We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Regent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Regent to your Saves list
Hotel Le Regent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 rue Dauphine, 75006 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #360 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Big Sky, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel is perfectly situated for sightseeing in Paris and is full of character. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating and the breakfast excellent. Unfortunately, our room faced the street (Rue Dauphine), and the street noise - music, shouting, traffic - did not cease all night long! We did not sleep a wink all night. In addition, the air conditioning in the room did not function properly, so in addition to noise, the room was an oven. It was the most uncomfortable night we've spent in a hotel in many years. We traveled with other family members, and two other couples in our group had the same problems with street noise and hot rooms. We will not be returning to this quaint but noisy hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure not to get a room above the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit and for your review.
We are very pleased that you like Le Regent, the staff, the rooms and the nice location.
The Dauphine street is in the earth of St Germain des Prés, very lively aera of Paris, and, sometime during the week-end or special day in Paris (White night in Paris-Music day-...) it could be noisy.
We do have air conditioning in all rooms to avoid guests to open the windows. If guests don't know how to put the air conditioning, we can do it from the reception.
We understand that you won't come back because of the noise, but if you change you mind, we do have rooms facing a coutyard, then very quiet.
Sincerely your's
Vinciane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    119
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
124
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is our third stay at this perfectly located hotel. The deluxe rooms are good, but avoid the small rooms in the back. If breakfast is not included in your rate, better options around the corner including a starbucks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Charles,
We thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice comment about Le Regent and for choosing our hotel for the 3rd time :)
You are true, it is better booking a Deluxe or a Superior room, bigger and with a better view.
Hope to see you again then.
Sincerely yours.
Vinciane and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

First time in Paris and the Hotel Le Regent ticked all the boxes for what we were looking for. I have to admit, it has the smallest elevator.
The staff at reception were excellent, most helpful and very friendly. The last thing you want to see is a miserable, disinterested person behind the counter.
The continental breakfast was nice and just the right way to start the day off. Yes the rooms were a little small but clean, well maintained and perfect accommodation..
Location of the hotel was perfect, a gentle, easy walk to a lot of the major attractions - word of warning, if you decide to walk to the Eiffel Tower(which can be done) it'll be a 4 hour round trip and that's without stops ... I learnt the hard way LOL. Again the hotel as mentioned by other reviews is close to the Metro, plenty of restaurants to eat at and more importantly it's a safe environment to walk around in.
I would have no problems in recommending this hotel. We hope to return to Paris/France in the future and I have no doubt we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for taking the time to write a long nice comment about Le Regent and the area of Saint-Germain-des-Prés.
You said everything that travelers must know :-)
We look forward to your next visit, then!
Best regards.
Vinciane and all her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean. Room is a bit small.
Staffs are very friendly and helpful.
Walking distance to train station and major attractions.
Lots of restaurants and a coin laundry nearby.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen Le Regent for your stay in Paris. It is located in the very center of Paris and our guests are usually very happy with the location and with all typical French restaurants of the aera.
We are pleased that you like Le Regent even if "Standard" rooms are small.
Indeed, rooms are small in the area of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, but we have bigger rooms in "Deluxe" and "Superior" categories.
Looking forward to meeting you again in the future,
Kind regards.
Vinciane and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Regent six times now, and will most likely return there on our next Paris trips too. It's a small hotel, meaning a more personal atmosphere. The location is excellent, right in the middle of the lively St Germain area. The RER B line to the airport is a mere ten minutes walk away, Odeon on no 4 Metro line five minutes away. Rooms are pretty and comfortable, with a view of rue Dauphine (if you lean out and look right you can see down to Pont Neuf and the Seine. Staff are accommodating, friendly and professional. As in many smaller Paris hotels there is not a lot of space, the elevator is not for the claustrophobic and the breakfast room down in the cellar is a bit of a squeeze, yet cosy once you've wiggled yourself in. An extra bonus from our point of view is that the Regen welcomes travellers with pets, enabling us to bring along our dwarf poodle Zelda.

Room Tip: We recommend splashing out on the deluxe rooms to get a bit more space. If you are staying over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we thank you for choosing Le Regent for the 6th time and also for taking time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback is very important for me and my staff, and, we are always very happy when guests come back.
We look forward to meeting you again in the future, and, a special stroke to your very nice dwarf poodle Zelda :)
Kind regards,
Vinciane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at this lovely small hotel many times over the years. It is perfectly located in the 6th, has a very helpful staff, and serves a delicious continental breakfast. The rooms, although small, are sweetly and traditionally decorated and are outfitted with every modern comfort. My one complaint is that there are no dressers or drawer space in the rooms, although there are usually a few shelves to be found somewhere in the room. This can make it difficult for stays of more than a few days. In other European cities, we usually stay in larger more expensive hotels, but it is always Le Regent for us when we are in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Judy,
First of all we thank you for taking time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you like Le Regent and that you always comming back here when you are in Paris !
Concerning the size of the "Standard" room, it is indeed "small" as many hotel rooms in the area of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, but we have bigger rooms in "Deluxe" or "Superior" category.
We would be glad to welcome you again in our hotel.
Sincerely your's
Vinciane and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here 4 years ago (not July 2013) and my memories of Hotel le Regent are fading, but the ones I have are good. Good location, comfortable size room, good staff. I've attached photos we took of the room and view from the windows.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you very very much for writing a positive review 4 years after your stay in Le Regent Paris, and also, for your nice photo of room 42 (Luxury room).
We look forward to meeting you again in the future,
Kind regards.
Vinciane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Regent

Address: 61 rue Dauphine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#240 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Regent 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from the famous café Les Deux Magots, the Regent is an18th Century building turned charming hotel. Its 25 rooms arean ideal mix of comfort and elegance. No two are alike but allare decorated with wall hangings, painted beams, old stones,marble or hand-painted Italian faience bathrooms and exquisitemirrors. Two rooms boast a terrace, the others, a view ofNotre-Dame or the Parisian rooftops. With breakfast served inthe vaulted-ceilinged cellar, newcomers and regulars alike willfall for the familiar and cozy atmosphere of the Regent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Paris
Paris Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.