We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but. . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #423 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oregon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location, but. . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 4 had a Junior Suite on the third floor. It consisted of two adjoining areas, with a double bed, two twin beds, and a bathroom. The hotel was in a great location in Le Marais, and we picked it based on Rick Steves' recommendation as well as Tripadvisor. The big problem with it was the noise from the street. It was very hot at night (June, 2012) in the room. To get some air flow, we had to open the window to the street, and then it was extremely noisy. The floor fan did help some, but it alone wasn't enough. The first couple nights we were there were on a weekend, and people were yelling and making noise ALL night long. There was at least one bar on the street, and people were obviously partying late into the night. After eating breakfast out at a cafe the first morning, we began eating breakfast at the hotel. It was very good and less expensive than going elsewhere, so we recommend eating at the hotel. All in all, while a great location, I wished we had chosed a quieter location for our seven nights in Paris, even if it would've meant being in a less convenient location (the Metro is great after all).

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    147
    33
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
134
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent 5 nights at this hotel in Sep and would definitely stay here again if we return to Paris. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Karen. The cleanliness of the room was exceptional. Our room overlooked the courtyard (as we had requested) so it was very quiet. Only had breakfast at the hotel on our last day as there are many bakeries and cafes nearby within walking distance. The Batobus stop is about a 5 minute walk and Notre Dame, Seine and a few other sights are all within walking distance to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

wonderful rooms, great breakfast, very helpful and excellant staff. Located near many good restaurants and shopping, close to the metro, hotel de ville, walking distance to the Seine, Notre Dame, and other sights of Paris

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in July and would definitely stay again. The location is excellent with lots of cafes, restaurants, shops and sites nearby. The metro (Hotel de Ville metro stop) is a couple of minutes away.

The room was charming and cozy. The bathroom was very clean and modern. There was no air conditioning, but the room had a fan. Though Marais can be a bit loud - especially on the weekends, it didn't really bother us. However, if you prefer a more quiet room, ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard.

Also the front desk is open 24/7 and the staff is really helpful and friendly - and will gladly help you make dinner reservations. Free wi-fi was also available.

The last day of our stay, we forgot our sunglasses at the hotel. We didn't even notice until the reception wrote us an e-mail and offered to send them back to us free of charge. Lovely!

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room, ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
745 reviews 745 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The concierges particularly Karen remain outstanding; The location is so convenient you are "three blocks from, pom,pidou three blocks from, rue des rosiers near subway louvre seine all conveniences yes our room is small but with a canpy bed very happy here we eat breakfast in the nabe not the hotel and it is not air conditioned but it is fall

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Although the classic rooms are small, they are tastefully decorated in fine French fashion. It got a little noisy on the weekend evenings, but the double paned windows did help. The staff is very friendly and helpful for directions and recommendations. The location is fine - with a metro and several cafes just a few blocks away, and Notre Dame within 5-10 mins walk.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street seem noisy, esp on weekend nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for three nights in October, 2012. It is very nicely located near the Hotel DeVille. Lots of restaurants and stores. A three block walk to the Metro.

The hotel is owned by a wonderful man who cares very much for his clients. The staff is very cheerful and helpful, one and all. The rooms are clean and well-appointed. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#403 Family Hotel in Paris
#403 Business Hotel in Paris
#497 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.