We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jules Cesar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jules Cesar to your Saves list
Hotel Jules Cesar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52, avenue Ledru-Rollin | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,083 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Satisfactory! No frills hotel for a great rate! Perfect for those travelers looking for a clean, safe, reasonable and convenient place to sleep.Stayed here 4 nights paid 75 Euros/night for a double. Rooms are small but typical for Paris, bed was a little hard for us but comfortable enough

Conveniently located in the Bastille/Lyon neighborhood. A 5 minute walk from Garde du Lyon train station and 5-10 minute walks to the metros depending on which of the 5 immediately surrounding suit your route best.

Staff was helpful, friendly, and always easy to get a hold of.
Also, if you are there on a Sunday, be sure to check out the HUGE farmers market right down the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    66
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
49
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart, Mauritius
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

first thing to say is that the hotel is really well located for the Gare d'Lyon and only around 250 meters from the station main entrance and set around 150 meters north of the R. Seine. The neighborhood is good with a great selection of supermarkets, restaurants and bars.

Arranged over 6 floors the rooms are fine and can't fault them as they only claim to be 2 star. Simply furnished but very clean. Non French speakers may struggle with the french only TV channels.

For a European capital - city center hotel - the pricing equates to great value for money. I paid just 90 euros for a twin bed room - so if staying with a friend it would have broken out to a really great price.

Next time I'm passing through Paris will definitely stay again.

Staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: 503 - top floor facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon france
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was looking for a hotel close to the Gare de Lyon because I had a train very early in the morning. The Jules Cesar hotel was the perfect opportunity: it is very close to the station, approximately 5 minutes' walk and it is a great hotel: very welcoming and helpful staff, very clean rooms with a little balcony, flat screnn tv,free internet connection. For Paris the rooms are spacious; I would say that the only problem was a strange sewage odour in the bathroom which could be disturbing sometimes and the fact that the hotel is not that close to many of Paris's attractions like la tour Eiffel or le louvre even though there is the underground of course. It is a sort of business area close to the stations ( gare de Lyon, gare de Bercy, gare d'austerltz)
Last remark: it is a bit costly BUT you can get an important discount if you pay in advance on the internet website ( sometimes up to 50 percent off)

Room Tip: the rooms at the front overlook a big avenue but there are triple glazing so noice is not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay here. Close to the Bastille metro, walking distance from Notre Dame and St. Germaine, great find. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, at all hours of the night, with great advice and a pleasant vibe. The rooms were always cleaned thoroughly and we would easily stay here again in the future..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I've stayed in a number of Paris hotels over the years so don't have overly high expectations. This place was a fine: only a 5 minute walk to Gard de Lyon, the room was small but very clean, and both the day and night staff were helpful and smiling.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, and even with a view of the street, noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

for people who are travelling on a budget trip and doesnt want to splurge much on the hotel in Paris,..this is an ideal place to stay.Its 5 mins walk from the Gare de lyon stn and a 10 mins walk from the seine river.Its in an area called Bastille which is quite lively.lot of nice bakeries n other eateries around.getting around Paris is very easy from here.We travelled to Switzerland from here n had to take the Euro rail which also we boarded from gare de lyon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

It has been a really long time since I last stayed at a 2-star hotel. I spent two nights at Jules Cesar hotel, participating in a project meeting, as it was one of the hotels suggested by the organizers of the meeting. The hotel is really small but well-located near Gare de Lyon, one of the central stations (e.g. one of the few that the bus from the CDG airport reaches). The staff was friendly and provided assistance whenever needed. The hotel is really small (e.g. corridors and elevator were really small/narrow!) but looked cosy.
The room was basic and looked rather old, featuring a TV, a desk and a (really comfortable) double bed. along with a small cabinet for a few clothes. The bathroom was small but well-preserved/clean.
Breakfast was not included in the price of the room (+8 euros) and was a surprise: No buffet available, only a tray with coffee/tea, a glass of orange juice, two small breads and two croissants, jam/butter and a slice of cheese (packed). If you were expecting a richer breakfast to start your day (e.g. omelette, sausages, ham and bakon among others), then you would have to find another place for that.
The biggest bonus was the free wifi internet all over the hotel, after asking at the reception for the free username & password. It is a must for my business trips, so my booking was based on that and I was not let down!
My overall impression was nice; however, 85 euros for this room looked too much for me, after travelling all over Europe and staying at a wide variety of hotels. I would expect something like 60 euros including breakfast (max) even though I have heard that hotels in Paris are really pricey. To sum up, if I ever visit Paris again, I would probably try to find alternatives, so that I could compare prices and services. However, if the price was lower, I would stay in the same hotel again, as I faced no issues during my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a 5th floor room - the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jules Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jules Cesar

Address: 52, avenue Ledru-Rollin | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#110 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jules Cesar 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jules Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jules Cesar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jules Cesar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.