We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST stay at Hotel Crayon!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Crayon by Elegancia to your Saves list
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Carlos, California
1 review
“You MUST stay at Hotel Crayon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel Crayon is one of most unique yet comfortable and inviting hotels I have ever visited! We are an engaged couple (both 26 years old) on our first European vacation! Paris was our second stop after London and from the moment we arrived at this hotel we were in LOVE! The employees at the front desk were very inviting and spoke great English. When we walked in they greeted us warmly and got us setup in our beautiful room on floor 5! We were assigned the orange and blue room that you see on their website. The lift is very small so we had to take separate trips up to floor 5! Our room was not as small as I had expected (from all the reviews I read). To be honest, we came from the Hyatt Regency in London which had large rooms and though the Crayon had much smaller rooms, it was not a huge shock! We had a nice full size bed with 2 nightstands, an armoire, and a desk. The bed was SO comfortable with a wonderful comforter! We both slept so well. Each morning, noon and night, the staff at the front desk was so inviting and welcoming! They always offered us good advice on where to eat, where to find a small store to stop for a bottle of wine, etc. During our trip we decided we wanted to visit Versailles but didn't want to wait in the ticket line when we arrived there. We purchased tickets online and the front desk was happy to print them out for us! HOW NICE! The Hotel Crayon offers FREE WiFi for all guests and has a great honest bar in the lobby! I would reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting Paris. There are many cute restaurants close by and you are VERY close to Les Halles station which is very convenient for transportation within Paris as well as international rail stations (we came in from London and left Paris and went on to Amsterdam with NO problems!). You can literally walk to the Louvre in about 5 minutes from this hotel!

Overall, I would give this hotel an A! Only downfall is that the rooms do not have enough lamps/lighting when it is dark out which makes it hard to get ready in the morning or at night and our shower only had a handheld shower head so that made showering a bit more of a chore. Not big problems for us! Thank you Hotel Crayon!! We can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: Ask for the orange room on floor 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    114
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
40
129
53
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Can't remember the last time the lobby of a hotel brought a smile to my face! Unless you are coming to Paris to spend all of your time in your hotel room this place is the way to go. Yes, room was small but extremely clean and bright. Staff was more than helpful and location close to the Louvre and Metro stations is great. Quiet side street setting was nice as well. We'll be back on our next trip for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Superb staff - very friendly, welcoming, helpful and efficient and all spoke perfect English. Decor and style in reception and lounge/bar was exceptional - absolutely loved it! Room decor was good, really liked the quirky style and bright colours, but there was a big chunk out of one of the walls where a previous occupant had obviously knocked into it, so this should've been filled/painted before our arrival. Appreciated the bottled water and biscuits, but would've been nice to have also had tea/coffee making facilities in the room, rather than having to pay for them downstairs. Breakfast was outstanding - excellent selection and top quality. Lift was a bit noisy, but not a lot could be done about that. It would've been useful to have had a well-lit mirror in the main room, rather than just the one in the bathroom and one in complete darkness on the back of the entrance door. It's not cheap, but then it's central Paris and the location was perfect for the two days we were there. All in all a fantastic hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Ive just spent 2 nights at Hotel Crayon and thoroughly enjoyed it. Firstly, the staff are so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Its a quirky, interesting hotel and my room was small, but extremely comfortable and clean. A little dark and I couldnt open the window more than a few inches, because of the bed! Comfy bed, new bathroom. I think the room would be too small for 2x however, so ask for a larger room. Only room for 1x suitcase. I had the light breakfast which included coffee, fruit, bread/croissant for €7. The hotel is very close to Le Marais, the Louvre and many of the sites of Paris. Surrounded by Bistros and a variety of eating places - I would definitely come back, but would ask for a bigger room.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Loved this hotel - as you can see from the images the decor is amazing. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful too. I only stayed one night - in a single room which was small-ish but adequate and again, decorated really well. Clean, new, can't complain one bit. Location is amazing - close to several metro stations on Line 1 and the Louvre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife found this hotel and it was great.The staff were very helpful.
The hotel itself was in a great location,close to the louve.
The hotel is one that grows on you.The room are small and the beds are hard.
But this place has something about it.It is bright colourful a great place to stay while in paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you're the kind of person who likes the Hyatt/Sheraton/Hilton experience, this hotel probably isn't for you. The rooms are small, the lift is a squeeze for two people and there aren't extensive bar or catering options. But if you value character over formula, if you value real friendliness over the pasted-on smile and if you want to end up in a fantastic location without paying the earth this is the hotel for you.

Just off the Rue De Louvre on a little back street, it's less than a five minute walk to the Louvre and the Tuilerie Gardens. Head another direction and you can be in the arty Marais or skip down to Notre Dame. As with everywhere in Paris, there's no shortage of restaurants in the neighbourhood. The staff are lovely and speak excellent English - though they will gladly help you practise your school French too! The rooms are small but decorated with great flair - the beds are exceptionally comfortable and there is clever lighting. Bathrooms have really high quality fittings and endless hot water and, as with everything in the hotel, they are spotlessly clean.

There's and honesty bar and two breakfast options - a 'grab and go' or a buffet - both very reasonable priced. It's been many years since i was in Paris and it's a stunning city. I'll be back as soon as I can and I won't even consider any other hotel - this is my perfect Parisian accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Crayon by Elegancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Address: 25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#108 Family Hotel in Paris
#153 Business Hotel in Paris
#249 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crayon by Elegancia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel has more of a guest-house atmosphere with its colourful pop art decor and designer style. The Crayon is a special sort of guest-house: the residence of a Parisian artist who invites you to enjoy a very colourful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Crayon by Elegancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Forum Hotel
Louvre Forum Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.