We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable and comfortable Bastille hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jules Cesar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jules Cesar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Jules Cesar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52, avenue Ledru-Rollin | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France (Reuilly)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #948 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Clean, affordable and comfortable Bastille hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Jules Cesar.
What I enjoyed the most was its location. True, it's not close to the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre or many other must-see attractions, but a Metro Line 1 Stop is just five minutes away, at the convinient Gare du Lyon. The charm of the Bastille neighbourhood is that it never feels touristy: regular Parisians are seen running errands, shopping at the lovely patiseries and boulangeries nearby and drinking after work at several bars in the area.

My single room was clean, had an ensuite bathroom and a lovely view of Avenue Ledru-Rollin. Wi-Fi was sometimes slow and you needed a new password every 72 hrs, but it was fine (and free). You have to return your key everytime you leave the hotel (which is kind of annoying) but reception works 24/7. Staff is very friendly and speaks great English.

Overall, I am very happy with my choice. But set your expectations where they should be: this is a great hotel if all you are looking for is a good night sleep. No luxury, no hidden gem here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebmglb1, Directeur général at Hotel Jules Cesar, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Google Translation
bonjour
nous vous remercions d' avoir séjourné dans notre hotel et de nous avoir laissé votre avis .
l' emplacement de l' hotel permet effectivement à nos clients d' aller facilement dans tous les sites importants facilement . nous vous demandons de laisser les cles quand vous sortez de l' hotel pour savoir immédiatement quels sont les clients présents en cas de problèmes ( feu par exemple ). sur le plan du confort nous avons trois categories de chambres , standard , superieure , privilèges ces dernieres étant isolées du reste de l' hotel par un petit couloir et mettant à la disposition des clients , un séche cheveux , un coffre fort et un plateau courtoisie
en esperant avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau dans notre hotel
E Boutes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    61
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
11
44
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Nothing extraordinary about the Hotel Jules Cesar, very average, but also worth the price. Rooms are small but bed was comfortable, which is all you need when you are only in the hotel to sleep. Decent location, used the Gare de Lyon to catch the Metro.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

There are enough clues to confirm that this is really no more than an average hotel. Everything from the internet photographs to the pricing and location confirm this.
It is what it is and surely no right minded person would consider dining there. In fact the pricing of meals is reflective of the most likely policy of the 'direction' to steer one elsewhere.
It is a what it is providing secure but adequate refuge. Only a few hundred metres away are classier choices, but then I would prefer to use my disposable income on a memorable meal, like

Room Tip: No, it is not terrible but I cannot upgrade from 'Terrible'. Apologies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Location, staff & price are good
Rooms are tiny, walls are think and you can literally hear everyone, especially the elevator. I recommend eating out because the eateries around the hotel are delicious and significantly cheaper than what the hotel offers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the location. Next to one of the main train stations in Paris - Gare de Lyon. 2 min walk maximum.

Staff: friendly but not too overwhelming
Rooms: ok, but you can hear every word that is being spoken in the hall way, sometimes even in the next room. Also, all the rooms like 11, 21, 31 etc. are located literarily next to the elevator and you can hear it the entire night. Try to get a room facing the courtyard.
Cleanliness: ok

All in all good value for price and location.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed here for one night before taking a train from Gare de Lyon the next morning.the hotel is very close to the station making it good for this purpose.The single room was basic but very clean and the bed was comfortable.The bathroom was small,more of a "wetroom" with the shower in one corner and a curtain to pull round it, but the water was hot and drained away quickly,not leaving a slippery floor.Although the traffic noise from the street was pretty loud ( an almost ubiquitous problem in Parisian budget hotels) there wasn' t much noise from within the hotel itself,and I slept quite well.The breakfast buffet was good, bread, croissants and pastries, fresh fruit, cheese, jams ,fruit juice and a choice of hot drinks.

Room Tip: try for a room that doesn't face the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel charges one night's rate as a deposit on booking. This deposit is non-refundable no matter what. I was trapped by their cancellation policy and lost my deposit. Their cancellation policy is in two paragraph. The first would state that if you cancel after a certain date (the day before your arrival) you will be charged for one night's stay. I make the mistake of stopping after reading this first paragraph because I thought it is good enough. If ever I am going to cancel my booking, it will be before the date provided. I then cancelled my booking about a week ago and it was then I found out that the deposit will not be refunded because there is a second paragraph to their policy which is exactly the same as the first except for an additional three words - "on or before" the date. So when you put the two paragraphs together, it would mean that the deposit is non-refundable no matter what date you cancel. Granted I should have read the whole thing, but the way that this cancellation policy is put together is very close to being misleading. It should state the cancellation policy in one simple paragraph and directly stated that the deposit is non-refundable instead of making it sound as though you will only be charged if cancelled after a certain date while in another paragraph go one to say that you will be charged no matter what.. My booking agent contacted the hotel and the staff at the hotel told her that if I sent in an email, they will refund my deposit. I did sent in two emails since then but no response at all from the hotel. I am still hoping that they will credit me with the deposit or in the very least, change the way their cancellation policy is put together.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jules Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jules Cesar

Address: 52, avenue Ledru-Rollin | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#112 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jules Cesar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Jules Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jules Cesar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jules Cesar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.