We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel in the Marais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #421 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cute hotel in the Marais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I spent three nights here in February, and I found it comfortable and charming. The location in the Marais is great for walking around, visiting little shops, and enjoying some really tasty food. My room (Room #1) was a little bit quirky, but very nice. It had two levels, with a desk, daybed, and minibar on the lower level, and the bed, wardrobe, and bathroom on the mezzanine. The ceiling on the upper level was pretty low, especially where the beams crossed it. I would not recommend this particular room for anyone taller than 5'8", because I think you would hit your head in the shower. My HUGE window faced the street, and it was fairly quiet, although I suspect it might be noisy in the summer. Everything was very clean.

The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was basic but fresh. One thing to note is that you are not supposed to bring food into the room, so you have to eat all your meals out. The free wi-fi was pretty fast and reliable.

Overall a great choice -- I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Room #1 has low ceilings on the upper level -- not ideal for tall people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    138
    32
    5
    6
See reviews for
47
125
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Shared a junior suite with a friend and was very happy with it. As others have said right in the center of the Marais. I'm noise sensitive so we had a room facing the courtyard and it was exceptionally quiet. Would absolutely stay again. Nice breakfast and lots of dining and shopping choices in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Charming hotel located right in the middle of the Marais. We were there for the New Year and noise was not a problem even with a club across the street from the hotel. I stayed in room 37 which was big by European standard and had a canopy bed. The hotel is within walking distance of shops, cafes, restaurants and the Metro at Hotel de Ville. I love this neighborhood as it is not touristy and would stay there again in the future. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the hotel is pretty standard but there are better options around the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A reasonably-priced hotel in the much-desired Marais neighborhood of central Paris. Our family stayed for six days, and it was the perfect launch point for Notre Dame, Victor Hugo's historic home, canal trips, markets, and the Louvre. Friendly staff assisted us with event tickets, taxis, and directions.

Our junior suite faced a quiet rear courtyard, no street noise, and only minor noise from other residents. Fabric draped walls, high timbered ceilings, and a mini-bar consisting of a small fridge with products for sale. Ask for a quieter room on the top floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Surprisingly good for the price and location. I love the Marais. I had room 29 which was a classic room with a four poster canopy bed. Reasonable size room with a small bathroom. Well maintained and very clean. I was genuinely impressed with what they offered for the price and I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous bijou hotel in the heart of Marais. We had a v large room for three with three full beds. Very good facilities and very good location and the hotel was very accommodating to our requests. All rooms have wonderful decorations and appear very unique. Not like the bulk standard chains

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

2nd time I have staid in this hotel and always very pleasant. Warm welcome, warm and charming atmosphere, ideal location in Marais area without crowded streets and noisy roads yet a few steps away from bars, restaurants, museums etc.
Very confortable rooms and spacious too.
Pleasant breakfast served either in bedroom or in breakfast room. Only shame : no expressos or cappucinos for breakfast .... and no fresh fruits either !
Very quiet place for sleeping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#376 Family Hotel in Paris
#483 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.