We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #400 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Location is perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel several times and have liked the hotel and the location in Le Marais. Our last room was on the top floor. It was a room of character but it seemed smaller than the ones we have previously had. Part of the reason it felt small is that it is up in the rafters and the ceilings are sloped. The room was hot even though the weather was not particularly hot so it would be a real problem in the summer with just one small window in the room. The décor is very nice. They did provide a fan however which was helpful but not that attractive and took up a substantial amount of space. The management was very friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved it, we will always return here when visiting Paris! Great location, nice room, helpful service and reasonable price. Probably wouldn't bother with the breakfast again, but everything else was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A few caveats; I stayed there during the middle of a nasty heat wave this summer, and it's not air-conditioned. Main concerns were that my room was on the top floor, and room temperature was 95 degrees when I arrived. In one of the other rooms, a man propped open his door with a suitcase and walked around in his underwear. Not a pleasant sight. Being on the top floor, the ceilings were angled, and I needed to continually duck my head to get around the tiny room. A few doors down and across the street was loud nightclub where people were jammed in the street; it took my taxi about a minute to wade through the crowd on the street. I moved hotels after paying a 1 night penalty for leaving early (I had booked a week).

I'm sure the experience would have been much different in the winter, but recommend avoiding this place in the heat of the summer. My experience was actually a "1" but I don't like to penalize a place.

Other than that, the staff was pleasant, the price was 120 euros, the room and environs clean, and breakfast was nice, though.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, especially if you're tall and if it's in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Social-Dis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel. It is a very charming guesthouse full of charm, character, and lovely people. Its everything you'd expect as an American. It is located in the heart of the Marais, but you feel like you're in a quiet corner at night. We loved wandering around the twisting narrow streets and sitting outside in the area cafes. We had a mini suite, I guess - it had a main room with a large bed with a view of the street and mini fridge, a large modern bathroom with a huge tub and a decent sized separate room with a single bed (daybed type so you could use it as a couch) with a view of the back. The furnishings look "French country antique" (I.e. old) but to my great surprise, that was a seriously comfortable bed. The lobby doubles as an internet lounge and library, which is pleasant. There is a Starbucks about 3 blocks away which had the best coffee I've had in my life and we don't even like Starbucks. I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a suite and a view of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahjarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We got off to a shaky start (receptionist "lost" our Paris Passes and sent us on a wild goose chase around the city only to "find" them when we returned) however we settled in and really enjoyed our stay. It is located in the heart of the Marais, within walking distance from bars and clubs, Pompideu Centre and the metro. Quintessentially Parisian in style, we would recommend the Bretonnerie to anyone seeking an authentic French experience - staff included!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff are friendly and go out of their way to meet your needs. They can tell you where to eat, where you cn go for a Zumba class, how to catch a metro, etc. The owner takes pride in both of his hotels (also owns the Hotel Chopin).

We have been staying at these two hotels every year for at least the past 10 years. We will be retuning soon and of course we will be staying at the Hotel Bretonnerie!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 309Nancy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel well situated in Le Merais! Nightlife, restaurants, Metro, shopping and within easy walk to Pompidou and other sights vWonderful decor, small but comfortable room, and helpful staff. Definitely will consider for next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leejenkins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#425 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#103 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Villa Mazarin
Hotel Villa Mazarin
#424 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#668 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,362 of 1,810 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#882 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#481 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#482 Business Hotel in Paris
#497 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing