We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #400 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here with our two teenagers on the front and back end of our France vacation. It was easy to find and not a difficult trip from the airport. The staff spoke perfect English. Our first room had two areas and seemed to previously be two rooms, as there were two bathrooms. This was room 5, I think. It was great having two bathrooms for four people! One area had a queen bed and the other had a twin with a trundle. It was a little small but comfortable and clean.

At the end of the trip we had a different room (17 maybe). Similar beds, but a different layout. It had a tiny balcony into a courtyard (not pretty, but cute balcony). This room only had one bath. Again, comfortable and clean.

We had no problem with noise. It is not on a major road. There are some clubs near by, but it was not loud. It is close to Notre Dame area, Isle St. Louis & the Pompidou. A bit far for the Eiffel Tower and Sacre Coeur (not direct a Metro trip). The Marais is a nice area we had not explored before. We wanted to be near Gare de Lyon, which we needed to take a taxi to.

We did not have a problem without AC because it was cold outside! Would probably be stuffy in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    143
    33
    5
    6
See reviews for
49
132
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights after a business trip in Switzerland. Arrived from train to Gare de Lyon and took a taxi to the hotel. Reasonable cost of 13E.

I had a charming room on the 4th floor facing the interior, so no view, just another building, but it was very quiet. My room was huge with a king bed and another single, so 3 could easily fit in here. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large too and very clean. Internet access is good. No air conditioning in this hotel, but was not an issue during my stay as it was cool. There is a safe in the room. Complaint is the hand shower as it was awkward. Also a caution if you are tall, the angled beams are not ideal. I'm 5'4" and I banged my head because I wasn't careful in some spots.
I had breakfast for 9.5E and it was reasonable. The fresh squeezed orange juice was delicious. I also ate in cafes around and their cost is 6-7E but you don't get the same amount of food, but more ambience.
As others have said this hotel is very convenient to the metro and you can walk to plenty of main sights. I loved the Maris area. I felt very safe here.
Staff is great and very helpful. The lobby has a computer and printer to do check-in.
Can walk to the Chatelet les Halles to catch the RER to the CDG. Which I did, but with the train strike, the journey to the airport was not as convenient as hoped.
I highly recommend staying here, just not in the hot summer.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing back if you want a quiet room. The charming rooms are very large. If you are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our 5 day stay at Hotel de la Bretonnerie. The room was stylish and old worldly designed with a four poster bed, exposed wooden beams on the ceiling, and a french window looking out to the streets of Marais :). The location is perfect in the middle of Marais and about a 10min walk to the metro stops. The bathroom was uber clean with a tub and nice bath products too. The room and the bathroom were of a good size as compared to other hotels. The staff r helpful. The only drawback was the street noise from some construction close by, thats if you left the window open. Other than that, nothing to complain, the free wifi works brilliantly. I would recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend or otherwise :)!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have traveled many times from Boston to Paris, but since I have found this hotel, I have never stayed anywhere else. So quaint, so Parisian, and the location/price cannot be beat! My fiancee loves it too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I used to live in the Marais and discovered this hotel by chance when looking for a place to host visiting friends near my apartment. I've subsequently stayed there myself and will do so again. The location right in the heart of the Marais can't be beat. The multi-lingual staff is extremely friendly. The chambres de charme are the ones to get. The rooms are small but comfortable, some with timbered ceilings, and all with en suite bathrooms, which is always a plus. I've never had breakfast here, but there are great cafes in the neighborhood and even a Starbucks if you're inclined that way. There are glitzier boutique hotels in the neighborhood, but this one rocks it for value. Rue St. Croix de la Bretonnerie is not a quiet street on weekend evenings but you don't stay in the Marais for quiet. Sunday through Thursday it is more peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Which weighs more, a ton of fun and laughter or a ton of aggravation…you decide.

We guests at the Hotel Bretonnire are told that the reason there is no AC is out of concern for the environment. Okay...that's a nice thought. And, although they don’t advertise it, from the quality of the towels, one suspects a gesture of good will trade with North Korea. No labels, but the towels have that certain North Korean quality. Finally, as Monty Python might put it, this hotel has the semaphore version of the internet.

Perhaps I am harsh but there are no shower enclosure at all in the tub and room temperature "control" of Victorian vintage is a bit of an issue. Overheated room? Open the window. That’s fine in early May but when the crawling, flying things of summer arrive, it may not be the quaint “old fashioned” option it is right now. Although our room (15) was quiet, other guests told us street noise in this boisterous, gay area, was an issue.

On the plus side, I am a big fan of competent staff and the ton of fun and laughter in this case is Karen. She is competent, intelligent, tri-lingual and really very funny. The night clerk was also both helpful and possessed of a mischievous sense of humor.

Finally, the breakfast was (as usual) absurdly overpriced, but more generous in some ways (infinite coffee) and featured nutella...a big plus.

My wife and I would not return to this hotel for itself, yet…if Karen were to be there…

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The staff at this hotel were friendly and very helpful.

If you want to stay in a fun area of Paris then this is the place to stay.

Always love how the breakfast rooms are in the bowels of the buildings with wonderful stone arches and a pleasant European style breakfast.

Be prepared for a few noises at night. This time it was the constant beeping car horn one night and the scream the next. All part of the experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#432 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#454 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.