We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good three star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #466 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good three star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently spent for a week at the Hotel de la Bretonnerie where we have stayed several times.

It is a very good, comfortable three star hotel and an excellent value with a great location in Paris, the Marais, our favorite neighborhood.

On this stay we were in a Charming room facing the street. It was fairly large by Paris standards and the double pane windows made it quiet. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast, which is in the ancient basement, is typical with coffee/tea, cereal, yoghurt, fruit salad, some varieties of croissants and bread, and sliced meats. There is a machine for squeezing fresh oranges with a button on the right side. If you have any problems with it, someone will help. There is a small exhaust fan in front of one table to circulate air. If it is annoying, turn it off. No one will object.

The free wifi (through a service) was reliable and I was able to send fairly large files without any problems. You can also print your boarding passes by using the free computer/printer in the lobby.

There was a TV in the room, but I never did quite figure out how to change the stations and just left it on CNN. We have never stayed in the summer, so while other reviewers have mentioned there is no air conditioning, it was never an issue for us.

The hotel is about a ten-minute walk from Chatelet/Les Halles RER station. Just walk in the direction of Centre Georges Pompidou. When you see it, turn left and walk down on the right (south) side of the building. It is almost a straight line to the hotel. You can also take the 1 line to Hotel de Ville but that means going up and down seemingly endless stairs to get to it from the RER station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    155
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
55
142
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 4 had a Junior Suite on the third floor. It consisted of two adjoining areas, with a double bed, two twin beds, and a bathroom. The hotel was in a great location in Le Marais, and we picked it based on Rick Steves' recommendation as well as Tripadvisor. The big problem with it was the noise from the street. It was very hot at night (June, 2012) in the room. To get some air flow, we had to open the window to the street, and then it was extremely noisy. The floor fan did help some, but it alone wasn't enough. The first couple nights we were there were on a weekend, and people were yelling and making noise ALL night long. There was at least one bar on the street, and people were obviously partying late into the night. After eating breakfast out at a cafe the first morning, we began eating breakfast at the hotel. It was very good and less expensive than going elsewhere, so we recommend eating at the hotel. All in all, while a great location, I wished we had chosed a quieter location for our seven nights in Paris, even if it would've meant being in a less convenient location (the Metro is great after all).

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent 5 nights at this hotel in Sep and would definitely stay here again if we return to Paris. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Karen. The cleanliness of the room was exceptional. Our room overlooked the courtyard (as we had requested) so it was very quiet. Only had breakfast at the hotel on our last day as there are many bakeries and cafes nearby within walking distance. The Batobus stop is about a 5 minute walk and Notre Dame, Seine and a few other sights are all within walking distance to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

wonderful rooms, great breakfast, very helpful and excellant staff. Located near many good restaurants and shopping, close to the metro, hotel de ville, walking distance to the Seine, Notre Dame, and other sights of Paris

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in July and would definitely stay again. The location is excellent with lots of cafes, restaurants, shops and sites nearby. The metro (Hotel de Ville metro stop) is a couple of minutes away.

The room was charming and cozy. The bathroom was very clean and modern. There was no air conditioning, but the room had a fan. Though Marais can be a bit loud - especially on the weekends, it didn't really bother us. However, if you prefer a more quiet room, ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard.

Also the front desk is open 24/7 and the staff is really helpful and friendly - and will gladly help you make dinner reservations. Free wi-fi was also available.

The last day of our stay, we forgot our sunglasses at the hotel. We didn't even notice until the reception wrote us an e-mail and offered to send them back to us free of charge. Lovely!

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room, ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
828 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The concierges particularly Karen remain outstanding; The location is so convenient you are "three blocks from, pom,pidou three blocks from, rue des rosiers near subway louvre seine all conveniences yes our room is small but with a canpy bed very happy here we eat breakfast in the nabe not the hotel and it is not air conditioned but it is fall

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Although the classic rooms are small, they are tastefully decorated in fine French fashion. It got a little noisy on the weekend evenings, but the double paned windows did help. The staff is very friendly and helpful for directions and recommendations. The location is fine - with a metro and several cafes just a few blocks away, and Notre Dame within 5-10 mins walk.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street seem noisy, esp on weekend nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#149 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Villa Mazarin
Hotel Villa Mazarin
#259 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#646 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,344 of 1,793 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#435 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#326 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#431 Business Hotel in Paris
#511 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.