We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acte V

Save Saved
You added Hotel Acte V to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Acte V
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, rue Monge | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #775 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I traveled to Paris with friends. They stayed across the street and I chose a different hotel. This was cheaper and better than theirs. This is a perfect location for staying in Paris. Close to a Metro station. Quiet area but close to lots of nightlife and restaurants. The elevator was so tiny that I put my bags on it and walked down the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    269
    80
    14
    7
See reviews for
61
268
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The aesthetic of this hotel is not very inspiring. The rooms and bathrooms are small and the decor is dated, but for the price and location you can't really expect better in Paris. The wifi worked OK. The elevator did not work with two of us + bags inside, so I always took the stairs. We didn't try the breakfast as there are several good bakeries in the neighbourhood.

Our room was on Rue Monge which has a bit of traffic but it didn't bother us much. It wasn't too hot when we were in Paris but one night we did sleep with the window open, and even so the noise was not too bad.

The location of this hotel however is excellent. It is a one-block walk (plus some stairs) to Rue Mouffetard and Place de la Contrescarpe with many good options for restaurants and bars. The metro is about a block away. Notre-Dame and Ile de la Cité is about a 15 minute walk.

It is really a lovely location and for the price I am sure you cannot do much better in Paris, so I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was my first time staying at this hotel. It was an excellent value and within walking distance to the heart of Paris. Within minutes you are in Boulevard Saint Germain (nice cafes and shops) and very close to 2 metro stations. The front office staff (especially new girl that I do not remember her name) was extremely helpful! Everyone on staff speaks English and the room was very clean! The breakfast buffet we also found to be very good. If you are going out for the day and won't be eating for a while, you will find that the big breakfast to be excellent. I know it was very hot in Paris when we stayed and the air conditioning was not keeping up. The good thing was that there was a big fan in our room to circulate the air. The windows in our room opened to a park. We were on the 5th floor (room 56) and had no issues. The rooms were not that small to Paris standards. The elevator was tiny and fit about 2 people but we can laugh about it! And it was wonderful to have an elevator! A great value for the money and yes, I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varkaus, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights in June 2014. The location is convenient and the staff friendly. But our room was a dissapointment. So small that it was difficult to find enough room to open the bags.
The worst thing here was yet the air condition. It worked poorly even at the full power. We slept badly because of this and it seemed that the situation was the same at another rooms, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I like this hotel very much. The staff are very service-minded and friendly and the rooms are clean and nice. The location is perfect, just 50 m from the nearest subway station in the heart of Quartier Latin. The rooms are indeed very small, but the beds are good and the rooms are very clean. Ideal for a Paris vacation. I will definitely return to this hotel. Rooms are equipped with mini bar, so you can easily make your own breakfast (there is a supermarket just a few hundred meters away). The breakfast at the hotel is rather pricey. Free internet is provided and, at least in our room, it was of a pretty decent speed. The rooms are airconditioned

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the backyard. For natural reasons, those rooms are more quite than the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We arrived on a late Sunday afternoon. Desk staff greeted us warmly. The location was great. We walked to the river the first evening and strolled around Notre Dame. On the way back we found a charming little restaurant a few blocks away. Two members of the party found a Patisserie for breakfast and we ate baguettes for late lunch in a nearby park. We used the Batobus a lot.

The rooms were small as to be expected in a traditional hotel. The rooms were clean, with perhaps a little outdated decor that was charming.The elevator was tiny and old style - we had a laugh about it but one of us got on and went up with the bags. The bathroom was fine but being from Canada, the shower/bath took some getting used to. I gather this is a style found elsewhere in Europe.

The staff were very good and informed when we asked about certain areas and how to get there. We walked and walked and walked some more. Didn't try the nearby Metro. We enjoyed having a cafe au lait and watching the children going to school in the morning and the adults going to work. The nearby Patisserie had many delicious choices.The area is close to lots of shops, cafes, and sites.
This hotel is good value for the price and location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The only reason I didn't give this a 5/5 is because my hotel room was a little outdated in decor. however, it was immaculate and the staff were very very friendly.

Air conditioning in the room but I'm sure the sheets had some kind of polyester or plastic and made v sweaty.. Sorry for the overshare.

Breakfast is quite expensive - don't pay the extra as there are two bakeries and a little supermarket 60 second walk away (walking back towards Cardinal Lemone metro station).

I walked around the corner to a little Thai restaurant called 'La Poele Qui Danse' - great food and service. I'm vegetarian and had to sadly bypass all the delicious looking French cuisine on the way to the Thai! Great spot to sit out in. You are also about 15 min walk the corner from Jardin du Luxemborg gardens.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Acte V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acte V

Address: 55, rue Monge | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #775 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acte V 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acte V is located in the heart of the Latin Quarter, in a very calm area at 5min by walk from the very crowdy Saint Michel. Our 36 rooms are cosy and offer all the services you need for your comfort. Our very helpfull staff will welcome you and advise you for your visits and outing during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Acte V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acte v Hotel
Acte v Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acte V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.