We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in the Marais” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #402 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in the Marais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have traveled many times from Boston to Paris, but since I have found this hotel, I have never stayed anywhere else. So quaint, so Parisian, and the location/price cannot be beat! My fiancee loves it too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    137
    30
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
123
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I used to live in the Marais and discovered this hotel by chance when looking for a place to host visiting friends near my apartment. I've subsequently stayed there myself and will do so again. The location right in the heart of the Marais can't be beat. The multi-lingual staff is extremely friendly. The chambres de charme are the ones to get. The rooms are small but comfortable, some with timbered ceilings, and all with en suite bathrooms, which is always a plus. I've never had breakfast here, but there are great cafes in the neighborhood and even a Starbucks if you're inclined that way. There are glitzier boutique hotels in the neighborhood, but this one rocks it for value. Rue St. Croix de la Bretonnerie is not a quiet street on weekend evenings but you don't stay in the Marais for quiet. Sunday through Thursday it is more peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Which weighs more, a ton of fun and laughter or a ton of aggravation…you decide.

We guests at the Hotel Bretonnire are told that the reason there is no AC is out of concern for the environment. Okay...that's a nice thought. And, although they don’t advertise it, from the quality of the towels, one suspects a gesture of good will trade with North Korea. No labels, but the towels have that certain North Korean quality. Finally, as Monty Python might put it, this hotel has the semaphore version of the internet.

Perhaps I am harsh but there are no shower enclosure at all in the tub and room temperature "control" of Victorian vintage is a bit of an issue. Overheated room? Open the window. That’s fine in early May but when the crawling, flying things of summer arrive, it may not be the quaint “old fashioned” option it is right now. Although our room (15) was quiet, other guests told us street noise in this boisterous, gay area, was an issue.

On the plus side, I am a big fan of competent staff and the ton of fun and laughter in this case is Karen. She is competent, intelligent, tri-lingual and really very funny. The night clerk was also both helpful and possessed of a mischievous sense of humor.

Finally, the breakfast was (as usual) absurdly overpriced, but more generous in some ways (infinite coffee) and featured nutella...a big plus.

My wife and I would not return to this hotel for itself, yet…if Karen were to be there…

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The staff at this hotel were friendly and very helpful.

If you want to stay in a fun area of Paris then this is the place to stay.

Always love how the breakfast rooms are in the bowels of the buildings with wonderful stone arches and a pleasant European style breakfast.

Be prepared for a few noises at night. This time it was the constant beeping car horn one night and the scream the next. All part of the experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was my second stay at de la Bretonnerie, and I found it as pleasant as I did ten years ago. In comparison with other Paris hotels at this price, the Bretonnerie is a delight. First, the location is great: from the airport, you just need to take the RER to the Chatelet des Halles exit, locate the Pompidou, and walk three short blocks. The lobby is colorful and inviting, complete with a borrowing library, comfortable seating, and a computer. The staff (most who speak English) are generally warm and helpful, the rooms quirky but comfortable---and QUIET. I chose to take breakfast in the "cave" each morning ( small buffet with fresh orange juice), but there are numerous cafes and coffee shops (including Starbucks) right around the corner. Again, a great location: 5 minute walk to Notre Damne, 30 minute walk to Orsay and the Tuilleries---and, of course, just the wonderful Marais itself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were slightly dismayed that our junior suite was in fact a triple room. Having said that, the room was quite spacious, and very quiet, apart from my snores, according to my daughter. Despite unseasonable cold, and having all the radiators off, we were rather hot. The breakfasts are great for France, and very quirky and atmospheric in the cave. The hotel is elegantly furnished and reception is very friendly.
The Marais is fascinating and, if I ever come to Paris again (this is my 7th trip) I will ignore the big sites and concentrate on knowing an area such as this really well. The Place des Vosges well worth seeing.
I wish this hotel, in fact all hotels followed the UK tradition of tea and coffee in the room. It is more than just a hot drink: gives you a feeling of home

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The charming hotel is located close to Centre Pompidou in the beautiful Marais quarter. We had a rather large room, unusual for Paris. The location is perfect to roam the city, Notre-Dame cathedral is only a few minutes walking distance away. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did not book breakfast with the room and chose to have breakfast one of the many bistros in the vicinity. The room was not cheap, but then again we enjoyed the flair and atmosphere. Would go there again for our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#369 Family Hotel in Paris
#411 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.