We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Crayon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Crayon by Elegancia to your Saves list
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pelham new York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Crayon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hotel Crayon is at a great location and we were generally happy that we stayed there. The room we stayed in was clean and quiet, but small (we stayed in a so-called suite, which had a large bathroom but otherwise was the size of an average non-suite hotel room. The staff was friendly and tried to be helpful. Their helpfulness, however, fell well short of what you would expect to receive from a good, larger hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionCrayon, Directeur général at Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Would you mind getting back to us to discuss in detail your stay? We are a humble "Home" and do not pretend to be a 5* hotel with a porter, butler, or concierge.... Nonetheless we are proud to have a flexible, welcoming, attentive and personalized staff whom take the time to personally get to know each guest and fulfill absolutely any request round the clock and with a smile. We were very surprised to see that our staff, whom each take their job at heart and go way out for our clients, weren't apparently up to your expectations? I would be curious to know if something went wrong, or if there was something in particular we could have done to make your stay memorable? Do not hesitate to contact me directly, I stay at every client's entire disposal, before, during, and after each stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    114
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
40
129
53
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having been to Paris a number of times, I had a pretty good idea what to look for in a hotel. You can go with the big names and pay through the nose, or you can find a more boutique hotel at a more economical rate. I had never stayed at Hotel Crayon before, so I really didn't know for sure what I was getting into. All I knew is that it was in a great location (a couple blocks from the Louvre) and had reasonable rates given the time of year I was going.

Taking the train from Charles De Gaul airport to Les Halle's station was direct and the hotel was a mere two blocks from the metro exit. Upon entering the lobby, you just knew it was going to be a fun experience. All decked out in vibrant colors, the staff greeted my family just as warmly. Their greeting was one of familiarity as they knew who we were and greeted us by name. Of course, we the only family of four staying, but it was a nice touch.

The rooms were brightly colored and a decent size for the size of hotel in Paris. The bathroom was a bit small, but the shower made up for it. No rooms had rainmaker showers, with great water pressure. The beds we very comfortable. We had breakfast in the cellar, which was reasonably priced for a quick bite to go.

All in all, it was a fantastic stay and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionCrayon, Directeur général at Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are happy to read you had a pleasant stay! Do not hesitate to contact us for your next trip, we would love to see you again. For information all bathrooms have an overhead rain-shower, and the traditional "telephone" hand shower for further comfort and choice. I thus didn't quite understand your remark about the showers though, do you mind catching up with us to help us better our services? see you soon! The Crayon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights.
Biggest plus: very friendly and helpful staff. Good central location, although the neighborhood itself is mundane. You will need to walk a few blocks to find the restaurants and neighborhoods that will be of interest. Bed was comfortable. Not keen on bed comforters without a sheet between you and the comforter (only a bottom sheet for the bed). Very close quarters. Very clean room. Bathroom very small, but updated. Like an old house, you can hear chairs move above you, people walking, people leaving early in the morning in the hallway. Okay but will probably try somewhere else next time. Walk a few blocks to Rue Montorgueil for food (check out Patisserie Stohrer - "since 1730").

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionCrayon, Directeur général at Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your compliments about the staff! We put all our hearts to satisfy our clients and make the stay memorable. We are just 300 meters from the Louvre, a very privileged emplacement to walk directly to one of the most beautiful museums, and sleep in the heart of the historical medieval center of Paris. The building actually dates from 1864 and is protected by the historical monuments organisation of Paris. The bedding is completely innovative with firm mattresses topped with hypoallergenic down supports that make you feel like you're sleeping on a cloud. The sheets are French style, and not american, so with two mattress protectors and a duvet with a duvet cover. Any client wishing an "american style" sheeting are more than welcome to ask for the change (add a second bedsheet between the duvet and matress bedsheet) at no extra charge! The size of the rooms are clearly indicated on the websites with typical sizes for the historical area and are cosy as if you where in a friend's house with pictures of the family on the wall, books nonchalantly left on the bedtable, drawings on the walls, free aromatherapy of your choice, and surprising flashy colors. A very original and quirky concept that you won't find anywhere else in Paris. Please do not hesitate to contact us again, we can maybe satisfy you with another category of room more adapted to your desires of calm and space, as well as personally show you around this beautiful district in front of the louvre and seine river which deserves to have its secrets unraveled by a "connaisseur" and to be truly appreciated with all its charm. We hope to see you next time! kind regards, The Crayon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in March. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. We were on the top floor room was clean and modern perhaps a little on the compact side but fine as you are not spending anytime in it. Bed was comfortable. We had breakfast one morning in hotel but reverted to eating breakfast out on other mornings. Hotel is easy to access via airport by train then metro. We had never visited Paris before but found hotel very well located for all major sites with metro centres all convenient. Would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on top floor - if returning I would be inclined to ask for a room on a lower floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Crayon for part of our 20th Anniversary. We have been to Paris many times and know the city well--- we have stayed in every sort of accommodation from budget-oriented 3 star all the way up to the George V. Since it was our 20th, we thought about splurging on a hotel, but decided to go for something nice, but relatively reasonable, as to save money for all the other things we could do in Paris.

Hotel Crayon fit our needs almost exactly. It's unique design and funky charm really made it a great choice for our trip. Never having stayed in the First Arr., it's "tucked away" position, but so near to the Louvre and Les Halles and a short walk from the Marais made it a great choice.

We DID splurge a little on the Junior Suite and were quite pleased. I am told some of the standard rooms are small-- but well laid out and individually designed..

The staff was very helpful and seemed very willing to attend to each guest's individual requests and concerns.

If you want a great location, a clean and thoughtfully designed room, all at a price that is not too dear (at least by Paris standards) -- I recommend the Hotel Crayon highly...

Room Tip: Junior suite was quite large and had a claw foot tub as well as a separate stand-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionCrayon, Directeur général at Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your wonderful comments! Sharing good moments and having guests leave with a big smile is our passion. I agree, the Junior Suite Exquise Esquisse is really worth the splurge. The bathroom is the biggest of the district, that's overflowing with natural sunlight. Don't hesitate to reserve for anniversary #21! We are installing a bath salt bar in the suite, where like the aromatherapy you can chose for your stay already, a collection of different salts will be at your disposal to immerse yourself in a dream of bubbles and relaxation. Again Congratulations for the anniversary, we were honored to have you with us to celebrate the wonderful occasion.
Hope to see you soon! The Crayon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A great place hidden in the first distric, quiet sreet and easy to go every where fron there . Staff was really friendly and helpful, room can be small for some people but it is very well done and clean. i will definitely go back when in Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated to explore Paris. It's off a main road close to good amenities. The staff were very friendly and helpful upon arriving at the hotel and throughout our stay. We stayed for 3 nights and would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.
The rooms are compact but absolutely fine for a short stay. The decor is quirky and colourful.
The Louvre is a short walk and the Notre Dame, Latin Quarter, Opera, Champs-Élysées and the Basilique du Sacre-Coeur are all within walking distance of the hotel (comfy shoes are a must!).

All in all the hotel is fine for an enjoyable stay in Paris.

Room Tip: 402 looks massive! We had 401 and this was compact but fine for a short stay....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Crayon by Elegancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Address: 25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in Paris
#149 Business Hotel in Paris
#247 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crayon by Elegancia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel has more of a guest-house atmosphere with its colourful pop art decor and designer style. The Crayon is a special sort of guest-house: the residence of a Parisian artist who invites you to enjoy a very colourful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Crayon by Elegancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Forum Hotel
Louvre Forum Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.