We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Bretonnerie to your Saves list
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #399 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lovely hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent 5 nights at this hotel in Sep and would definitely stay here again if we return to Paris. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Karen. The cleanliness of the room was exceptional. Our room overlooked the courtyard (as we had requested) so it was very quiet. Only had breakfast at the hotel on our last day as there are many bakeries and cafes nearby within walking distance. The Batobus stop is about a 5 minute walk and Notre Dame, Seine and a few other sights are all within walking distance to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    143
    33
    5
    6
See reviews for
49
132
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

wonderful rooms, great breakfast, very helpful and excellant staff. Located near many good restaurants and shopping, close to the metro, hotel de ville, walking distance to the Seine, Notre Dame, and other sights of Paris

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in July and would definitely stay again. The location is excellent with lots of cafes, restaurants, shops and sites nearby. The metro (Hotel de Ville metro stop) is a couple of minutes away.

The room was charming and cozy. The bathroom was very clean and modern. There was no air conditioning, but the room had a fan. Though Marais can be a bit loud - especially on the weekends, it didn't really bother us. However, if you prefer a more quiet room, ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard.

Also the front desk is open 24/7 and the staff is really helpful and friendly - and will gladly help you make dinner reservations. Free wi-fi was also available.

The last day of our stay, we forgot our sunglasses at the hotel. We didn't even notice until the reception wrote us an e-mail and offered to send them back to us free of charge. Lovely!

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room, ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
700 reviews 700 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The concierges particularly Karen remain outstanding; The location is so convenient you are "three blocks from, pom,pidou three blocks from, rue des rosiers near subway louvre seine all conveniences yes our room is small but with a canpy bed very happy here we eat breakfast in the nabe not the hotel and it is not air conditioned but it is fall

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Although the classic rooms are small, they are tastefully decorated in fine French fashion. It got a little noisy on the weekend evenings, but the double paned windows did help. The staff is very friendly and helpful for directions and recommendations. The location is fine - with a metro and several cafes just a few blocks away, and Notre Dame within 5-10 mins walk.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street seem noisy, esp on weekend nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for three nights in October, 2012. It is very nicely located near the Hotel DeVille. Lots of restaurants and stores. A three block walk to the Metro.

The hotel is owned by a wonderful man who cares very much for his clients. The staff is very cheerful and helpful, one and all. The rooms are clean and well-appointed. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I know Paris well, and the stand-out feature of this hotel was the friendly and competent staff. Parisians can often be surly, while still being professional, but that was not the case here. I stayed one night for a reunion of old friends, which made the location so important: I spent almost my entire visit within a four- or five-block radius from the hotel—one of Paris's most enjoyable neighborhoods. Since most Parisians (including me, when I lived here) are housed in postage-stamp-sized spaces, I knew the room wouldn't be big. But it was impeccably clean and comfortable; the bath amenities were new and attractive (and equipped with a hairdryer), and I loved taking a proper French bath again (French bathtubs are fitted with shower heads, but curtains are not used, so the proper approach is to sit and use the shower head to shampoo). My room faced the back and was quiet, and noise within the hotel itself was rare and faint. The cozy lobby was a useful sitting spot when I need to quickly check email or wait for my group to gather. I had a room in the first price category, which was a fair and justified rate. And there was an elevator, from which I had just a short flight of steps to go down to reach my room. Highly recommended! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#431 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#454 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Bretonnerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.