We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Regent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Regent to your Saves list
Hotel Le Regent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 rue Dauphine, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #378 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
WANAQUE.NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Though our room was very small, my husband and I enjoyed our stay at Le Regent very much. The staff was friendly and helpful and for first timers to Paris this was very much appreciated. The location was perfect, a very atmospheric neighborhood, easy walking distance to the Seine, Notre Dame, Sainte Chapelle, the Louvre. There are many charming cafes nearby. We would be happy to return to this hotel, next time however, we would book a larger room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you very much for your recent visit and for writing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that you will return and stay with us again, in a larger room (ask for a Deluxe or a Superior one).
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards.
Vinciane and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    124
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
130
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. The pro is the location on the left bank and close access to the major attractions and metro. The hotel rates and the level of service, room style, amenities do not correlate with the price per night. There are no coffee making facilities, the TV did not work in room 14, the room was dull and musky. The room is in need of renovation. The service at the front desk was poor. I previously stayed at another hotel close by which was much lower in rate, but with fantastic service, ambiance and great location. Unfortunately, it was not available on the dates, I wanted. If i return to Paris, I will most definitely not stay at Le Regent, there are better value hotels in that area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Madam,
We remember when you checked-in at the hotel. The first night, you made a “no-show”. When you finally arrived, you were very rude with the receptionist. When you went in the room, you came down and asked for a “coffee maker”. We do not have some in our hotel, but we propose to bring you coffee or tea in your room with our room service, but you don’t want ! The TV did not work ? The other guests do not complain about that and you must ask us to fix it. And finally and just for your information, room 14 is a new renovated room.
We thing that may be you choose the wrong hotel. Next time when you choose a hotel, make sure it has “coffee makers”, that it accept “no-show”, and that you can speak badly to the staff.
Best regards.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was such a shame that the hotel messed up the reservation that I made for 3 rooms I only made one booking asking for three rooms for 1 person in each room. If they got the initial booking it had to be for 3 rooms and not 1 as they kept telling me. Even my confirmation said three rooms for three people.

When we arrived at midnight they told us we had only booked 1 room. This was not correct we had booked 3 rooms and I had twice emailed to confirm that all three guests would be checking in at midnight and to confirm that this was acceptable so they knew from my two emails sent after the booking was made that there should have been three rooms.

I believe they overbooked the hotel. They managed to find one other room so two of us had to share.

The upsetting part was that the hotel tried to blame us for the error when it was clearly their own error. They also tried to send me an email the day before (probably when they realised their error) to tell me that they couldn't accommodate all of us at the hotel. BUT they spelt the email address incorrectly so we didnt get that email. The lady behind reception just kept repeating that she had sent me an email, but I told her it was the wrong email address she sent it to so she didnt actually sent ME an email. They email stated that they couldnt accommodate us all and that they had found another hotel for some of us to stay in, therefore splitting us up. BUT they didnt inform their own reception staff of this fact, had they know they could have told us that some of us would be going to another hotel but they sat behind reception looking bewildered that they didnt have enough room and didnt know what to do.
Eventually they found the one room we had reserved, by miracle found another room and two of us had to share.

So that is why my comment is "hotel nice", but they really need to train their staff better and just accept when they have made a mistake and not blame the customer who was actually right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Madam,
The fundamental principle of Trip Advisor is to freely express your opinions and share your experience with other travelers and that is what you did. We thank you for taking the time to write your comment.
You are of course right and I am very sorry that my staff made a mistake and do not apologize.
We are glad that on balance you liked rooms, cleanest and area.
Please rest assured that all your comment have been noted and will help us to improve our service.
Kind regards.
Vinciane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murchison, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Paris and have to say this hotel was wonderful. The rooms although tired are very clean. The staff were wonderful and helped us whit whatever was needed. The hotel is very central to everything and if not close to metro station which is a great way of getting places. Would certainly recommend .

Room Tip: We were on second floor overlooking street no problem with noise all appeared to be double glazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review.
It is always very plaisant for us to read positive comments about our hotel and to read that you had a nice time in Paris for your first trip.
Hope to welcomming you again at Le Régent for another "wonderful experience".
Kind regards,
Vinciane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Hotel Le Regent in May 2013 and enjoyed our stay immensely. You can't beat the location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small as is expected, however it was clean and comfortable. I had stayed here previously many years ago and enjoyed it again. I will come back! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Thanks
Chuck

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Chuck,
Thank you very much for positive review and for your 2nd visit in Le Regent !
We are pleased that you like the area,the welcome and service of the hotel and rooms even if "Standard" are small.
Indeed, rooms are small in the area of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, but we have bigger rooms in "Deluxe" and "Superior" categories.
We look forward to meeting you again in the future,
Kind regards.
Vinciane and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at this lovely hotel. It was our first time in Paris, but not in Europe so the smaller standard room seemed fine to us. We found the staff to be helpful and kind and were accommodated to check in early, which was a blessing for these tired travelers. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed and we very much appreciated the large towel warmers which doubled as a great place to dry hand washing. The only problem was the design of the shower which had a tendency to let the water go under the glass and all over the floor. The location, as everyone notes, is great and for newbies it was a delight to be in the heart of it all. We wanted to stay again on our return to Paris later in our vacation, but the hotel was booked (drat that French Open). We stayed in a 4 star in the same area and agreed that Hotel Le Regent was much better overall. When we return to Paris this will be our go to hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not comfortable with small quarters then splurge on a room other than a standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Catherine,
First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Paris and also for taking time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased that you like Le Regent..
We would be glad to welcome you again.
Sincerely your's
Vinciane and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

After almost two months in France, we ended our trip with a 10 day stay in Paris. We have stayed at Le Regent before but not since 2008. The hotel has done a great job of updating the property and keeping it clean, fresh and inviting. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional.
Because we were staying 10 nights, I booked a bit larger room and at 240 Euros a night, I thought it was a great deal for this part of Paris. Le Regent is a GREAT location within easy walking distance to three metro stops and also an easy walk to many main attractions as well as wonderful restaurants and shopping in the St. Germain des Pres quartier.
Our room was bright, clean, nicely decorated and had plenty of good storage. The bathroom was large by French standards with lovely tilework, great lighting, bathtub and good storage.
While our room (5th floor) did face the street, the modern triple pane windows kept street noise to a minimum.
I did price compare with other hotels in the same part of the city and Le Regent an excellent price/quality rapport. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your positive review. In very few words, you said everything that travelers must know about Le Regent.
We look forward to meeting you again in the future,
Kind regards,
Vinciane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Regent

Address: 61 rue Dauphine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#265 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Regent 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from the famous cafe Les Deux Magots, the Regent is an18th Century building turned charming hotel. Its 25 rooms arean ideal mix of comfort and elegance. No two are alike but allare decorated with wall hangings, painted beams, old stones,marble or hand-painted Italian faience bathrooms and exquisitemirrors. Two rooms boast a terrace, the others, a view ofNotre-Dame or the Parisian rooftops. With breakfast served inthe vaulted-ceilinged cellar, newcomers and regulars alike willfall for the familiar and cozy atmosphere of the Regent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Paris
Paris Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.