We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acte V

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Acte V to your Saves list
Hotel Acte V
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, rue Monge | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #815 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in early July.
Very close to all amenities, and is great for the Latin Quarter, with bars and restaurants very close. Added bonus is that you can easily walk to Gare de Lyon in 20mins, which serves Disneyland Paris. Hotel is easy to find with its distinctive red colour scheme and staff were friendly and spoke English. You can also leave your bags at the hotel before checking and when checking out which was nice. Our room was very big and featured a comfortable double bed and even a minifridge alongside a small dining table. Room was also clean and bathroom was big enough for 2 people, with a bathtub and free toiletries. Our room faced the back and was very quiet. Only downside to this hotel is that the elevator is tiny, just about 2 normal sized adults can fit into the lift and the stairs are quite narrow too. Despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be staying here again as the location was fantastic and we just needed a quiet basic room to for our trip.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the building face onto an old amphitheatre and may be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    274
    83
    16
    7
See reviews for
61
273
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here a couple of years ago and liked it because of the great location and price. However, it's looking a bit shabby. The hotel backs onto the Arenes de Lutece, which is great except for when there is an event in the arena - like an all-night rock concert. Then, the hotel is unliveable. Fortunately, we had a room on the street side, which was still not great. So, keep that in mind if you book. I think we will look elsewhere next time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

5 minute walk to Blvd St Germain, 10-12 minutes to Notre Dame.
Friendly & very helpful staff, v good continental breakfast.
Our room was at the back & quiet but very small, basic & not very cheery to come back to. Front rooms had balcony, were brighter & a little roomier, but may have been noisier.
Bed was very hard & bathroom had handheld shower like a silver rod with holes in it. UGH!
Wifi was good.. Lift took 1 person & 1 suitcase or 2 persons chest to chest!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in a very wet February. As everyone has said, rooms are very small but still functional, especially if you're out most of the time. We had a view of the roman amphitheatre behind the hotel, no excessive noise, only what you'd expect in a busy city. Staff at reception were very friendly and happy to get us a glass of wine at the bar when we returned late at night. Didn't try the breakfast although looked great. Location was good, many sights within walking distance and lots of lovely side streets to explore. Any sights not within walking distance - the hotel is just around the corner from a metro station! Overall, you get what you pay for - good for a cheap last minute break!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent, mid-way between two metro stops that will get most tourists to the places they will want to go: Place Monge (line 7) and Cardinal Lemoine (line 10). You can easily walk to Notre Dame Cathedral from here (conveniently passing by Eric Kayser on the way). I stayed here for three nights in mid-June at a rate of 165 euros per night.

The rooms are as small as one would expect for Paris. The double bed was quite comfortable. There is not much room to move around. There is a built-in desk and cupboard for clothing. There's a mini-fridge but you are not supposed to use it to store your things, there's a notice that it is for the hotel's minibar items only.

Although this isn't the smallest bathroom I've ever been in, it's certainly one of the smallest. Two people could not share it at the same time, but the layout is such that it will work fine for one person. The shower wasn't large but I think the real problem was the shower curtain and the water faucet and handles protrude about six inches out of the wall, which really cut into the space you have to maneuver. But the bathroom was clean and functional. My towels were replaced daily. The bathroom amenities include shampoo and conditioner, soap, shower cap, vanity kit (Q-tips, cotton balls, emery board), and plastic cups. There is a corkscrew (probably located on top of the mini fridge) and extra pillows in the cupboard.

The rooms are small but that's to be expected. If you are on the Rue Monge side, you will get street noise but the point of staying at this hotel is the fantastic location, and fantastic locations tend to those with a lot of vehicle and pedestrian traffic. The front desk people are friendly and helpful. Don't bother with breakfast, there are great bakeries close by in any direction you wander and cafes (for your cafe au lait or cappuccino) at both ends of the block. Finally, Pharmacie Monge in Place Monge carries an extensive selection of French skincare and cosmetic lines will do on-the-spot tax-free sales (175 euro purchase required) but you will need your passport.

Room Tip: Rue Monge for people watching, Arenes Lutece for a view of the historic ruins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I traveled to Paris with friends. They stayed across the street and I chose a different hotel. This was cheaper and better than theirs. This is a perfect location for staying in Paris. Close to a Metro station. Quiet area but close to lots of nightlife and restaurants. The elevator was so tiny that I put my bags on it and walked down the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The aesthetic of this hotel is not very inspiring. The rooms and bathrooms are small and the decor is dated, but for the price and location you can't really expect better in Paris. The wifi worked OK. The elevator did not work with two of us + bags inside, so I always took the stairs. We didn't try the breakfast as there are several good bakeries in the neighbourhood.

Our room was on Rue Monge which has a bit of traffic but it didn't bother us much. It wasn't too hot when we were in Paris but one night we did sleep with the window open, and even so the noise was not too bad.

The location of this hotel however is excellent. It is a one-block walk (plus some stairs) to Rue Mouffetard and Place de la Contrescarpe with many good options for restaurants and bars. The metro is about a block away. Notre-Dame and Ile de la Cité is about a 15 minute walk.

It is really a lovely location and for the price I am sure you cannot do much better in Paris, so I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Acte V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acte V

Address: 55, rue Monge | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #815 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acte V 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acte V is located in the heart of the Latin Quarter, in a very calm area at 5min by walk from the very crowdy Saint Michel. Our 36 rooms are cosy and offer all the services you need for your comfort. Our very helpfull staff will welcome you and advise you for your visits and outing during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Acte V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acte v Hotel
Acte v Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acte V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.