We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and a bit out of the ordinary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Crayon by Elegancia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #105 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Reading, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely and a bit out of the ordinary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights with my (elderly-ish) mum. Great location, we walked everywhere, and super little hotel. Nice to stay somewhere a bit different and individual, not a big chain. Our room was right at the top of the building - the lift goes to the fifth floor then we had to climb one flight to the sixth floor which wasn't too onerous even for mum. When we got there the bed was made up as a double but I had booked a twin, but the staff were quick to correct it for us. The room was small but comfortable, with interesting decor for example lots of holiday snapshots framed on the walls. Bathroom was small but perfectly fine, excellent waterfall shower. The public areas are well thought out, honesty bar is a nice touch with a good coffee maker alongside a selection of soft and alcoholic drinks, just write down what you have and pay for it at the end. We didn't have breakfast there so can't comment on that - however if you turn right out of the hotel and walk to the end of the street, there is a cafe on the left hand side that does the best croissants I have ever had!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    93
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
35
96
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for four nights at the Hotel Crayon last June. The location is perfect to explore Paris, to walk to most of the interesting and beautiful places. The star in this quaint hotel is Didier, so helpful and kind, at the front desk, a pleasure to talk to and very important support for the guests. The room was the average size in french hotels, not too big but extremely charming and unique, with a lot of nice touches. I will go back!

Estuve cuatro noches en el Hotel Crayon en Junio. La ubicación es perfecta para explorar Paris, es fácil caminar a los lugares mas interesantes y bellos. La estrella es este cálido hotel es Didier, simpático y amigable en la recepción. Es un placer conversar con él y presta un apoyo fundamental para los huéspedes. El cuarto tiene el tamaño promedio en hoteles franceses, no demasiado grande, pero extremadamente encantador y único, con detalles preciosos. Volveré al hotel Crayon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location. Very small room and not a good value. Could only open one suitcase at a time and needed to stand in the room to open shower door. Mold on shower floor, nightstand light out needs a crayon or paint job on the walls for all the scratch on walls. seriously if was half the price would be ok, but paying $376 a night makes it not worth staying here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Crayon for five nights during our European trip last month. What a wonderful experience. The location is incredible! You are five minute walk from the Louvre and the Palais Royale. There is a Metro stop right there by the Louvre and you can easily get to anywhere else in Paris by hopping on a train.

Hotel Crayon is a real boutique experience. There are only 20 or 30 rooms and each one is unique. As befits the name, there are drawings-- crayon and otherwise-- all of the place.

What really made our stay, however, is the staff. They are gracious, cheerful and tremendously helpful. Ask for Didier. He functioned almost as our personal tour guide, giving us advice on all the sites, when to go, how to get there and on and on. A real wealth of information.

I speak a little French, which helped, but most of the staff speak English so communications were not a problem. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

There are so many good things I can say about Hotel Crayon. Let's start with the biggest one first. The staff is simply superb. Camille, Didier, and Melody were an absolute joy to deal with. They are never too busy to help no matter what your question is, and are always extremely friendly. It's the people that made my two and a half week stay so great. Based on this alone I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but there's more.
The location cannot be beaten. You are central to all of Paris. A short walk to the Louvre and to Notre Dame, as well as to a Metro stop which can get you anyplace else you'd wish to go. There's also a wonderful bakery up the street (Les Soeurs Sucre) that has amazing pastries, as well as cafes close at hand.
I had a double room (#401) and was perfectly happy with it. The housekeepers were always on point and the room was always clean. Oh and there was nothing quite as nice as seeing the large bottle of Evian on the desk after a long day of touristing. (A very nice touch).
All in all this small boutique hotel was so much fun. Definitely give it a try.
(Jerry - Room 401)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights, and absolutely loved it. It was my first time in Paris with my dad & the staff was more than welcoming. Everyone who works there is incredibly nice & made us feel at home. The room we stayed in was clean & it had a wonderful decor. The location of the hotel is perfect. Close to the Louvre & only a short drive to the Eiffel Tower and L'arc de Triomphe. I cannot stress enough how nice everyone was at the hotel. They were so gracious & warm & were so kind to help with recommendations & even got us tickets to many of museums. Definitely a huge recommendation from me!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I staid only for 1 night but I found it very cozy and elegant at the same time.
The receptionists were amazing. Every time I needed were helpful and quite friendly. They made me feel that they were taking care of me and try to do their best so I could have a pleasant stay
Will return for sure

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Crayon by Elegancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Address: 25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
#145 Business Hotel in Paris
#247 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crayon by Elegancia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel has more of a guest-house atmosphere with its colourful pop art decor and designer style. The Crayon is a special sort of guest-house: the residence of a Parisian artist who invites you to enjoy a very colourful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, AvailPro, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Crayon by Elegancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Forum Hotel
Louvre Forum Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.