We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad shower and breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Internationale des Jeunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge Internationale des Jeunes to your Saves list
Auberge Internationale des Jeunes
10 rue Trousseau | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad shower and breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The shower is the worst of the hostels I've been.. But talking about French hostels it's nice. Other thing I hate is that you can't stay at the room between 11am and 3pm. And the wifi is very bad, only a few people can connect at the same time. The good qualities are the location, near from the subway and supermarket.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    86
    106
    55
    87
See reviews for
15
60
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arad, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You get what you pay! For 20 euro per night- it was a nice stay -in beautiful Paris. The hostel is good located-rue st antoine is a civilized part of Paris. The room was clean, also the bed . I had also sink in my room. Toilet was down the hall and showers, too.For me, the only inconvenience was that there was no door to the showers room, just some small folding doors.
In conclusion, it is worth to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was 168-quieter enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The hostel in general was average. We got a clean bed and restroom which is about all we needed. What I cannot understand is why they turn off the internet in the morning and after midnight. This was particularly annoying because we couldnt plan our day before leaving the hostal. I also believe they should redesign the receipt/key system. Each time you went to the hostel you had to present the receipt in order to get your key, and there is only one key per room. So if you happen to arrive late at night you had to wake up the other people in your room to open up the door.
Breakfast is aweful...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We weren't expecting much when we arrived but we were pleasently surprised. You really pay for what you get here. The hostel is clean and the staff are helpful. Because it is a hostel the noise late at night is to be expected. My only criticism is their lack of ability to cope with hot weather. We were particularly uncomfortable at night because of the heat. However, as I said, you are paying for what you get.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hostel for 4 nights, switching rooms three times. You do NOT have a room between 11 am and 3 pm. Wifi works ONLY in the lounge area between certain times of the day. Breakfast was fine, a hot drink from a machine and a roll with jam. One of the rooms was fine, seemed newer (remodeled bathroom, actually liked this room but of course was switched out of it). The other two were GROSS, horrible and strong moldy (old/stagnant water) smell. The smell was so bad we actually had to have the window open at all times, this seems like it would be a problem during cold months. The hostel was a good location for the subway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hostel is a joke hahahhaha
ONE key per room, so you have to disturb all the people from the room if u want to get in. The breakfast that they say that is included is bread and coffee. The staff isn't friendly, the reception is all the time busy, so they won't make nothing to help you. Wi-fi works only from 12:30 pm until 23:30. Some rooms don't have charges. And to finish, there aren't towels enough to rent.
To not be unfair, the space is clean and it's in a silent place. Also, there's bathroom with shower in all the rooms. You can find a better hostel for the same price in Paris

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in over 15 hostels in Europe over the past few months and this was the worst service I have experienced. They made me switch rooms every night (4 nights) because they have an antiquated system and are too lazy to figure it out. The people are the reception are lazy and beyond rude!

Furthermore, they dont let you use wifi anywhere but the lobby and not after 11:30pm and not during 11am-3pm. You cant even be in the hostel at all during though hours, which is really inconvenient. Further more, there are no elevators so I had to drag my luggage up and down the stairs every time i had to change. The storage room is also down a set of stairs to a basement that resembles a smelly dungeon and is not secure in the slightest.

There is only one key for each room that you have to leave at the desk when you leave but its really inconvenient when youre staying with other people because you have to knock on the room everytime you need to get in if they have the key (problematic for showering and coming back late). Its just simply a disastrous place that shouldnt be existent.

The only good thing about this place is that it is decently clean. I would never stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Internationale des Jeunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Internationale des Jeunes

Address: 10 rue Trousseau | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , République
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Auberge Internationale des Jeunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Internationale Des Jeunes Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Internationale des Jeunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.