We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A colorful find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Crayon by Elegancia to your Saves list
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #180 of 1,774 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A colorful find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of an anniversary trip to Paris after reading a small blurb about it in a popular travel magazine. We'd been to Paris several times but had never stayed in the 1st arrondissement before. The location was ideal for a 4-day visit because you are close to everything - Louvre, Marais, Opera, etc. We almost never took even took the Metro because we could just walk. The staff of the hotel are particularly nice and helpful - even advising via email about local yoga studios before we arrived. We had a junior suite and found it quite large by European standards. It was light-filled and we loved the funky mix of old/new and the unique color scheme. Breakfast was not included in our rate, but we did eat there twice and found it to be standard fare (which, in Paris, means very nice). We may be going back to Paris soon for other reasons and we'll definitely try to book here again.

Room Tip: The junior suite is a bit of a splurge but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    118
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
41
131
54
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It is impossible not to feel happy when you step into this hotel. The colourful, cute and funky decor is a visual treat! The room and bathroom are super tiny, but comfortable and clean. Great location and excellent service.

Room Tip: The top floor doesn't have a lift. Best not to live on that floor if you have heavy luggage for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I ve stayed for 4 days,the single room is very small,the service is good but they start room cleaning from 12-3 pm ,the location is good ,the breakfast is averag

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionCrayon, Directeur général at Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment, as we strive to please all our clients and improve our service. Please note that the rooms are cleaned between 9-4h30pm, and as indicated upon arrival, anyone wishing a "priority" clean is more than welcome to inform reception the time convenient for them. It is a shame that you did not inform us throughout your stay or departure such comments, as we can always find a solution on the spot! We hope nevertheless to see you next time in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in October 2012, and paid about $250 per night including taxes and wi-fi internet. Breakfast was not included in my rate, and I think it was about EUR 20 for a decent spread in a very small basement room. The location is excellent for art lovers, very walkable from both the Louvre and Pompidou Centre, and for those coming from the airports since the RER Les Halles stop is not far away. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is whimsically decorated, with multicolor rooms and hallways. My room was extremely small, and I had two big pieces of luggage, which were hard to maneuver in such a small space. The bathroom was functional and well-lit. Bed was comfortable. I couldn't imagine two people sharing that room -- two people could barely even fit into the elevator together. Check-in and check-out were pleasant and efficient. The street is not well known to taxi drivers, so it's better to show them a map or at least tell them the general area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionCrayon, Directeur général at Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, as we strive for improvement and your smile! You are more than welcome to check out our double rooms or why not the junior suite, which I am sure you will find satisfaction spacewise. Please note that Sept & Oct are extremely high seasons due to fashion weeks and other gigantic international salons, you will find interesting promotional rates throughout Nov & Dec that can please your wallet. Do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay to better guide your choice of rooms. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you like something a bit different, excellent customer service and central location then this is the place for you. The rooms are a bit on the small side and the lighting is a bit dim but that's a small price to pay for the location and convenience of having good attentive service. They don't have a restaurant where you can eat meals ( other than breakfast) however they have a good Japanese restaurant next door and an Italian restaurant directly accross the road. You are also no more than a minutes walk away from several bars and cafes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent location. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great central location- able to walk to all major sites. Rooms clean- small but really how much time do you spend in your room in Paris! Great cafe- 2 steps away with wonderful, friendly staff. We had a great time in Paris. Would absolutely stay at Hotel Crayon again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with unique decor and friendly staff. Really good central location including nice bars nearby. Good sized rooms with a powerful shower and very comfy beds. BUT take your earplugs - the lift is really noisy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Crayon by Elegancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Address: 25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in Paris
#162 Business Hotel in Paris
#252 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crayon by Elegancia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel has more of a guest-house atmosphere with its colourful pop art decor and designer style. The Crayon is a special sort of guest-house: the residence of a Parisian artist who invites you to enjoy a very colourful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Crayon by Elegancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Forum Hotel
Louvre Forum Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.