the lack of safe to lock things in, and also when having a lay in on a couple of occasions the cleaners walked in (even though I had double locked the door and left the key in) which was a bit awkward and surprising - but we had no problem with them, we communicated in my broken French and they left us to it!

Other than that the staff were super helpful and we were able to leave luggage in a locked room after check out.

Any questions please don't hesitate to contact me! :)

Room Tip: Doubles tend to have view out onto courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Avre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Avre

Address: 21, rue de l'Avre | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#384 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#456 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de l'Avre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Avre
De l Avre Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Avre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.