We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Sexy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Crayon by Elegancia to your Saves list
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Cute and Sexy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Hotel Le Crayon is in the 1st Arrondisement, a short walk from Paris's three major art museums - Louvre, Musee d'Orsay (Impressionism) and Georges Pompidou (modern art). Very close by is Rue Montorgueil, a popular pedestrian street filled with reasonably priced (for Paris) restaurants and food markets. Chatelet Les Halles Metro is the stop for several subway and train lines . . . Very convenient.

So much for the superb location. The rooms are jewel like. Yes, my single chamber was small, enough space for the comfy double bed and walkway around it, but the brightly painted walls and sexy, yet delicately rendered art cheered me! When I returned to my apartment in the US, I thought, What's with this space? It is not necessary when one has such a pleasing, happy decor.

The floor to ceiling tiled and colorfully lit shower is unbelievable. Two shower heads, one on the ceiling and one on a moveable hose, are perfect. My sink, however, was too tiny and it was hard to wash my face without splashing water everywhere.

The staff is so nice and always helpful. When I needed to rest during the day in a blackened room, the maid came by and prepared my room for me. They arranged for cabs, printed my boarding pass, and helped me with my luggage.

If you get hungry in the middle of night, just go downstairs to the cafe next door. It is open 24-7.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    105
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
40
115
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel the end of September for three nights and enjoyed our stay. Great safe location with a great bakery, cafe and bistro just down the street. The managers were wonderful and extremely helpful. The renovation was just being completed when we were there. It is done vert tasteful and fun. The breakfast ladies are very nice and the breakfast was very good. The room was very small but we were there only to sleep so that did not bother us too much. It's a little expensive by American standards but we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jensho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was perfect for a long weekend away from London. I love the design of the hotel. Great boutique design without taking itself to seriously. I found it impossible to be in a bad mood while there. Great location and gracious staff made it even more enjoyable.

I will definitely be returning the next time I visit Paris.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

this is a hotel issued from great intentions, but...there is still a lot of work to do!!!!!the "spotlessly clean" rooms are really not that clean, the bathrooms are small and exactly into the bedroom, with a simple gliding door between the ned and the loo!and they are really NOT spotlessly clean! There are wires everywhere hanging from the ceilling, in the basement where in a somehow gloomy chamber people have breakfast (a good breakfast though), to the halls and the entrance, etc...rooms are MORE than super small, they are suffocatingly small; may be 2 very slim people would survive n there; I do not think that is a place to spend more than 2 or 3 nights in! Or may be just in a single room! The Junior Suite (only one) is lovely and with more space but always booked. Other than that, the people taking care of this hotel are all really, truelly, sincerely amazing! The guys at the reception desk super helpfull and present and aware, the owner himself (or Gerant?) who is very warm and present too, the breakfast ladies, even the cleaning ladies! Beware, the walls are extreeeeeeeemely thin, it doesn't take much to distrub your neighbours with your slightest wispers and bathrooms misdemenours, and vice versa!Of course the hotel is perfectly situated, you can go by feet into the Marais (some 3-4 metro stations or 8 bus stations though, the no.29), or to Les Halles, or to the shopping funky street of Etienne Marcel (12 minutes walk). To Saint Germain, or anywhere else in town is better to take the tube which is at some 15 minutes walk; the bistrot at the corner of rue de Bouloi is just great, especially during Sundays, great food, great drinks and a lavish funky music; overall I am puzzled if I go there again, in this hotel, or may be in a good while when all the works will be finished and only when the Suite will be available!

Room Tip: choose the suite or a room on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Crayon by Elegancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Address: 25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Paris
#107 Business Hotel in Paris
#251 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crayon by Elegancia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel has more of a guest-house atmosphere with its colourful pop art decor and designer style. The Crayon is a special sort of guest-house: the residence of a Parisian artist who invites you to enjoy a very colourful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Crayon by Elegancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Forum Hotel
Louvre Forum Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.