We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly gem with incredible view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esmeralda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Esmeralda to your Saves list
Hotel Esmeralda
4 rue St-Julien-le-Pauvre, 75005 Paris, France (Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #906 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Friendly gem with incredible view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed many times at this friendly hotel. Overlooking Notre Dame Cathedral, it must have the best view in Paris, and the staff are really helpful. Full of character, featured in a children's story, this is the place to stay if you don't mind quirky small rooms and narrow stairs. 5 mins walking distance from the RER to CDG, round the corner from Shakespeare & Co, it's in the heart of the left bank but not noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Notre Dame
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    95
    37
    15
    11
See reviews for
34
98
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My husband and I backpacked through Europe together before we got married and this was our favorite place! We were on a tiny budget then and we "splurged" on this hotel! The Spanish staff was very nice and the owner was a one eyed lady that added to the charm. The place was built in 1600 and it looks close to nothing changed! So neat! Everything in the hotel was antique or super quirky! Just climbing the creaky old wooden stairs to the room made us feel like we got the best old Paris ambience. Our view was Notre-dame and the river Seine!! The room was quirky and very old with peeling wall paper and that very old musty smell but the bathroom was just fine. We are planning to go again and definitely stay there!!!

Room Tip: I think we had room 14 and it had the most amazing view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Wonderful location at an unbeatable price. If you want luxury go elsewhere but if you want a clean room with no frills in a charming building this is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Esmeralda immensely. The location is superb: my granddaughter enjoyed sitting in her window ledge and gazed over to Notre Dame or the little park below. The restaurants and little labes of the latin quarter are all close by as are the two islands of the city, the metro, the bateaubus, and shopping.
The owners are friendly, the front lobby is quaint and provides the only WIFI spot in the building. Here you can get to meet some of the characters of the hotel, the elderly and gentle padrone, and imagine that you are living in another era as you glance up the twisting staircase.

The rooms are tiny, the bathrooms are good. there are fans in the room- essential in summer. We were very impressed with the budget price.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the view of Notre Dame. They also very noisy if the windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel Esmeralda. My children love the book "Linnea in Monet's Garden" so spending the night there was a must on our trip to Paris. My kids loved the lobby and stairs, that look just like they do in the book. They also loved the teeny-tiny hallways. We stayed on a Sunday night in August and slept with the windows open. At 11 p.m. we heard the bells of Notre Dame and the choir singing... absolutely magical.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Hotel Esmeralda is located in the Latin Quarter, right on the Seine with a view of Notre Dame from many of the rooms.

My boyfriend and I stayed here and were incredibly pleased with the hotel. It's situated in a nice area and is a good launch-pad for exploring Paris.

In terms of services, the hotel is no-frills. There isn't any breakfast (but who would have breakfast in the hotel when there are crepes outside?), for example, but it is clean, nicely decorated and the staff were friendly.

From our room, we had a spectacular view of Notre Dame. It was very lovely. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Notre Dame - not all the rooms have it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Esmeralda over 18 years ago and wanted to come back. Still has charming rooms, with parisian decor. Our room had a great view of Notre Dame Cathedral. Staff were friendly and accomodating, but you still need to grab your bags and climb up the narrow spiral staircase!
Don't expect a 4 star hotel. This hotel is about being in the centre of it all, and easy access to the metro and trains. All major attractions are in walking distance. Great little bistros and take outs all around the St-Michel neighborhood.

Room Tip: There is a room on top floor that sleeps 4: best view of cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esmeralda

Address: 4 rue St-Julien-le-Pauvre, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#69 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esmeralda Paris
Esmeralda Hotel Paris
Esmeralda Paris
Hotel Esmerelda Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.