We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #396 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013


Hotel staff.. Fantastic
We had room 25 on 3 rd floor. Very quite and bed firm . And good size bathroom for Paris .. We were able to sleep with windows wide open.. Great as no air con!!

Friends had huge room and bathroom .. 3rd floor room 20.. But noisy on street.. So they were not able to have windows open .. Hot!
Location is great.. Restaurants . Shops .. 10 min walk to Norte dam . .
Hotel sorted taxis restaurants helpful hints .. And DHL parcel .. Extremely helpful
Breakfast was fine .. In the basement cave. Fresh orange juice ... Cereal fruit salad mostly canned.. Breads cheese meat.. And coffee
Breakfast was included .. In tariff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    137
    30
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
123
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel several times and have liked the hotel and the location in Le Marais. Our last room was on the top floor. It was a room of character but it seemed smaller than the ones we have previously had. Part of the reason it felt small is that it is up in the rafters and the ceilings are sloped. The room was hot even though the weather was not particularly hot so it would be a real problem in the summer with just one small window in the room. The décor is very nice. They did provide a fan however which was helpful but not that attractive and took up a substantial amount of space. The management was very friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved it, we will always return here when visiting Paris! Great location, nice room, helpful service and reasonable price. Probably wouldn't bother with the breakfast again, but everything else was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A few caveats; I stayed there during the middle of a nasty heat wave this summer, and it's not air-conditioned. Main concerns were that my room was on the top floor, and room temperature was 95 degrees when I arrived. In one of the other rooms, a man propped open his door with a suitcase and walked around in his underwear. Not a pleasant sight. Being on the top floor, the ceilings were angled, and I needed to continually duck my head to get around the tiny room. A few doors down and across the street was loud nightclub where people were jammed in the street; it took my taxi about a minute to wade through the crowd on the street. I moved hotels after paying a 1 night penalty for leaving early (I had booked a week).

I'm sure the experience would have been much different in the winter, but recommend avoiding this place in the heat of the summer. My experience was actually a "1" but I don't like to penalize a place.

Other than that, the staff was pleasant, the price was 120 euros, the room and environs clean, and breakfast was nice, though.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, especially if you're tall and if it's in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel. It is a very charming guesthouse full of charm, character, and lovely people. Its everything you'd expect as an American. It is located in the heart of the Marais, but you feel like you're in a quiet corner at night. We loved wandering around the twisting narrow streets and sitting outside in the area cafes. We had a mini suite, I guess - it had a main room with a large bed with a view of the street and mini fridge, a large modern bathroom with a huge tub and a decent sized separate room with a single bed (daybed type so you could use it as a couch) with a view of the back. The furnishings look "French country antique" (I.e. old) but to my great surprise, that was a seriously comfortable bed. The lobby doubles as an internet lounge and library, which is pleasant. There is a Starbucks about 3 blocks away which had the best coffee I've had in my life and we don't even like Starbucks. I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a suite and a view of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We got off to a shaky start (receptionist "lost" our Paris Passes and sent us on a wild goose chase around the city only to "find" them when we returned) however we settled in and really enjoyed our stay. It is located in the heart of the Marais, within walking distance from bars and clubs, Pompideu Centre and the metro. Quintessentially Parisian in style, we would recommend the Bretonnerie to anyone seeking an authentic French experience - staff included!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff are friendly and go out of their way to meet your needs. They can tell you where to eat, where you cn go for a Zumba class, how to catch a metro, etc. The owner takes pride in both of his hotels (also owns the Hotel Chopin).

We have been staying at these two hotels every year for at least the past 10 years. We will be retuning soon and of course we will be staying at the Hotel Bretonnerie!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#368 Family Hotel in Paris
#407 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.