We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place grows on you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #398 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
northumberland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This place grows on you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were slightly dismayed that our junior suite was in fact a triple room. Having said that, the room was quite spacious, and very quiet, apart from my snores, according to my daughter. Despite unseasonable cold, and having all the radiators off, we were rather hot. The breakfasts are great for France, and very quirky and atmospheric in the cave. The hotel is elegantly furnished and reception is very friendly.
The Marais is fascinating and, if I ever come to Paris again (this is my 7th trip) I will ignore the big sites and concentrate on knowing an area such as this really well. The Place des Vosges well worth seeing.
I wish this hotel, in fact all hotels followed the UK tradition of tea and coffee in the room. It is more than just a hot drink: gives you a feeling of home

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    143
    33
    5
    6
See reviews for
49
132
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The charming hotel is located close to Centre Pompidou in the beautiful Marais quarter. We had a rather large room, unusual for Paris. The location is perfect to roam the city, Notre-Dame cathedral is only a few minutes walking distance away. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did not book breakfast with the room and chose to have breakfast one of the many bistros in the vicinity. The room was not cheap, but then again we enjoyed the flair and atmosphere. Would go there again for our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Back for our annual visit, big welcome from Patrick, Karen and Clothilde at the front desk. We had junior suite 17 at the back of the building, very quiet, small Juliette Balcony, comfortable bed, loved the space. The bathroom, well "Dorothy we are not in Kansas anymore" obviously not up to US Standards, but very French and adequate once once had figured out the plumbing and how to maneuver into the WC and still close the door for some privacy.

The hotel responded magnificently to a 2am medical emergency when nearby pharmacies were closed. They had a very complete medical chest and gave us the pills necessary to tide us over until the next day when the Pharmacies opened for business. Have no words that can adequately express my heartfelt thanks for so much compassion.

We will be back next year, and yes, we will be staying at our Paris Home - The Hotel de la Bretonnerie

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We took the train from the airport . Just follow the directions on the hotel website, just under 10 euro. We had the lowest cost room which was fine for us in size and quality. The only downside for us was there was only a bathtub with handheld shower. Check first if this is not okay for you. Since we were there during cold weather, we were able to confirm good availability to control your heat. We did not see a system for air conditioning so ask for summer bookings.

We walked everywhere from the hotel. The Jewish quarter is off to the left of the hotel. The Louve is down the main street on the right bank.. To the right as well as the French Impressionist museum. Although, far we also enjoyed walking to the Arch as well as the Effiel Tower. we purchased Louve andq Tower tickets ahead which did save us time waiting in lines in the cold.

We took the train from the Noord station to Amsterdam. This was easy. Again getting to the train station from the hole was fine. We only encountered one negative person (the Metro ticket sales person at the Challet Metro station). Other people were very helpful in answering our questions related to directions.

In all, we liked the hotel. It has a small elevator which was important since we were on the fourth floor, a great and worthwhile breakfast (fresh oj, meats, cheese, breads, yogurt, cold cereal, hot drinks for 9.5 euros), and a good location.

Room Tip: We had the classic room which was fine except their was a bathtub with handheld shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

While officially a 3 star rated this hotel was excellent in this class. We stayed in the charming room with vaulted ceiling. It as a bit short for me, however very doable. The location was great, although it is in the alternative lifestyle part of Paris. Across the street is the gay nightclub and a few bar favoring the gay patrons. That being said we did not encounter any issues and found the area full of unique shops and dining opportunities.

The hotel staff was exceptional, a special shout out to Karen. She provided a vase for flowers I had purchased for my daughter at the market. The staff were all kind and english speaking. Add to that the hotel is full of color and wonderfully clean as well as maintained.

If I am able to return to Paris, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our room was small but perfect for what we needed. The decor is surprisingly good for a 3* hotel. The staff were helpful and polite. They immediately sorted out a fused light and the central heating radiator - perfect service. The hotel is obviously part of a very old building and the breakfast 'cave' in the basement is unusual. Our stay was surprisingly good value for central Paris but is was February.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I spent three nights here in February, and I found it comfortable and charming. The location in the Marais is great for walking around, visiting little shops, and enjoying some really tasty food. My room (Room #1) was a little bit quirky, but very nice. It had two levels, with a desk, daybed, and minibar on the lower level, and the bed, wardrobe, and bathroom on the mezzanine. The ceiling on the upper level was pretty low, especially where the beams crossed it. I would not recommend this particular room for anyone taller than 5'8", because I think you would hit your head in the shower. My HUGE window faced the street, and it was fairly quiet, although I suspect it might be noisy in the summer. Everything was very clean.

The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was basic but fresh. One thing to note is that you are not supposed to bring food into the room, so you have to eat all your meals out. The free wi-fi was pretty fast and reliable.

Overall a great choice -- I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Room #1 has low ceilings on the upper level -- not ideal for tall people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#434 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#454 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.